We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fantastic staff!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lovely night here, fantastic room, lovely cream tea, light bite for lunch was top notch. Food for evening meal looked fantastic. Breakfast a little unorganised but was very busy. Staff very polite, helpful and friendly. Will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJW691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear PJW691,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, room and food and that the staff were so helpful & friendly. The Richardson motto is 'Where memories are made' and we do strive to always achieve this.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    386
    147
    71
    63
See reviews for
203
538
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Booked very late for D,B&B for two nights and got a fantastic deal. Premium room was a good size with views across Torbay. Bed fairly comfortable but mattress a bit springy - a Hypnos mattress would have secured a very high comfort rating. We had second floor room and while we could manage without a lift, this could prove tricky for the elderly - to be fair the hotel did say there was no lift. Overall the decor is in need of improvement but the new (ish) owners will no doubt get around to this eventually.
The catering arrangements were a bit unusual in that breakfast was served in a lower ground room near the kitchen but dinner was served in another dining area on a higher floor. This meant that staff serving dinner were rushing up and down a whole flight of stairs with the food and orders - the food however was always piping hot, a testament to the fitness of the staff! As to the food itself, the three course dinner was generally OK and very edible but some dishes comprised of just meat and one veg (no potato,for example). Breakfast comprised a good range of fruit/cereals and wide choice of cooked food to suit all tastes.
At the time of our stay there was also a coach party of around 50 at the hotel. There seemed to be only 2/3 staff to cope with the numbers and while they worked their best it would clearly have been better with more help, it was just so disappointing that a hotel so good in many respects was,like many hotels, keeping staff costs to the absolute minimum. Their efforts were not helped by the failure to do a pre-meal table check - we lost count of the number of times the settings were short of certain cutlery in both dining areas and butter was never on the table for dinner but delivered subsequently and rock hard from the fridge. At dinner time these "little things" meant the staff having to go up and down a flight of stairs every time to put matters right and it inevitably added to the time taken to complete the meal.
There was absolutely no problem with the dining room staff who were friendly, helpful and somehow managed to engage with guests despite the obvious pressure. Other staff were also keen to ensure guest comfort and it is clear they are the golden asset at the Grosvenor - they just need to be matched with some improvement in the fabric of the building, which will hopefully include new catering arrangements.

Room Tip: If fit go for second floor Premium room (it's worth the little extra) on South side to avoid noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Bob P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all feedback - good and bad so that we can see the areas that we need to concentrate on.

I assure you that although we of course do need to monitor our costs, we never jeopardise our customer service or satisfaction for this. I have noted that there have been issues with our breakfast service and this has already been addressed and improved.

Unfortunately, due to the layout of the hotel, we are unable to install a lift, but we do have disabled friendly rooms along with stair lifts for guests who are less able to manage the stairs. We do acknowledge that there are still improvements to be made within the hotel and I assure you that all these areas will be addressed in the coming months.

I do hope that you will consider returning to us and if you wish to discuss further, please contact me directly on gm.grosvenor@richardsonhotels.co.uk.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We only had 1 night at the Grosvenor but have to say the whole experience was perfect right from the start at reception the staff were very friendly and helpful and you felt at home straight away, nothing was too much trouble and they had a knack of answering all questions before you had even asked very impressed. Our room was a Premium family room and Premium it was, it was a large grand room with high ceilings a double bed and a single, a settee and 2 chairs also a dressing table and plenty of wardrobe space the beds were very comfortable and it was decadently decorated very nice. The bathroom was also a lovely size the room was very clean and comfortable it was a shame we only had 1 night there. Breakfast in the garden room was was plentiful and had everything you needed the staff were extremely helpful as well ,and nothing was too much trouble overall we had a very pleasant stay at the grosvenor and would certainly stay again .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyosullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear tracyosullivan1,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, room and food and that the staff were so helpful & friendly. The Richardson motto is 'Where memories are made' and we do strive to always achieve this.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here before a couple of years ago I was very happy.

Then when it has been taking over by mark I was disappointed and said I would never visit again because he had ruined the place.

Then when I heard it had been taking over again. I thought I would give it another chance and I'm glad I did.

The new people have done such a good job there are still a few more things to do.

I was happy with the stay they service was very good. I will be returning

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vdubgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Vdubgolf,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

It's always great to see that guests had a nice time and that you noticed the improvements that are being made - which are on-going.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and from the start we were made welcome, the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely and comfortable with a lovely bathroom, we had an evening meal,3 courses for 12 pounds and it was lovely, breakfast was fantastic ,with cereals fruit ,toast and a full English and again the staff were excellent and attentive ,really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We had a low room ,number 7 it had a view of the carpal ,but on a plus it got the sun all day, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vangiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear vangiemac,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

It's always great to see that guests have had a nice time!

I do hope you will be visiting us again soon as we will look forward to welcoming you back here.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel it looked like it had seen better days, but once we got in the staff were very friendly and very helpful, in fact all the staff there are very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there the food was really good and the room very clean. The Hotel still needs a lot of TLC but it didnt stop us enjoying our stay there, would recommend this hotel and its great value for money. The only problem we had was the shower in the bathroom it was attached to the bath taps and the flow wasnt too good and the water was either running very cold or very hot, that being said I would still go and stay there again

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lower number i.e. 1-3 are very good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear 777mitch,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

I do appreciate you comments and am so pleased to read that you have a good time whilst staying here.

The hotel is still awaiting further improvements which will take place in the near future. We he already renovated all of our guest bedrooms and will be focussing out our public areas next.

I hope you will consider returning to us and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We (a dozen or so sea fishing enthusiasts from London) have been staying here twice a year for a long weekend for a few years now and love the place. We get a good rate for a large group booking made months in advance and pay £50 - £60 pp for Fri/Sat 2 nights in May and September which is fantastic vfm. The hotel is constantly improving its facilities and accommodation and the rooms have just undergone another upgrade and redecoration. The breakfast is very good with a wide range of unlimited cereals, fruits, dairy produce, toast and preserves, juices and tea and coffee as well as a hearty cooked breakfast. The management and staff are very friendly and helpful and they help create a very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The bar and ballrooms are usually quite lively at weekends with weddings and other functions being held there and we have enjoyed some very good evenings at The Grosvenor. All our rooms are well furnished, spotlessly clean and spacious with en-suite, TV, tea/coffee facilities and WiFi and are situated far enough away from the bar and ballrooms to ensure that a noise free and peaceful sleep is enjoyed by all and I am finding it hard to pick fault with the place. I've never seen the TV show but, from what I have heard, it paints it as a quirky, disorganised establishment striving to survive. Quirky it is (in all the best possible ways), disorganised it isn't (it is very well run and we have never seen fit to complain about any issue) and I hope it will outlive me because I don't think I would continue going on these fishing trips if we were not staying there (or eating at the best fish bistro in the UK that is Number 7 - an absolute must if you visit Torquay). Phone/Email direct (rather than use comparison sites) to get the best rates and enjoy your stay. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjjoyner j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear ianjjoyner j,

Thank you so much for you lovely comments!

We are all so pleased that you continue to enjoy your stay time after time and It's always great to welcome back repeat guests.

We will again look forward to welcoming you and your group back very very soon.

Kind Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing