We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be visiting again.”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Will not be visiting again.”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We visited a few months ago and I have since been gathering courage to write this. We stay away approx. 4 times a year and this was definitely the worst place that we have stayed. The room was clean but as mentioned by other people the lists of 'what you can/can't do' are endless. The breakfast was barely adequate- small glass of orange juice; toast your own bread and no choice of jam/marmalade other than the 2 each provided on the table. Unless you paid for a 'cooked breakfast' that was it. I am sorry but we will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
As I am not convinced you stayed here I have no problem with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    58
    22
    23
    23
See reviews for
45
159
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Needing a long earned break i decided to book a weekend away for my partner, myself and our small spaniel, Maisie. Within minutes of arriving and meeting Veronica and Saida, we felt so welcome and relaxed. We were shown to our room and were pleased to find that it was warm, cosy, spacious, immaculately clean, quiet and inviting. The en-suite shower room was fab, lovely decor and again immaculately clean with free flowing hot water. Dinner was included in the first night of our stay and wow........ it was amazing, so good that we booked in again for the second night too. Veronica and Saida sure know how to cook mouth watering Lebanese cuisine, it was the first time we had tried it and definitely not the last! As for the hosts we couldn't have asked for any better, how refreshing to meet such wonderful, inspiring women. We only wish that we had more time to listen to their stories and get to know them better. We are so pleased to have found a gem on the English Riviera that is not too far away from home and we are looking forward to our return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
You have given us air under our wings. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope it won't be long before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were blown into Torquay on a rough night, and received a warm welcome. This hotel is really a bed-and-breakfast. It was all perfectly adequate, and the Lebanese meal a revelation as the buffet-style was tasty, very interesting and as if for a dinner party at home!
I would have to say that our room was cramped - getting to the en-suite in the night especially a palaver - though the bed was comfortable. Only fair to say that we had been offered an upgrade which we did not take.
If you are at all allergic to smoke, the public areas are smoky, though the rooms were free of smoky smell. (Sometimes asthma can be exacerbated by a smoky ambience however secondhand)
It's a pity that fire regulations are so draconian now, as it means getting air through an old building is quite difficult.
Two interesting ladies run the Richwood and are working hard to keep things going. Our deal was a very good one indeed and remarkable value. A bottle of wine came with the meal! Hard to better the price. Our two children had a twin room which could not be locked, so we hope the locksmith fixed it soon.

Room Tip: Best to accept an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the food, sorry you felt cramped and I am not sure where the smoke in the public areas was from as no one smokes inside the building..!
We hope you enjoyed the bottle of wine we gave you to take home with you, since you were not aware it was part of the deal...
...and by the way, the broken door lock was mended on the morning you left!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked a weekend deal with KGB which was exceptional value as it included a Lebanese Mezza, cooked by Saida ( the Lebanese half of the hosts ) which was superb. We were expecting a small room due to the cheap deal but it turned out to be perfectly adequate and had been recently refurbished. The bed was good for us, the shower ran as hot as we wanted and would go more, The heating was good and the Wi-Fi worked in the room, even during the storm, TV worked fine although a little small to see details from the bed. The complimentary buffet breakfast was plenty good enough with a choice of 4 cereals, white and nice wholemeal bread, tea and coffee + juice - set us up for the day.
Yes we picked the week end of the storm but Torquay has its own micro climate so we managed to spend a lot of time sightseeing, only having to dodge into a restaurant once to avoid a shower. Got caught going out 1 night but it had dried up as we came back so we walked along the sea front.
All in all we had a lovely time due in no small part to our hosts and their friendly welcoming attitude.
We would recommend the Richwood to anyone that is used to staying in older hotels with character, but if you want impersonal, modern, boxy, bland, rooms best go to somewhere new.
All in all had a great break

Room Tip: Don't miss the mezza if you havn't tried Lebonese food or if you have you will know how good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonygreen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and our delicious food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We didn't spend long in the hotel during our 2 day stay but the breakfasts were lovely and the owners made us feel very welcome. The room was comfortable and warm. Hope to back in the summer to use the swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieandstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
...and we will be very happy to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As somebody of forty years of age its fair to say i have stayed at a fair few places in my life.... home & abroad. The best of them leave you feeling very happy, happy about your choice, happy that you got a good deal and feeling good that you met some lovely characters along the way.

The Richwood gave me, my partner & our 5 year old daughter all of this. Veronica and Saida were Lovely, they were warm people and made you feel so welcome instantly upon arriving at their venue that you felt you had known them for years. ( rare these days i feel )

The venue itself had so much character, the decor, the smell of the place as soon as you walk in was Amazing! due to the lebanese food that they cook in their "Bistro Bar" was instantly noticeable.

The beds were as good as our own, we had a great nights sleep, the shower was also Hot if needed, the facilities were endless......., parking, restaurant, bar, outdoor heated pool, ( warm ), heated outdoor Hot Tub, games room, TV with dvd player, its fair to say our daughter loved it.

I have to mention their " Bistro Bar ", where your hosts will cook you Lebanese food, ( Saida is lebanese ). Its " Mouth watering ", just check out their feedback thats all i'll say.


Yes you have lots of choice of places to stay when you go to the English Riviera in Torquay BUT consider this before you decide and commit to pay.... , do you want value for money, do you want to be made to feel special, do you want to leave a place wishing that you didn't have to go home..? If this is the case, ( and lets be honest we all want to feel like that don't we ), then this is one or those "few gems" out there that will give you this feeling.....THE RICHWOOD.

Yeah i know......We Loved It, Thank you Veronica & Saida hope to see you both again soon x x x


Mark. Emma, Megan Johnston 26/102013

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mark, Emma and Megan... it was please getting to know you. we are happy that we met all your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay... come again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Richwood for 3 nights. It was very clean.
We found Saida and Veronica to be lovely and welcoming. They made us feel part of the family. Every day they would ask us how we slept and how we would spend our day.

We had dinner two nights and the food was exceptional. Being foodies ourselves we appreciated the time, love and effort that went into it. Especially as I am vegetarian. My husband is a meat eater. Breakfast was very good too.

We would certainly stay again. Would be nice to come back in the summer and make use of the swimming pool.

Cathy and Steve

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed all the Richwood has to offer - except of course the pool! Come back in the summer, we would love to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#69 of 87 in Torquay
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Property: The Richwood
Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing