We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great as always”
Review of The Baytree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Baytree Hotel
Ranked #47 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

You looked after us as usual, loved the additions at breakfast. I think we have stayed in this room (No 4) before, just as nice with a few added touches. Thank you for the help with our days out and about. See you next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 2, 3 and 4, they are all nice, room 2 is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1935john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 241 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a most enjoyable few days with hosts Chris & Karen. Spotlessly clean & comfortable room,excellant breakfasts with lots to choose.With good local knowledge of the area their recommendations on places to visit were spot on. Definitley recommend this one, an absolute gem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderers1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Baytree 2 nights for my birthday.
Lovely place. Room was extremely clean and fresh. Very comfortable bed. The owners Karen and Chris went above and beyond to make my birthday special, chocolates and a birthday card at the breakfast table. Very good selection for breakfast, cooked breakfast was lovely.
Quiet location but still close enough to walk into town (about 10-15 mins)
Will highly recommend and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinings14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A very friendly and enjoyable stay, a nice room, the choice of breakfast on the menu was great. Ideal location for Torbay, would stay at the baytree again.the ground floor room was ideal as my wife finds stairs difficult.

Room Tip: My wife walks with a stick and ground floor room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Bay Tree is truly first class . Karen and Chris provide a welcoming atmosphere which contributes to an excellent stay . The breakfasts are superb and in our opinion are the best we have experienced after staying in establishments throughout the UK and Europe. Our bedroom was ideal and kept spotlessly clean , it was exactly as described in the advertisement.

Well done Karen and Chris ! We hope to see you again

Clive and Shirley

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Cosy! Friendly hosts, perfect breakfast. The room (no.3) was very clean, quiet during the night.
Karen and Chris gave us good tips for trips. Not far from the Railwaystation and the seaside.
The Baytree is situated in an area with lots of green, not far from Torre Abbey.
We had a wonderfull time.

Room Tip: Room 3 was perfect to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip-de-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed there Sept 10 to Sept 13 2013. Karen and Chris perfect hosts, couldn't do enough for us. Room spotless, plenty of space and lots of storage. Breakfast was cooked to perfection. Would stay there again. But would ask for an upstairs room next time as whilst our room (no. 7 ) was fine, a light from next door proved somewhat of a hindrance as it shone all night into our room making it difficult to get to sleep. David and Marilyn.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room to avoid a light from a neighbouring house which seems to stay on all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#45 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baytree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baytree Hotel

Address: 14 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $80 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baytree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Quality Accommodation. The Baytree is located in a quiet tree-lined road yet only 5 minutes walk to the seafront, bars and restaurants of Torquay. A '4 STAR SILVER AWARD' Guest Accommodation Rating by The Quality in Tourism Council. This is in recognition of the standard of quality, facilities and hospitality we offer to our Guests. The Baytree was also Highly Commended for Best Bed and Breakfast in The English Riviera Quality Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Baytree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baytree Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing