We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay and Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
Ranked #75 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Gloucester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay and Highly Recommended”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We decided to book a weeks holiday at the Cranborne after reading the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. We were instantly taken care of as we stepped through the door after a 2 and a half hour trip, as we were welcomed with a nice cup of tea. The proprietors, Mandy and Leighton were lovely people who made everyone feel at home. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were very friendly and knowledgeable of the Torbay area. You wouldn't think that they had just taken over the Hotel in April as everything appeared to run like clockwork.

The room was just the right size, with a lovely shower and even a fridge. As the temperatures during our weeks stay was well into the low 80's, this was a welcomed addition. The hotel decor was tasteful and well kept. Breakfasts were a high point and the owners went out of their way to accommodate our every need - even offering to go and get anything we needed as one of us is vegetarian. The menu however already catered for both of us and was delicious.

We really felt at home here and it was nice that Leighton and Mandy would take the time out of their busy schedule to sit down and have a chat about places to go.

We would recommend without hesitation this lovely, well placed hotel. Just a few minutes walk from the seafront and on a hill that is not too steep. We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Torquay and will recommend The Cranborne to our friends.

Thank you Leighton and Mandy for your hospitality during our stay.

Dave and Sally - Gloucester

Room Tip: We were placed at the back of the hotel which according to the other reviews is quieter than being o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frog-and-Newt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton W, Owner at Cranborne Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Dave & Sally,
Thank you very much for your very kind review we are both glad you really enjoyed your stay,
it was a pleasure having you stay at cranborne. you are both very welcome to stay with us in the
future.
Thanks again and all the best
Leighton & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    15
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
73
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our first holiday in Torquay but most definitely not our last. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by Leighton and his wife Mandy with refreshments readily available. The guest house is colourful and welcoming and dare I say it the breakfasts may well become legendary. The rooms are bright, modern and very clean. The hospitality that Leighton and Mandy offer along with their knowledge of the local area gives an air of being experienced guest house proprietors. This is not so, this is their first venture and as of writing this review ( 5/7/2013 ) they have been working in this business for less than four months. My wife and I will go back to the Cranborne in the near future and who know's, this may just be the start of an annual holiday to Torquay and it's beautiful surrounding towns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton W, Owner at Cranborne Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Mike & Tracy,
Thank you both for your very kind review,we are both glad you enjoyed your stay and you are very welcome to stay anytime in the future.
Thanks again and all the best.
Leighton and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Myself and 'The Wife' arrived very early following our 240-odd mile drive down from Lancashire. The lovely hosts allowed us to check in 2 hours early, and even offered us a cold drink on arrival, which made an excellent first impression and was very appreciated. Seeing me red-faced and out of breath, the host even offered to carry my bulging suitcase up the four flights of stairs to our room!

The standard double room was perfectly adequate for us both, compact, neat & tidy and very clean.The guest house is in a convenient location for seeing the sights around the harbour, with the beach & town centre only a short walk away. We're talking 10 minutes at a gentle stroll!

The breakfast is something else, the two hosts can cook to an unbelievable standard! Not usually a fry-up kind of guy, but I ate everything put in front of me, and the menu has lots of lighter options too.

Obviously, this is a big old house, so there are a few creaks here and there, and the traffic noise can be a little intrusive. However, this issue is addressed via the complimentary ear-plugs provided on the bedside tables, and it would only be a problem if you were a particularly light sleeper. A very, very minor thing but worth mentioning.

We would 100% stay here again, wouldn't even bother looking at anywhere else in this area.

May thanks you two for a great little stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAndAbigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton W, Owner at Cranborne Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Lee & Abigail,
Thank you both very much for your fantastic review, me and mandy are both so glad you enjoyed
your stay.You are both very welcome to come stay anytime in the future.
Thanks again and take care.
Leighton & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights. On arriving, we were offered a drink whilst we waited in the lovely lounge, and were then offered help carrying our bags up the stairs.

Everyone there is so helpful, nothing is too much trouble, and we were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast is lush too! And location is great.

Only downfall may be the small bathroom and it was quite noisy at times however ear plugs are provided (to be fair, we didn't use them so it can't have been that bad!:)) There are also only three parking spaces which is a first come first serve basis however there is a cheap car park two minutes down the road.

The place is lovely, and everything is thought of down to the tiny details.

Thank you so much for having us and providing such a lovely stay!! We would definitly stay again!

Many thanks :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton W, Owner at Cranborne Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
HI,
Thank you for your kind review and comments about our guest house, you are very welcome to
stay anytime in the future.
Leighton & mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted with a mug of tea or juice which ever we preferred. Was a lovely gesture which was then followed by a showing to our room with the offer of carrying our bags. The room was lovely with lush decoration. Very nice to have the option of opening windows and a fan. The only disappointment was the small bathroom and electric toilet. Little details right down to the tea making facilities are excellent. The location was perfect for us as we thoroughly enjoyed the walks to the harbour. The walls aren't sound proof so you can hear people walking up and down the stairs which was a downfall but overall I would definitely return. Friendly staff and an incredible breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Cranborne for 1 night. The room was very clean and tidy, however the bathroom was a bit small. The owners were very welcoming and breakfast the next morning was excellent. Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pridrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for one night for a quick break and loved our stay! Met by Dean and Richard in a lovely way and they upgraded our room for us which they told us when we arrived. (very kind).
Had a superb stay and would recommend.
Room = Lovely decor, clean, lovely shower, tea and coffee supplied
Breakfast = YUM! and even a veggie option for me and cooked separate in a different pan which was a lovely gesture.
Bar = gorgeous little bar, lovely decor, cosy and intimate
Cleanliness = extremely clean which was lovely (we are quite fussy with cleanliness)
Atmosphere = welcoming, relaxing, lovely lounge room to chill out in
Parking = some spaces behind
Hosts = SUPERB, kind, friendly, nothing was to much trouble
WOULD RECOMMEND AND WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN, THANK YOU BOTH SO MUCH X

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiesurfercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranborne096, Owner at Cranborne Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Sophie and John,

Thank you very much for your lovely review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Cranborne and we hope to see you both again.

Best Wishes,

Dean and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Norwood Guest House
The Norwood Guest House
#52 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cranmore Guesthouse
Cranmore Guesthouse
#83 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#59 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
74Belgravia
74Belgravia
#88 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#64 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranborne Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranborne Guest Accommodation

Property: Cranborne Guest Accommodation
Address: 58 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranborne Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cranborne is a magnificent Victorian residence offering quality guest accommodation, an oasis of calm where you can escape, and relax when in Torquay on either business or pleasure. Perfectly situated on prestigious Belgrave Road in the heart of Torquay, Cranborne is an ideal base for exploring the charm and elegance of this wonderful English Riviera resort with the majority of amenities within walking distance. When staying at Cranborne you can unwind in the guest lounge with sumptuous sofas and contemporary decor. Cranborne's breakfasts are served in the elegant dining room where you can enjoy a hearty English breakfast, cooked using locally sourced ingredients (where possible) with vegetarian options. Accommodation at Cranborne consists of 9 luxury guest rooms including Doubles, Twins and Singles that all boast elegant furnishings, subtle lighting, clean uncluttered decor complemented by designer bedding,free WI-FI access, silent mini fridge, multi-channel/flat screen televisions, beverage making facilities, complementary toiletries and everything else you should need for a pleasurable stay. Cranborne has been awarded 4 stars by Enjoy England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Cranborne Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranborne Hotel Torquay
Cranborne Guest Accommodation Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing