We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“genuiene welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“genuiene welcome”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

all staff were friendly and went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. Issues when raised were resolved quickly and efficiently .Excellent food and hotel clean. would stay again. Please keep up the good work.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are lovely bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear AandE2014,

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am always really pleased to see that a guest had a fantastic stay and that the staff assisted you wherever possible.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    392
    148
    71
    64
See reviews for
206
548
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The staff in the Grosvenor hotel in Torquay were the best and by far the most friendly I have come across. The rooms were very good and spotless. The food was good and we had a wonderful weekend 25th to 27th April 2014. Thanks to everyone who was there on this weekend for making it so good.

Room Tip: no. 23 is a really big room with a lovely bathroom but on the top floor so need to be agile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Lesley M,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel for the weekend and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had a lovely weekend at the Grosvenor. It is a new hotel for the Richardson Group but the friendly atmosphere was the same as we have experienced at the other hotels in the group. We were so pleased with our stay that we booked for our daughter & husband to have night away a few weeks later. We still continue to be fans of this professionally run hotel group.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear D B,

Thank you so much for your positive review, It's always great to receive lovely feedback!

I do hope you will return soon and we look forward to personally welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked a room at the hotel purely because we are massive fans of the tv show, we were really happy to see that despite the renovation the hotel still appears similar to how it was portrayed in the show and the decoration has massively improved its appearance. The staff were amazing everyone we encountered was lovely and they left us with a lasting impression. The only minor gripe we had is that our shower was a bit of a pain to get to a reasonable temperature and it wasn't very powerful but other than that we could not complain about our room, the bed was massive and so comfortable and we had a lovely big bathroom. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Torquay next year

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katexoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Katexoxox,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

As you are probably aware, the hotel has undergone a huge transformation over the last 18 months and we have modernised all of our guest bedrooms. There is still works in place to update the hotel further and this will continue until all areas up to the Richardson Hotel's standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back here next year!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Grosvenor Hotel ,Torquay for our Nephews Wedding and we were very impressed .The moment we walked in we were greeted by a smile and the tone continued throughout our stay.The whole experience of relaxing and enjoying yourself on a seaside break was out of this world.The staff were very helpful ,polite, always reassuring ,and to were the Managers.The food was absolutely delicious ,and the hotel room was first class.This is absolutely
a Hotel to recommend.

Room Tip: Very Good,nothing is to much trouble and one not to miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERTL1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear ROBERTL1953,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments and feedback you have given us. We are always striving to ensure guest's have a fantastic holiday and I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Grosvenor very soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Grosvenor for my wife's 50th birthday weekend,and we are glad we did.
The minute we walked in we was greeted with a smile and that set the tone for all the staff over our stay,nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed fairly early into the season,however,the entertainment that was there was very good indeed. The atmosphere in the bar was great,and we had a great time.
Our room was lovely and had everything we needed and was very clean and was kept that way,thanks.
The location of the hotel was perfect,within minutes walking distance of the sea.
The new 'Keith's Diner' serves lovely food with a great american feel,good portions too,for a reasonable price.
All in all a great hotel,wonderful staff and we would highly recommend visiting.
Many thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Dale D D,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent stay here with us.

I am so pleased to read that you both had such a wonderful time and for such a special occasion too! Keith's Diner is a new addition to the Richardson Group's portfolio and has been extremely well received, so I am delighted that you too enjoyed the 'Diner experience'

We are always striving to ensure that guest's have a fantastic time and I do look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The grosvenour was a first choice when choosing a hotel to stay in due to watching a programme about it and hearing that it had a new owner and was doing extremely well. The staff are just lovely! They go above and beyond for their guests and are always very welcomng caring. The hotel room itself was immaculate and extremely clean. I was very surprised at how light the room was and airy. The view from the room was perfect as we could see the sea from it easily and loved looking at the surroundings. The bar was lovely and entertainment was very good as helped lighten the mood. Was a lovely place to catch up with a friend who also decided to stay at the grosvenour due to the very reasonable and cheap prices for easter weekend. The night porter was very jelpful and served us at the bar when the bar staff had gone. The hotel throughout is very clean and well kept. Breakfast was very lovely and staff were all so welcoming and caring. Staff allowed you to get sat down and get yours a drink nefore asking what hot breakfast you wanted. I had a full english breakfast which was lovely as had a bit of everything and tasted lovely only apart from the sausages which seemed not a fresh as the rest but this didn't make any difference to the lovely service and quality of the hotel. I'm really looking forward to anotjer stay very soon.

Room Tip: We were ment to have a standard double room but were given the optional to upgrade for £10 which we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops M, Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Bethany,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay and that the staff made it even more special for you.

We have spent a great deal of time modernising the hotel rooms and am pleased that you commented so positively about them.

I have passed on your great feedback to all the team and I do hope that you will be visiting us again soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing