We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Livermead House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #50 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Summer Holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at Livermead House for 12 nights for our main holiday. Having seen reviews beforehand we opted for a superior room with sea view. The room and bathroom were spacious and well appointed, judging from the style of the bathroom I would say that it had been renovated in the 1990's.

The hotel is old-fashioned for sure and yes, there is a rickety lift next to reception, but there is also a modern one only a few yards away, take your choice. There are clearly areas for improvement in the décor and a rolling plan of work is taking place.

The bar serves a good range of drinks and meals at reasonable prices, the meals being of good quality and size. However accommodation is over-priced and so are the restaurant meals (you won't get much change out of £80 for two dinners and a bottle of wine). The service was good throughout with the only shortcoming being that service in the bar could be slow at times, especially during restaurant dinner time and when there were functions on.

The hotel is a popular venue for functions such as weddings and proms, and organisations like Probus hold their meetings there regularly.

The biggest problem is the lounge/bar area, there being only one. During our stay there were several coach parties staying also and entertainment had been laid on for them every couple of evenings. As there is only one lounge there is nowhere to escape from the "entertainment" and it felt rather like we had gate-crashed a retirement home tea-dance (we went back to our room and watched TV which, incidentally, was a quite new flat-screen model).

Clearly the management have plans for this hotel and we wish them well. However, that being said, they need to decide where they want to position themselves. The building and location are well suited to being "top notch", however if the future is accommodating coach parties then so be it. Trying to do both isn't working.

Room Tip: Go for the top of the range if you can afford it, but don't expect great value. The hotel is san...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey-Upminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    100
    37
    30
    41
See reviews for
83
129
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Didnt enjoy one bit. I was woken every morning by a train thundering past at around 5 a.m at the back of the hotel. Shower cubicle was designed for a midget and dripped constantly. T.V signal was none existent. Very overpriced. Out dated decor and furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aceged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Torquay is just lovely place to visit, lot to do and see in surrounding areas.
Hotels can be bit price but we found a bargain online booking.com , The Livermead House.
We stayed 5 nights. The hotel is lovely, peaceful and has good location. Only 10-15 mins walk to Torquay center.
Rooms, I must admit they are dated, I personally was very disappointed with our room,
The room No15 very tiny, double bed TOO small window didn't open properly, wall paper in bad condition.
Our booking was with booking.com where are probably just the best rooms shown so I was shocked to see that.
In the end had to pay extra money to get decent room and bigger bed, No243 is spacious, has lovely pool and sea view.
Food was ok.
Overall pleasant stay.
Cant comment on spa and fitness, did not attend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went in August last year for our parents 60th wedding anniversary. The were 4 Generations ranging from 82 years old to 4 years old. The staff could not do enough for us, especially with little ones. Although the hotel is dated& could do with some updating, it was lovely to go back a little in time. My parents have used this hotel several time inc for their Honeymoon that`s why it was chosen, whilst we were there the was a wedding on the saturday, so it cant be that bad as some have said. Well done to Tim & his staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suem1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My Auntie was in the hotel trade in Torquay for many years and as such I have some understanding of hotel decor and accommodation. Sadly this hotel is very run down ...please look at the negative comments before booking ...we wish we had first. All I can say is those who commented favourably did not stay in either room 3 or 5, where furniture had lumps knocked off, stains on window still and marked wall paper ...not what you would expect when paying over £800 for a week. I am very surprised that the hotel has been given the rating it has and feel the pictures on their website are tantamount to false advertising. I have photos on my camera that show a very different view of the rooms and will download them later. My advice is please choose your hotel carefully ...pictures can always be airbrushed to look better.

Room Tip: Take a look at the bedrooms before booking and check the blankets are not marked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel is very much 70's but this pales into insignificance once you have settled in and you are attended to by the very smart, friendly and attentive staff and nothing was too much trouble. Our room overlooking the garden and sea was large and had a two seater settee on which to relax to watch the TV, while others had easy chairs which is something of a rarity in some hotels these days. Although situated on the main Torquay to Paington road, traffic noise was never a problem. We were on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal and the meals were first rate with plenty of choice and there was something for everyone. The evening 4 course dinner menu changed daily and in fact we ended up skipping one course as being too much. My only niggle was the shower was very underwhelming but I guess that this is not so easily resolved in a building this age.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the garden and the sea towards Berry Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyChappyWirral_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent four nights here for a short break. Great location just across the road from the sea, and about 15 minute walk into Torquay, although there is a bus stop right outside the hotel with a frequent service into Torquay.
The hotel is old fashioned in the nicest possible way. All staff are uniformed, the public areas have that old fashioned feel of a quality hotel. Bedroom was rather dated but had everything we needed, some road noise (sea view room) but not enough to disturb sleep. WiFi is limited to the bar area but is free. Food was satisfactory without being outstanding. Service very good in both restaurant and bars.
But for me as always it is the staff that make or break a hotel, and without exception the staff here made the hotel. Friendly, attentive and efficient 10/10.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have excellent view but some traffic noise, I expect rooms at the back may be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Property: Livermead House Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
Livermead House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing