We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked because of TV series - grateful for the investment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Booked because of TV series - grateful for the investment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I won't deny it, I booked this hotel solely due to watching the amusing series 'The Hotel' on Channel 4. Thankfully a change of owner and subsequent investment means that your experience at this hotel will be far from that shown on television.

First impressions last, and the physical layout of reception is frustrating. When you walk into the reception area from your room, to get to the receptionist you may have to walk down stairs to merely walk up more to make whatever request or enquiry you have. This is tiresome and loses The Grosvenor a TripAdvisor 'blob' due to the amount of times it's repeated during one's stay.

Aside from that, there is nothing to find fault with. The staff are professional, the chambermaid services excellent and the room I had was more like a suite. A spacious bathroom topped it all off and the breakfast was piping hot. This is one of only two hotels I've stayed in during the last three years which has been this generous in the amount of tea and coffee provided - this leaves a great impression.

This hotel is NOTHING like that shown on television and is recommended especially if you think you need to lose weight - walking up and down stairs in reception will provide you with ample exercise.

Room Tip: There is a suite with a double room and twin room connected with a corridor. I can't remember my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear ConsumerBloke,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am extremely please that you enjoyed your stay and do understand your frustrations with the amount of stairs around the building. Unfortunately, due to the general layout of the building, this is something that for the moment we are unable to do anything about, but we do have in our plans, a schedule to improve our reception/lobby area and lounge.

Richardson Hotels pride themselves on giving good value for money - and I am so pleased that you got exactly what you expected in all areas of the hotel.

We do hope you visit us again and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    375
    142
    70
    63
See reviews for
196
518
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed for Two Nights.
Great location near to Seafront.
Very Clean room.
Good Bar with Entertainment by the duo G&T.
Excellent food.
All the Staff very Polite, Efficient and Friendly, Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Big improvement from the previous owners disastrous TV show.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hot-Blast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Hot-Blast,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and I am very pleased to see that you had a good time. We have live entertainment on 6 nights a week and try to get a little something for everyone.

We also pride ourselves on having great standards, staff and customer service!

We do look foward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

just came back from a wonderful week end there stayed in room 1 very clean lovely room staff excellent and so friendly food breakfast and dinner was wonderful would recommend to anyone to stay there staff make your stay wonderful as helpful and friendly nothing to much trouble thank you all for a wonderful stay hope to see you soon

Room Tip: if disabled or cant manage stairs ak for rooms 1 2 or 3 all on ground level just 4 stairs to room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindywindywoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear cindywindywoos,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lovely night here, fantastic room, lovely cream tea, light bite for lunch was top notch. Food for evening meal looked fantastic. Breakfast a little unorganised but was very busy. Staff very polite, helpful and friendly. Will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJW691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear PJW691,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, room and food and that the staff were so helpful & friendly. The Richardson motto is 'Where memories are made' and we do strive to always achieve this.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Booked very late for D,B&B for two nights and got a fantastic deal. Premium room was a good size with views across Torbay. Bed fairly comfortable but mattress a bit springy - a Hypnos mattress would have secured a very high comfort rating. We had second floor room and while we could manage without a lift, this could prove tricky for the elderly - to be fair the hotel did say there was no lift. Overall the decor is in need of improvement but the new (ish) owners will no doubt get around to this eventually.
The catering arrangements were a bit unusual in that breakfast was served in a lower ground room near the kitchen but dinner was served in another dining area on a higher floor. This meant that staff serving dinner were rushing up and down a whole flight of stairs with the food and orders - the food however was always piping hot, a testament to the fitness of the staff! As to the food itself, the three course dinner was generally OK and very edible but some dishes comprised of just meat and one veg (no potato,for example). Breakfast comprised a good range of fruit/cereals and wide choice of cooked food to suit all tastes.
At the time of our stay there was also a coach party of around 50 at the hotel. There seemed to be only 2/3 staff to cope with the numbers and while they worked their best it would clearly have been better with more help, it was just so disappointing that a hotel so good in many respects was,like many hotels, keeping staff costs to the absolute minimum. Their efforts were not helped by the failure to do a pre-meal table check - we lost count of the number of times the settings were short of certain cutlery in both dining areas and butter was never on the table for dinner but delivered subsequently and rock hard from the fridge. At dinner time these "little things" meant the staff having to go up and down a flight of stairs every time to put matters right and it inevitably added to the time taken to complete the meal.
There was absolutely no problem with the dining room staff who were friendly, helpful and somehow managed to engage with guests despite the obvious pressure. Other staff were also keen to ensure guest comfort and it is clear they are the golden asset at the Grosvenor - they just need to be matched with some improvement in the fabric of the building, which will hopefully include new catering arrangements.

Room Tip: If fit go for second floor Premium room (it's worth the little extra) on South side to avoid noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Bob P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all feedback - good and bad so that we can see the areas that we need to concentrate on.

I assure you that although we of course do need to monitor our costs, we never jeopardise our customer service or satisfaction for this. I have noted that there have been issues with our breakfast service and this has already been addressed and improved.

Unfortunately, due to the layout of the hotel, we are unable to install a lift, but we do have disabled friendly rooms along with stair lifts for guests who are less able to manage the stairs. We do acknowledge that there are still improvements to be made within the hotel and I assure you that all these areas will be addressed in the coming months.

I do hope that you will consider returning to us and if you wish to discuss further, please contact me directly on gm.grosvenor@richardsonhotels.co.uk.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We only had 1 night at the Grosvenor but have to say the whole experience was perfect right from the start at reception the staff were very friendly and helpful and you felt at home straight away, nothing was too much trouble and they had a knack of answering all questions before you had even asked very impressed. Our room was a Premium family room and Premium it was, it was a large grand room with high ceilings a double bed and a single, a settee and 2 chairs also a dressing table and plenty of wardrobe space the beds were very comfortable and it was decadently decorated very nice. The bathroom was also a lovely size the room was very clean and comfortable it was a shame we only had 1 night there. Breakfast in the garden room was was plentiful and had everything you needed the staff were extremely helpful as well ,and nothing was too much trouble overall we had a very pleasant stay at the grosvenor and would certainly stay again .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyosullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear tracyosullivan1,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, room and food and that the staff were so helpful & friendly. The Richardson motto is 'Where memories are made' and we do strive to always achieve this.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here before a couple of years ago I was very happy.

Then when it has been taking over by mark I was disappointed and said I would never visit again because he had ruined the place.

Then when I heard it had been taking over again. I thought I would give it another chance and I'm glad I did.

The new people have done such a good job there are still a few more things to do.

I was happy with the stay they service was very good. I will be returning

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vdubgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Vdubgolf,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

It's always great to see that guests had a nice time and that you noticed the improvements that are being made - which are on-going.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing