We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #49 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Richwood in June, on entering reception there was a very strong odour of cigarettes, we were shown to our room and it was tiny, but more importantly it was above a very noisy road, we appreciate you "can't move" the road but when the hotel has only let three rooms and there are many more available it should be good P.R. to offer a quieter one, which they did, but then wanted to charge a considerable amount for an upgrade...
So we stayed put, thinking we would make do as we were only staying two nights.
We went down to breakfast the next morning to be greeted by Kevin, some describe him as jolly and funny, but when he insists on hovering over you while you try to eat it is bad manners and quite uncomfortable. He is also quite insulting, he hovered over a couple from the midlands and referred to them as Yam Yams and Yo Yo's. they said that the next morning they would get newspapers so he would leave them alone. Another couple from Russia had to undergo his exploits in the cold war and in very bad taste he pulled there race apart. they only had toast to eat, we think they wanted to escape his overpowering opinions and were very polite and made a swift exit.
The atmosphere was awful, and ruined what was quite nice food, we think that the two ladies who run the hotel would benefit from spending a little more time listening to what is said to their guests, we would have liked to have some drinks at the hotel bar and use the spa and pool but as the same person (Kevin) served and worked in both we most certainly didn't.
This is the only negative review we have felt we have had to write.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 279 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went away for my birthday and couldn't have wished to stay at a better place..Saida,veronica and barman kev were top notch staff..very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you! Had a lovely view from our room which was clean and very comfortable..Breakfast was lush and we were going to stay another night but unfortunately had to get back for kids to see me on me birthday..My birthday breakfast I was greeted with plenty of birthday wishes,a small bottle of sparkling chenet and it was better treatment than at home lol..So thank you guys for making it so special..Kev you are a scream to be with..We will be going back very soon..

Room Tip: The double room was ample enough with plenty of facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Who would not welcome such a lovely family? Thank you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at the Richwood. Upon arrival we had a very warm welcome from Veronica and Saida. Kevin was equally welcoming...and very entertaining! The room was a little small BUT it was clean, modern and comfortable. Another plus was the shower... lovely to have a shower in a hotel without either almost burning your skin off or freezing to death. Breakfast was lovely- piping hot and the scrambled eggs were very tasty (thanks Veronica). All in all a great stay and we would recommend the Richwood to anyone going to Torquay.
Thank you Veronica, Saida and Kevin for making it an enjoyable stay !!!!!
PS Kevin, next time we will visit the bar :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monnie334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We are looking forward to seeing you again soooooooooooooooon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Richwood Hotel was a brilliant choice! Very friendly owners Veronika and Saida with jolly barman Kevin. The room was cosy with the comfortable bed. The cooked breakfast with 'professional poached eggs' I couldn't resist. The highlight was supper in Beirut bar with Lebanese Meze! It was food to die for! You definitely have to try it. We are already looking forward to come back soon!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Slavka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for your review, and all the praise! Looking forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just arrived back from a two night stay at the Richwood!!

We arrived quite late in the day and was greeted by Veronica and their pet dog. We had a smooth checkin and was shown to our room by Saida.

The room was comfortable. (Jason did keep hitting his head on the shelf above the sink when he had a wash! But he is a lot taller than me)

The location was great! We walked down to Torquay each time but there are always taxi's and a bus that stops directly outside of the hotel!!

We had a fab evening in the bar with Kev and enjoyed his jokes and coversations!! I am sure he has loads of stories to share!!!

The breakfast was excellent with everthing we could have wanted. They also remembered I didn't drink tea or coffee so they put a jug of water on my table.

All in all we had a great weekend, with great location and people. Thank you x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mi5cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Super review from super people!! Thanks, and see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed 10th May for the weekend.staff including kevin the barman/waiter veronica and saida made us feel so welcome.brekfast was cooked to perfection.room was a little small but perfectly adequate for our needs.very clean and lovely comfy bed.we hope to return to be spoilt again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thanks for the praise! We were happy to have pleased you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were greeted by Joint owner Saida and the beautiful dog Sheba and given a very warm welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean and although the bedroom was small it was very comfortable. Breakfast was ample and very tasty. Kevin the barman was very entertaining with a great sense of humour and ensured everyone was looked after. Just a shame we were only there for the weekend we will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Great review from even greater guests, Look forward ti hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 86 in Torquay
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 86 in Torquay
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 86 in Torquay
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 86 in Torquay
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 86 in Torquay
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 86 in Torquay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $72 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing