We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get up for breakfast !”
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Wonderful hosts and a breakfast to beat all others X Highly Recommended *****
Nice rooms and décor .
A perfect place to explore Devon from.

Central to Torquay, good parking and did I mention the breakfast !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thanks for the review - "nobody leaves hungry" is Anita's motto! Nice to hear it's appreciated :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 408 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Steve and Melissa .
What a lovely hotel , lovely room, and facilities within.
Adam made us very welcome, took a lot of time to chat, and advise on where to go in Torquay.
Anita , cooked an amazing full English breakfast that kept us going till well into the afternoon, and the selection of fresh fruit and cereals was fantastic , the best breakfast I've had.
Would recommend the cimon to everybody, was lovely in February so can imagine it would be outstanding during the summer months when you would be able to use the swimming pool.
Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooty109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments - I hope you come back when the pool is open! We're opening it up for Easter this year (slightly earlier than usual).

Don't forget to book direct for the best deals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay last week, and Adam and Anita are one of the best hoteliers that I have yet come across. You can't really go wrong with staying at The Cimon. Some of the rooms are a bit on the small side, but they make up for it with their big hearts! We were hoping for a Basil Fawlty-esque hotelier but because Adam is flawless, the search for a terrible Torquay hotel continues. And we had a sea view - exactly what we asked for from this delightful Devon coastal resort! We will be back, we loved it here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Philpot79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

I've had a few Basil moments, thankfully most of them have been in private!

See you again I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Adam. He made us very welcomed and as others have said nothing was to much trouble. when we booked the hotel we told them about certain difficulties with walking and this was taken into account and given a room on the ground floor. very friendly atmosphere. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Torquay. Easy access to town. Thanks Adam and his family for a great couple of days. Sarah & Keith

Room Tip: if you have a problems they will try there best to help in any way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thanks for your nice comments, it's was a pleasure to meet you both.

We always do our best to accommodate guests with mobility issues, but it's always best to ring in advance so we can check what's available for you.

See you again I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent 3 nights at this hotel in February halfterm and we had a lovely stay. The hotel is nicely decorated and the owners are lovely, extremely helpful and a good laugh. It's a very welcoming hotel, we had no problems at all, breakfasts were amazing very filling. Town centre, seafront and marina are very close by and in walking distance. We had a great stay and I'd highly recommend visiting the hotel, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank EllieFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks for your kind review! It was nice chatting to you in the bar, better luck next time winning at pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very welcoming owners with nothing being too much trouble for them. Great location only a short walk to the town centre. Myself & my partner stayed in the four poster room as it was Valentines weekend and I can honestly say the room was up to a high standard with a comfortable bed and tea & coffee making facilities etc
Very good choice for breakfast including fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt and a good selection for hot foods including vegetarian options.
Free parking is avaiable to the rear of the hotel.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks for the review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your romantic break!

Thanks for booking direct as well - always the best deals!

See you again soon I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

welcoming, friendly
Homely and warm
thought of every little detail for comfort of the guest.
Excellent breakfast ,vegetarians catered for.
Spacious room. Tastefully decorated
We recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zufilka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Many thanks, it was nice to meet you all.

We do our best to cater for vegetarians, vegans, gluten and lactose intolerant, you name it... :)

See you again I hope - please book direct in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $86 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing