We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy Old Fashioned Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Old Fashioned Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I took my group at the beginning of November for a small winter break and it was great. Whilst the hotel is a little old fashioned it is comfortable, warm and that includes the atmosphere and staff which are all helpful and obliging. The food was exceptional with a huge choice to suit every palate. The evening meal was accompanied by a pianist which added a lovely touch to the preceedings. In the bar their was evening entertainment and a dance area. In the summer their is an outdoor pool and seating area. It is 20 minutes walk into Torquay or by bus 5 mins.
We would definately return.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the sea but the road is between the hotel and the sea, as you face the hotel the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondeo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    100
    37
    30
    42
See reviews for
84
130
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have recently re-visited the Livermead House Hotel for lunch and dinner on a number of occasions and feel that it should be placed on record how much we enjoyed the experience.
The staff were, without exception, courteous and efficient..the food was second to none both in the choice of menu and the presentation..These kind of standards are in short supply these days..a pity that other establishments do not follow suit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1968Calypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Livermead House Hotel excels in many things, which is why we have stayed there on at least 20 occasions. Of particular note are:

Dining Room
Step into the dining room and the impressive decor including the chandeliers, flowers and grand piano, with the formally dressed staff create an air of expectation of the standard of meals to follow either at breakfast or dinner. You will not be disappointed as the menus offer a wide range of appetising choices (with 4 courses for the evening dinner). The food is of a very high standard, well prepared and presented elegantly with generous portions. Everything is served by the attentive, friendly staff. All this is accompanied by various pianists who play easy listening music which makes for a relaxing and extremely pleasant ambience.

Bedrooms
All front bedrooms have various view s across the bay, stretching from Torquay to Brixham and are spacious and well furnished. All bedrooms are spotlessly clean and well heated in the colder months.

Car Park
The hotel offers considerable car parking facilities, most of which are adjacent to the well kept garden areas.

Customer Service

The highly personal service, courtesy and helpfulness offered by management and staff alike, the extremely high standards of cleanliness throughout the hotel(which I always rate as a high priority), ambient temperatures, and welcoming log fires in winter all make this a charming venue to visit.
From the moment you arrive, you are welcomed with a warm, friendly greeting, and nothing is too much trouble to meet your needs as a customer. It does not take long to feel relaxed at the Livermead House, either enjoying the gentle sound of piano playing during dinner, or enjoying coffee in the spacious lounge areas.
All of which makes you feel this is a very affordable value for a 3 star hotel of such quality.

Pure pleasure, and far more enjoyable than the cold sterile atmosphere of many of the more modern hotels.

The Livermead House will continue to be our hotel of choice in Torquay, and we warmly recommend it to friends and potential customers.

Room Tip: Any front bedrooms have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Staffordshire UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I took a group of 46 U3A members to this hotel and were treated to a wonderful week. The staff were most helpful and friendly. Met with a welcome cup of tea/coffee & biscuits,the rooms were quickly sorted and cases taken up. Being 29th October the holel was set out to cele.brate Halloween which we all enjoyed. Haloween over and Christmas appeared on the 1st Nov so the staff had to work extra hard changing decor and costumes. The food is exellent with a wide choice both for breakfast & dinner. I have to say that the crepe suzzete is well worth paying extra for. A Hotel well worth recomending.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Upon arrival last week we were welcomed with a cup of tea/coffee and biscuits and brilliant staff very friendly. By the time we had finished and went to our rooms our luggage was outside our
room. The hotel does seem a bit dated upon arrival but the food and staff make up for it. We
cruise a lot and the food was equal to any that we have been on. Upon leaving the staff, including the chefs waved us good-bye and the Manager came on the bus and wished us all a
good/safe journey home. How many do that! Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

on first apperance the hotel seems a bit dated , but the room was very comfortable ,except for the out of date noisy t v , the staff was extremely friendly and helpful , the food was excellent , overall it was a very nice weekend break and we would go back again

Room Tip: sea front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My daughter had her wedding reception here on 8th September 2012 and the staff were faultless.
We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the sea view room that we had was wonderful.
My wife and I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Symon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Property: Livermead House Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
Livermead House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing