We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem in the English Riviera”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baytree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Baytree Hotel
Ranked #39 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem in the English Riviera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

In a time when the main things in life are done for convenience, it is a fresh change to stay somewhere like the Baytree, where nothing is too much trouble. We went down for the weekend as I was doing the Torbay Half Marathon. We arrived late on the Friday night and shown to the best hotel room I have stayed in, a comfy bed (you can't put a price on that can you?) Excellent room facilities, and an amazing choice for breakfast. I can see why my parents return year after year. Our three year old gave it the thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
156
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I`ve just got back from a trip at the Baytree hotel for a weekend with the family. My parents have stayed their many times before and have always recommend it as a lovely place to stay. The hotel has a very friendly and welcoming feeling, karen and Chris were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent with a very good choice of menu!! I`d definately reccomend this as a very welcoming and friendly place to stay in excellent location for all anmeties! Would definatley go again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racheysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We have just got back from 4 nights at the Baytree and what a wonderful time we had. The guesthouse is a small friendly guesthouse, with lovely clean rooms and Karen cooks the most delicious breakfast. It is not licensed but there is no problem with taking your owne wine/beer etc.
Our room was recently decorated (room 2) and was lovely and bright with a lovely en-suite shower room. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We paid £264 for 4 nights for 2 people bed and breakfast which we thought was very good value. There is on site parking. We were about 20 minutes walk from the town and a good regular bus service run from near the guesthouse. We found an excellent restaurant 5 minutes walk from the Baytree, it is an American Diner called Ocean Drive, well worth a visit, loads of memoribilia to look at whilst eating. There is a very helpful book in the room with great ideas for restaurants etc. Will definatgely recommend and go back, thanks for a lovely stay Karen and Chris.

Room Tip: Just phone and speak to either Karen or Chris
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_jones21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was my wife and i first visit to Torquay for her birthday, i booked the Baytree based on the comments & reviews on trip advisor and Chris & Karen didn't disappoint.
The Baytree is very comfortable and welcoming and in an ideal location approx 10 min walk to the beach and 15 min to the town.
I must have mentioned that it was my wife's birthday either when i booked or when i checked in and after returning from a walk there was a box of Thorntons chocolates with a card on the bed!!! Nice touch.
To sum it up great accommodation and weekend, we will return one day!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

When we booked The Baytree all went smoothly and we took up the offer to be picked up at the coach station in Torquay.

Our 4 nights were most enjoyable - started the day with a very good breakfast. The rooms are very clean, ample storage place and pleased to find no wire coat hangers!
Beds were comfortable and our room was tastefully decorated (as was the whole of the house). Karen and Chris were very friendly and were able to answer our questions about the Torbay area -- many thanks. If we return to the Torbay area the Baytree would be top of our list for accommodation. Any points not covered can be found on the Baytree website.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxonianPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Excellent hotel to stay in. Very friendly hoasts, lovely breakfast and in a good location for a 10 min walk to sea front. Very highly recommended hotel to stay in. Stayed for two nights, cannot think of a bad thing to say about the hotel :-).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haylz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Our first stay in Torquay was faultless, due mainly to The Bay Tree Hotel in which we stayed. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we felt nothing but a warm welcome. The room and en-suite was immaculate and clean, Breakfast was perfect in taste and size, off street parking was a bonus and the owners were very friendly and helpful. The coast was just a leisurely 5 minute walk away, access to shops and pubs were nearby without being too close to any noise. We were so impressed with the place we even stayed an extra night! A+

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezski73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#28 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exton House
Exton House
#60 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Daylesford
The Daylesford
#63 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#29 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#50 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baytree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baytree Hotel

Property: The Baytree Hotel
Address: 14 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baytree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Quality Accommodation. The Baytree is located in a quiet tree-lined road yet only 5 minutes walk to the seafront, bars and restaurants of Torquay. A '4 STAR SILVER AWARD' Guest Accommodation Rating by The Quality in Tourism Council. This is in recognition of the standard of quality, facilities and hospitality we offer to our Guests. The Baytree was also Highly Commended for Best Bed and Breakfast in The English Riviera Quality Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Baytree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baytree Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing