We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant 3day Break!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant 3day Break!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel very clean, loved the pool!! wish we would have eaten in the bistro as we ate locally and wish we hadnt !!!
Veronica and Saidia (sorry if spelt wrong) very very very friendly, amazing, and cooked a very mean brekki between them.
Would highly reccomend. Say Hi to Kevin from us.
Love Sharon and Steve (Manchester)

Room Tip: Order a double twin, they are larger then doubles HAHA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky_McLeod_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Super review from two super people! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    54
    21
    23
    21
See reviews for
40
149
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from two days at The Richwood using 2nights KGB deal. 3 brothers joined me using normal tariff. 8 adults in all. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Treated with care and respect,nothing was too much trouble for Veronica and Saida and also Kevin the characterful Barsteward!!!and general handyman!.I must add in all the numerous accommodations I have experienced in the UK the attention to details such as breakfast served on hotplates was much appreciated.Cleanliness exceptional in all parts of the Richwood. One of my brothers and his wife stayed with a previous owner and remarked that it was clear that Veronica and Saida had invested a great deal of energy and finance into improving guest experience and comfort.

Room Tip: We had garden room which led to pool and a leisure room with games both for indoor and outdoor activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZSANDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for the praise! We are looking forward to the next family party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with KGB offer then another 2 nights which I paid extra for, its ok as hotels go, nice swimming pool & sunbathing area, games room with Projector/tv/pool table/skittles & lots of card games books etc, didnt eat at night or drink in the bar because we felt it was a bit expensive and there was more night life with entertainment nearer the sea front. The hotel was big and not noisy at night, breakfast was well organised and lovely german waitress always served us with a smile, Unfortunetly as most hotels in the UK are suffering with the UK weather its worth looking for an offer as every hotel in torquay had the vacancies sign up!
Its a nice hotel, but only if your capable of walking 10-15 min to beach

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed yoy stay with us, thank you for the review. I keep trying to pull the sea-front a little closer...but, no can do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a 2 night KGB special deal at the Richwood and found it most enjoyable, very clean, very comfortable beds and the rooms were clean as were the towels and en-suite bathroom. Veronica and Saida were very accomodating and helpful, nothing was too much for them.We even went for a swim at 9.00am and the pool was heated as described and very clean....We would recomend The Richwood as a good base for exploring Torquay and surrounding areas. Well worth the money....Thanks Veronica and Saida.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for the review, you were most welcome and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Tried late booking on KGB Deal. Informed only De Luxe room available @extra £20.00 per night, reluctantly agreed. On checking in, was asked for 5% for credit card payment, offered debit card, proprietress made note of CCV no. Informed her this should not be done when card holder was present, she ignored this and referred me to their terms & conditions
Apart from King Size bed, " De Luxe" room had nothing that one would not expect in a standard room elsewhere. The door into a very small en-suite shower room stuck, and the shower had a faulty door.
At breakfast next morning found that hotel was less than half full, very unhappy about paying extra for overpriced room
The one good point is an excellent pool. There is also a hot tub, available at a "nominal" charge of £7.50
Later checked "Terms & Conditions", found these to be the least customer friendly that I have ever read. We take a short break every month throught various discount offers. This is the worst we have had to date

Room Tip: Avoid the "de Luxe" rom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Brin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I refer readers to other recent reviews from this date to make comparisons...
It is a shame that this very supercilious 'gentleman' can't get his facts straight...!
1. I informed him that we charged 5% on credit cards and asked if he have a debit?
2. Most hotels will take ALL cards details; we are not a shop or supermarket...
3. I will not dignify his comments on the room with a reply...
4. The hotel had only three family rooms vacent when he was here. We had two breakfast servings to facilitate our guests as there were so many... how many rooms does he think we have? And as for overpriced (£21 per person per night in the peak season)... leaves me without words...
5. Our Terms and Cnditions are clearly Terms and Cnditions , not intended as a love letter to our guests.
Finally, I am relieved to know he will not be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband, 5yr old son and I stayed at The Richwood for a weekend at the beginning of September. We found the owners, Veronica and Saida, and Kevin the barman very friendly and most welcoming. We had a family room with a double and bunk beds which my son loved. The room was a good size and very clean and nicely furnished. The owners have obviously invested in quality beds and pillows as it was extremely comfortable. Our ensuite was also very clean and the shower was great and looked like it was relatively new. There were also quality complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities in the room with delicious cookies.

The pool area is amazing, which is where we spent most of our time as my son loved it. It really is a lovely pool, and very safe for children as it is a constant depth with easy access roman steps at one end. There were also plenty of sun loungers to relax and unwind in the sun. The breakfast was very good, with cereal and toast, tea, coffee and orange juice and a cooked breakfast of choice. We also had a delicious evening meal (Lebanese feast) in the Beirut Bistro freshly prepared by Saida which we would highly recommend. We will most definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-SJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
It was great having you here, glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend in the first week in sept. Weather was fantastic so really enjoyed all afternooon by the pool. Was staying with my 7 year old daughter who fell in love with the hotel. Our hosts couln't have done more for us. Breakfast was really tasty and set us up for the day.

The rooms were very comfortable, made me realise i need a new bed.............. Enjoyed watching TV in the evening in our room. The decoration was not really to my personal taste but of all very high standard.

We will definatley be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for this great review and we look forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Property: The Richwood
Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing