We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reunion”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel as part of a larger group. Staff were welcoming and for the price it was very good value. However, if you are a larger size person you may struggle with the size of the bathrooms some are tiny. Not sure on the target market... but for a cheap weekend away with no frills it was good. I slept extremely well and considering it was 2 ladies running it they did well. I would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you Audrey for your review. Yes, our standard rooms are small, but the premiere and deluxe rooms are not. The joys of an old Victorian building! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again, you were very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    58
    22
    23
    23
See reviews for
45
160
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were part of a group of 22 who stayed here and effectively took over the place, so that has to be taken into consideration and provides the context. So firstly the plus points. They accommodated us as a group, and the girls who served us did their best and they laid on a buffet on the first night. The room we had was ok, but cold, but not as cold as the bathroom. Not so good however was the breakfast, certainly not worth a fiver and I wouldn't say cereals and toast was continental. Signage in the rooms and dining room was overbearing. Bar prices were excessive and no price list. We decided to buy our own wine and paid corkage, but considering how much we spent at the bar this too seemed excessive. In saying all this, room rate was ok and it didn't spoil our weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you, Keith, for this astounding review…
We are very disappointed that you felt it necessary to post a review like this - had you given your critique to our faces I would be able to deal with it better... we can all learn from positive criticism, after all.
As your group left this Sunday morning there were many words of thanks - we were left with the impression that you all had had a good time. You did indeed “take over” the Richwood and it was a weekend we will also remember.
The Lebanese buffet: did you not enjoy this? Most of your group seemed to find it very good. I am glad that you find the “girls” did their best… Keith, I am sure they will be happy to hear that all their hard work was recognised by you.
I am sorry your room was cold; the heating was full on…
Breakfast: we do not advertise our breakfast as “Continental” but as basic, and as much as you can eat.
If one reads further in our reviews one also sees that many people love our full English and I know that they are worth more than a fiver..!
Our bar prices: £3 for a pint? £3.50 for a 35ml shot? These are local pub prices and usually much higher in Hotel bars or other bars in Torquay.
No Bar list? We are a very small family hotel and have not, up to now, been told this is needed, indeed never before has this been asked for. On the request of your organiser, we had stocked up the bar, for your visit.
Of course we expected to make some profit from the bar. We were shocked to find out, ten minutes before we served dinner that the group had bought wine with them. We were asked if corkage could be paid and we agreed, showing, I believe, generous flexibility; we wanted everyone to enjoy their stay with us…
I ask you and any readers now: who goes to a pub, a restaurant or a hotel and takes their own drinks into the bar? And how many landladies or hoteliers would let you?
Our signage in the dining room, pleasantly asking people not to take more food than they can eat, comes from experience and our awareness that wastage is a major problem in our society - in countries where people do not have enough to eat, there is no waste. The mountains of bread -toasted and not eaten - and milk-sodden cereals - we have to throw away since taking over the Richwood should make any person who has respect for the resources of our planet ashamed.
We do politely ask our guests to switch off the lights when they leave their room, which is reasonable. We also noticed that you, Keith, left all the lights on in the guest lounge when you went to bed in the early hours of the morning. I even came down to the guest lounge in the early hours to politely ask you not to forget to turn off the lights.
The Richwood is very clean and that you gave us two stars for cleanliness makes me feel ill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was bitterly disappionted with the decor of the rooms which did not seem to of been decorated in at least 30 years. The breakfast was do it yourself, and so not at all relaxing.

And I found the hosts, standoffish, and not interested in constructive critisim.

Thank goodness we had reservations from the of and only stayed one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank sylvia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
This is ANOTHER fake review, written by someone who maliciously wishes us ill... and as such should be ignored. TripAdvisor should be ashamed to put reviews out ther, online, when they cannot prove that the critics has been to the venue they are critiquing. Shame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I wanted to say what a wonderful time my partner and I had at this Hotel, it was pouring with rain and Saida was so kind and welcoming, letting us check in early, chatted with us and showed us to our lovely cosy room, we met Veronica later and she was just as lovely, the breakfast was tasty and the dining room clean spacious and inviting. They upgraded us to the family room as it was my Birthday and gave us a small bottle of wine which we found very kind.
We would have stayed longer than the two nights and will definetly go back for a return visit. We would recommend this Hotel as a warm clean fun place to stay, not posh or uninviting but place like home !! Tracey and pete

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
...and what wonderful guests! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed only one night. Though we were the only guests in the hotel, the hotel was very welcoming and friendly, the room was very clean. we really enjoyed a lovely breakfast next morning. We will definitely visit again.









  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYoungj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review... from great guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We visited a few months ago and I have since been gathering courage to write this. We stay away approx. 4 times a year and this was definitely the worst place that we have stayed. The room was clean but as mentioned by other people the lists of 'what you can/can't do' are endless. The breakfast was barely adequate- small glass of orange juice; toast your own bread and no choice of jam/marmalade other than the 2 each provided on the table. Unless you paid for a 'cooked breakfast' that was it. I am sorry but we will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
As I am not convinced you stayed here I have no problem with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Needing a long earned break i decided to book a weekend away for my partner, myself and our small spaniel, Maisie. Within minutes of arriving and meeting Veronica and Saida, we felt so welcome and relaxed. We were shown to our room and were pleased to find that it was warm, cosy, spacious, immaculately clean, quiet and inviting. The en-suite shower room was fab, lovely decor and again immaculately clean with free flowing hot water. Dinner was included in the first night of our stay and wow........ it was amazing, so good that we booked in again for the second night too. Veronica and Saida sure know how to cook mouth watering Lebanese cuisine, it was the first time we had tried it and definitely not the last! As for the hosts we couldn't have asked for any better, how refreshing to meet such wonderful, inspiring women. We only wish that we had more time to listen to their stories and get to know them better. We are so pleased to have found a gem on the English Riviera that is not too far away from home and we are looking forward to our return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
You have given us air under our wings. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope it won't be long before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#70 of 87 in Torquay
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#4 of 87 in Torquay
515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Property: The Richwood
Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing