We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich in value, rich in customer service, rich in comfort.”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Sheffied
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rich in value, rich in customer service, rich in comfort.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Richwood is all of the above. My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay with a KGB voucher deal and couldn't have been happier with the service and treatment we received. I wasn't very well and the kindness I was shown by Veronica, Saida and Kevin, was second to none. My hubby has a big appetite and when we asked if he could have an extra large breakfast, this was sorted out immediately. The food was delicious and freshly cooked. Breakfast had two sitting which was great for everyone whether you are an early bird or like to sleep late. Our room was small but perfectly formed and as I ended up spending more time in there than I had planned, I was pleased that it was so comfortable. We would definitely return and would recommend The Richwood to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penandsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you; we were so sorry you were not well and I am glad you still enjoyed your stay. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    58
    22
    23
    23
See reviews for
45
160
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

just spent two nights at the richwood ,with a KGB voucher deal and what a lovely experience. we arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from Veronica Kevin the barman showed us to our room ,which even though it was rather small,( of this we were prewarned and offered an upgrade to a bigger room for a small cost if we so wished by Veronica when making the booking)it was perfect for our 2 night stay, a very clean comfortable cosy room with a nice spotlessly clean ensuite. tea/coffee making facilities and nice biccies if you wanted, hairdryer in room and free wi-fi!!! ,flat screen tv/dvdplayer it was really everything you need for a stay away pre order breakfast the night before and its cooked fresh to you chosen time in the morning and what a lovely tasty breakfast we had , kevin entertained us from the time we arrived ,nice bar there with very reasonable prices ,would definately go there again and would'nt hesitate to recommend it to friends .the pool and outside area looked nice but obviously due the time of year weather ..etc it was 'nt in use ,but I image its lovely in the summer months . would be happy to vist again and even at the full room cost I still think this hotel would provide excellent value ....well done to you all

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busybusybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It was a a pleasure having you here and we all look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After working every weekend for 6 months my wife and I had to get away for a weekend. I wasn't sure when my wife booked us in at the Richwood due to the budget price. But I'm glad she did.
Very friendly staff, delicious cooked breakfast, excellent bed, very comfortable and well appointed room. The staff could not be any nicer.
But all too soon we had to drive back to 'Turk Town'.
If you are looking for a great value place to stay in the Torquay area, look no further.
I certainly won't bother looking anywhere else if I find myself in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 14 if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! We would be very happy to greet you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband,young baby daughter and mum recently stayed 2 nights at The Richwood in Torquay.We were met with a very friendly welcome and a bottle of wine brought to our room.Our room was huge with a lovely view of the back gardens and pool area. The room was warm,clean and the bed very comfortable.Breakfast the next morning was delicious with a choice of hot food- would highly recommend the bacon and sausage!. Overall a nice stay in a very friendly hotel.Lindsey from Liverpool

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for your review Lindsay and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We arrived to be greeted by the friendly owners who checked us in efficiently and quickly. The room was very basic but warm, comfortable and cosy. There is a flat screen television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, full length mirror (very important!) and en suite shower room. Kevin the bar man was very friendly and entertaining with his many jokes and stories, we had a most pleasant few drinks with him before dinner. Breakfast was very prompt, well presented and although I found it plenty, my partner did say it was a bit on the small side as it was delicious and he wanted more. Again service was very warm and friendly. We didn't see the pool as weather was abysmal unfortunately, but the warmth and friendliness made up for it. This is a good value hotel conveniently located at just five minutes from the center. I would be happy to recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliahg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and for the praise and constructive criticism. We are happy that your partner so enjoyed his breakfast and wanted 'seconds'... if I had known I would have been happy to oblige! Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have just returned home from a long weekend at The Richwood.
Superb location just 15 minutes walk into the centre of Torquay, on the main bus route for Brixham, Paignton and Newton Abbott.
Myself and my partner instantly greeted and treated like friends visiting this wonderful bed and breakfast.
Saida and Veronica great hosts as is Kevin the barman.
While there you must book in at The Bistro......the lebanese feast is a must outstanding and so full of flavour.
Our room was number 14 and wow what a dream, the bed was so comfy we had a job leaving it
Free wifi is a bonus as everywhere we have stayed before has charged for this...
We had such an amazing time we didn't want to come home.....still now we can plan our return to the ladies and their hospitatlity.
If you want a first class friendly bed and breakfast then the richwood is a must...we are definately going back SOON.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meljue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for the praise! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were in the Torquay area for a funeral over the Easter weekend and were let down by the Hotel we had booked, the Richwood stepped into the breach when we could find no alternative accommodation, they allowed us to book in late on a Saturday evening, were very friendly and welcoming. Kevin the Barman went the extra mile by ferrying me back to my car on the following day. I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel if you are looking for a friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It was a pleasure to help, you were most welcome! It was great meeting you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#70 of 87 in Torquay
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#4 of 87 in Torquay
515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Property: The Richwood
Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing