We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and warm welcome”
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice and warm welcome”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Myself and my partner wanted to have a night off from the norm so we booked this place. First impretions was good, Its a very nice and warm place, when we got there we was shown to our double room, the room was very small, dont get me wrong it had everything you need in a room but you would have to shuffle the get round the bed. The bathroom was a good size and had a very hot and powerfull shower. In the hotel there is a bar with free pool table dart board and tv. The landlord was the barman that night and we ended up chatting to him for a while, he was more that happy to tell us about the area and the best places to eat ect.. In the morning we went down for breakfast, the full english was perfect. The view from the hotel is stunning, over looking the sea. I would go back there in the summer to make full use of the hotel swiming pool, it was a bit nippy in feb so it was out of bounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for the review. The compact rooms are a little small, we make that clear on the decription, most people are happy with them if they use the room for is sleeping - otherwise there are plenty of bigger rooms available too.

We're opening up the pool at the end of April, I hope to see you again when the sun is out! Book direct for the best deal of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    76
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
197
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the Cimon over New Year. We had a sea view room which was lovely especially when the sun was out! Good location giving easy access to seafront and local high street. Ample parking which sometimes lacks in seaside towns. Lovely family run hotel and Anita cooks the best breakfasts, luckily we weren't staying longer else I'd have come back with a little extra weight than I went with. Will be going back in the Summer to try out the lovely pool! Thanks for a great stay Anita and Adam.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_taz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Torquay is a favourite destination of mine and I have been going there regularly for many years. The Cimon was such a discovery.
I took one of the special offers and went open minded. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised; greeted by a very friendly young couple who showed me round and made me feel at home straight away. The sun was shining and I took a cup of coffee on the cosy patio, glad that I have escaped from the cold overcast Hertfordshire.
What a treat - a beautiful sea view room, a superbly cooked full English breakfast served in a bright sunlit room, a bar that does hot and cold drinks all day, friendly people when you want some local information or just a chat, and also quiet spots where you could sit with a book or an ipad.
The location is great. Perched on a hill - to capture the last rays of sunshine in the day and the sea views, and yet a few minutes walk to the beach on one side, and a few minutes walk to the shops on the other side. It's also convenient for outings and driving to any destination with the comforting knowledge that there is always space in the hotel car park upon return.
I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay!
On the down side, it was not long enough.
I am already planning my next visit in late April / early May, when I'll be able to try the heated swimming pool.
Thank you Adam and Anita
Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL1St_Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for the nice review! We say the pool is open from 1st May, but it might be ready a week or so earlier. Best to check ahead if you're hoping to come for a swim in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

In Torquay for a Brass Banding weekend, we needed a hotel that provided all we needed for relaxation before the big contest. Luckily The Cimon provided us with all of this, having a very large room (with two bathrooms), a surprisingly quiet night's sleep, and a very complete breakfast, conveniently located near the Riviera Centre and 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Thanks a lot for an easy and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room further from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraserAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for the great review, and congratulations on winning the competition! Good luck in the final!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Cimon Hotel overlooks Torquay harbour, which is a five or ten minute stroll away. Anita and Adam Batson took over the Cimon about a year ago and are doing a really great job. The only resemblance that other place in Torquay - Faulty Towers - is that there is also a view of the sea!
The welcome is warm, informative and enthusiastic. The rooms are comfortable, clean and very well appointed. Anita's breakfast is delicious and cooked exactly how you like it.
There is a bar downstairs, with a snack menu in the evening.
There are more than enough parking spaces - essential in Torquay.
As I write this, I am conscious that it may encourage others to stay here, but hopefully - with 15 rooms - there will still be one for us next time we come.
Finally, there is a wide choice of restaurants around the harbour. For fish and seafood straight off the boats, go to Man Friday's (up a side street next to Macari's). Not the cheapest, but GREAT value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thank you Adam and Anita for a wonderful stay, your hotel is very welcoming and family friendly :) my littleone loved the play room and we loved the breakfasts :). Thank you again i will be recommending your hotel to everyone who's going to Torquay, and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixtwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks - I hope you bring little Lucas back when the pool is open, I'm sure he'd love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Looked forward to a hard earned break encouraged by the signs of good reviews. We were given a small room with a tiny wet room which had no heating and felt very cold. On arrival at lunch time the room was also cold and we were advised the heating came on twice a day. On return from a bitter cold few hours outing we came back to a cold room / bathroom. The manager gave us a blow heater to warm the room. We booked out the next morning which cut short our planned 2 night stay.Very disappointing. Poor value for money even with voucher.

Room Tip: not near the top in cold weather months
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 396glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for your review.

I'm disappointed you didn't mention this as your reason for leaving early - you told me you were leaving early because the weather was miserable and you didn't like Torquay! I asked specifically if the room was the problem and you said it wasn't; it's a shame I have to hear about it on Tripadvisor when I asked you to your face. We would have been happy to move you to a different room if you'd said something.

The heating comes on 3 times a day, for extended periods when it's colder outside, we don't want any of our guests to feel uncomfortable. You had an electric heater and another heater in the wet room, I checked if you were comfortable and you said everything was ok.

I tell every guest that one of us is always available if they need anything and we always do our best to ensure everyone has a great time here. I'm sorry our standards fell short of your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Property: The Cimon
Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing