We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
237
30
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
237
30
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews india suite moroccan room coffee and cake corn fritters fresh fruit salad owners martin penthouse suite rooms are amazing well stocked bar full english home made cakes a lovely stay great hosts poster bed warm welcome local information breakfast was delicious
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very welcoming. Martyn and Elaine both welcomed us when we arrived.
Our room was comfortable, overlooking the back of the property with a view over the town. Bathroom had a choice of shower gel, shampoo, etc.
The Hillcroft is about 10 minutes down to the seafront, with a lovely promenade walk into the main area of Torquay, which took a further 15 minutes, slow walk. The walk back, to the property, is up hill, takes a little longer, but is manageable.
The breakfast choices was extensive, and cooked to perfection.
We thought the fresh fruit salad bowl was the best we'd ever had in a hotel, with a wide variety of fruit. Lovely touch.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LoveTravel280138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine F, Owner at The Hillcroft - Boutique Unique!, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Most of our rooms have a good view, overlooking Torquay.

If you come again, please book direct by giving us a call or book through our website, using promo code web10 to secure the best prices.

Kind regards
Elaine & Martyn

Tel :- 01803 297247
email:- thehillcroft@outlook.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a great time here, we had a lovely coffee and cake welcome, Martyn showed us on a map places to eat in Torquay. We stayed in the 'india' themed room.. it was lovely especially with having a separate living room area to the bedroom, the bed was massive and very comfy, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. There was also a lovely big bathroom across the hall so you had use.of a bath if you wanted to. Breakfast was excellent (full English) which kept us going for most of the day, also a good choice from the menu including cereal/fruit and orange juice. I would definitely recommend here we had a lovely time. Just to say the bed linen smelled gorgeous. Thanks for a great week.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrandTour647911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine F, Owner at The Hillcroft - Boutique Unique!, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. India has an en-suite shower room and we are happy for guests to make use of the lovely deep bath in the bathroom across the hall .

We hope to see you again sometime, please be sure to book direct through our website for the best rates , or give us a call.
Kind regards
Elaine & Martyn

Tel:- 01803 297247
email:- thehillcroft@outlook.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great location
Enjoyed the hosts and great breakfast.
Central location and great to get around town.
Room was nice and enjoyably quirky.
Parking was a little bit of an issue but hosts helped ease the situation

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Syd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine F, Owner at The Hillcroft - Boutique Unique!, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay . The Hillcroft Boutique Unique! has a car park and plenty of unrestricted parking on the road, so we can always supply parking for guests.

Kind regards
Elaine & Martyn

Tel:- 01803 297247
Email:- thehillcroft@outlook.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

What a lovely hotel, we stayed in room Tuscany and we loved it. Very comfortable bed, beautifully furnished and homely feel. Elaine and Martin were so welcoming and helpful. Best weekend away we have had yet... will definitely return again and would like to experience all the different themed rooms in time! Thanks for a wonderful break.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine F, Owner at The Hillcroft - Boutique Unique!, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thanks Claire and Darren for your review, it was good meeting you. We like guests to make the most of their break by suggesting places to visit also restaurants, bars etc. We hope to see you again sometime, please book direct for the best prices, you can also discuss which room you would like to try next time!

Kind regards
Elaine & Martyn
Tel:- 01803 297247

email:- thehillcroft@outlook.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Our we had a lovely weekend break here! Elaine and Martyn are very friendly hosts and gave us some advise on local restaurants and bars with their knowledge of the area. Our suite was clean and couldn’t be faulted, with lots of lovely little touches. Breakfast was delicious, with vegetarian and dairy free options as well as a full English. It is situated within walking distance of the beach and harbour and boasts beautiful views. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in a unique B&B that provides a refreshing change from mundane chain hotels! Thank you for a great weekend!
Deanna & Tom.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine F, Owner at The Hillcroft - Boutique Unique!, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you Deanna and Tom, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are quite right, we are in a great location, close to the seafront, harbour and shops but in a quiet residential area!.
As a vegetarian myself, I have developed a different vegetarian option which has proved to be popular , we can also offer vegan options as well as the standard traditional English breakfast.

Kind regards
Elaine & Martyn
Tel:- 01803 297247

email:- thehillcroft@outlook.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews