We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annie Oakley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stop at this hotel. On arrival the reception was staffed by 2 lovely young ladies, especially Farah who could not do enough for you. We were given our key to room 19 which was on the 1st floor, to say we were disappointed was an understatement, The room was very old fashioned, the bathroom had supposedly been updated, ok there were new tiles on the wall but the taps were out of the ark! To adjust the shower we must have used 10 gallons of water, before you got the temperature right. The room was never cleaned or bins emptied, and no towels changed. On a better note the breakfast was fine, plenty of choice.
The waiting staff were very friendly & helpful. No doubt once the refurbishment is completed, it will be a nice hotel, but not at the moment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

How disappointed I was to read that we did not provide the level of service that has become the norm in this instance and I apologise enormously that we did not service your room during your stay. This is a hiccup on our behalf and that is very unsatisfying and I apologise on behalf of my housekeeping team. I am glad that you found breakfast to your liking as the introduction of the new buffet has been well received by all. I have checked the hot water personally and had no problem receiving sufficient hot water so I must investigate further. In the meantime, thank you very much for your valued comments and I assure you I will speak to my teams on monitoring these annoyances more successfully. Daryl and my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had 3 nights in the Grosvenor mid October, having twice been to other Richardsons hotels in the past and found them very good. Because of this we found this stay somewhat disappointing, we understand that this hotel has only been owned by Richardsons for about one year and still has much work to do. Our room No11 was fine, the shower in bathroom was no good to shower as there were no wall fittings to place the shower head on, also no shower curtain. Restaurant was misplaced as the kitchen was on a lower floor. no lift should need it. Evening meals very disappointing,our second evening meal was so bad that my wife could not eat it and we complained to our waiter Fabio who was very apologetic and offered us a bottle of wine for our next evening meal. We were also compensated by refunding our meal cost. The deputy supervisor 'Toni' was extremely helpful at sorting out the various problems, and all the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allanS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear sirs . Many thanks for your valued comments regarding your 3 night break with us here at the Grosvenor . i was sorry to read of the situation you had regarding the food offering during your stay, all of the Richardson Hotels within the group work extremely hard to attain Rosette status and having eaten in all of them i can certainly vouch for their quality.Unfortunately we are only commencing our journey at the early stages of our journey and currently aim to provide a good quality meal at a price that is reasonable and affordable.We do not currently have any opportunity to aspire to the othe hotels standards. I was impressed to read how your problem was dealt with by my team as it suggests it was dealt with professionally and with empathy.We will continue to work very hard to satisfy our guests and with the introduction of our new delicious buffet at breakfast time and the fact we now import our home made bread rolls from the Grand Hotels bakery which we introduced today we will continue to strive week on week to improve the food offering to our guests. Many thanks for your valued comments .Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband, beagle and I stayed at the Grosvenor for two nights on the weekend of 11th-12th October 13. My mum had booked our room as a Birthday treat as we loved watching 'The Hotel' on Channel 4 earlier in the year. We had a fantastic time!

The reception staff were very friendly upon checking us in and out and couldn't do enough for us the whole time we were there. When we asked if we could have our breakfast in our room (as the dog would howl the whole hotel down if we left him alone in the room) they happily agreed and the breakfast was delicious.

We were in room No 1 which was huge, had the biggest bed we had ever seen, plenty of tea and coffee and a clean bathroom with plenty of towels.

The location of the Grosvenor is brilliant - really close to the seafront and a short walk to the harbour.

Although we didn't eat in the restaurant (as no dogs were allowed), the food looked amazing and the carvery on the Sunday lunchtime smelt delicious!

There was entertainment both evenings up until 11 (which was a pleasant surprise when staggering home from the Harbour after a meal and a few beers) and friendly bar staff who served until late.

A great stay at a great hotel, it's just a shame Mark wasn’t there to cause the havoc and mayhem we watched on TV!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

What can i say but a very big thank you for the glowing tributes to our efforts to look after you and beagle last weekend.It was lovely to read of the fantastic comments yet again regarding the girls in reception and your right the carvery on the Sunday smells delicious as it wafts through the lounge and at £9.95 buy one get one free it is no wonder the place is a hive of activity on a Sunday afternoon.We value all our guests and there opportunity to comment on the service and the hospitality we provide and it certainly reads that we are aiming in the right direction.We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Me and my friend decided to visit after seeing the TV show. On arrival the reception was really helpful and although our room was not available the receptionist called house keeping to get it done straight away while we had a drink in the bar. We had an amazing dinner in the Inn followed by a fantastic night in the bar with great entertainment. The room was big although we had a few issues with the bathroom which maintenance did there best to sort out. I had such a good time I have booked again to take my partner for the weekend.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Beckie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Sirs, thank you for your kind comments in reference to your stay here with us for 2 nights last week, I was pleased to read that the helpful reception team got you into your room before the official arrival time as it is a priority to get you settled as quickly as possible into your accommodation.
I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the food we have on offer and that you enjoyed the entertainment, having entertainment 6 nights a week certainly is a benefit to all our customers.
myself and my team work extremely hard to make sure all our guests have a relaxing time and we look forward to doing the same on your most welcome return. Daryl the General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Grosvenor Hotel. We booked before friends had told us that the hotel was featured on tv & we were a little apprehensive. But our first impression as we entered our room was 'whow' ! The room had recently been refurbished & although we booked a standard double were given a family room with large ensuite bathroom. We made use of all the facilities pool etc a real bargain break for 3 nights B&B, we explored as much of the local area but ran out of time to see every thing ! Although the hotel is under going a massive refurbishment this didnt interfere with our stay. Daryl the general manager is a credit to the company as nothing was too much trouble the same for all the staff always helpful. We will certainly be back asap & would recommend to all. Good luck with the refurb ! N & R Foster

Room Tip: state exactly what your requirements are . No lifts so if you dont want to be on top floor if you ha...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Sirs, many thanks for the personal note in reference to my hospitality and the lovely comments referring to your three night stay. There is certainly a lot of things to get out and see in Devon and I was pleased that after all your travelling you were able to relax and unwind in our indoor pool and then enjoy the dinner and entertainment of an evening in our Brasserie and bar area.
All the staff work extremely well together and get lots of lovely comments in reference to their service and friendliness so your comments are well received by all concerned.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Many thanks, Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited for two nights bed & breakfast and although the hotel is in the process of being updated we were not inconvienced in any way. All the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, the twin room we were given was large and comfortable and the breakfast was extremely good. I have no hestitation in recommending this hotel as the current deals are outstanding. I wish them well once the hotel has been completely upgraded.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments in reference to your stay with your group of 21 guests .We did indeed make a small mistake in getting you all in at the same time for dinner and i was glad that Karen rectified this quickly. Karen has a wealth of knowledge that we all benefit from at the hotel and she is a valueable asset to us all. Fabio still amazes me with his attitude to service that is recognised regularly and now it seems i must thank him for his dancing prowess. Seriously,many thanks for your company for the three nights and it will be another pleasure to look after you when you return. Daryl and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I took a party of 21 people to The Grosvenor after seeing it on the TV, we had a fantastic 2 night stay, we did have a very chaotic start for our first meal, having us all turn up at the same time must have sent the kitchen into a panic ?? but Karen ( duty manager ) and Fabio were excellent at resolving the situation. Karen was also a star by arranging Bingo for us all and Fabio well done for joining us in the Conga !!!!!
All in all the whole party had a wonderful time,it'll be much better when all the rooms have been decorated . We look forward to returning.
Thanks for a blast !!!
Julie B

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ddarylb, Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments in reference to your stay with your group of 21 guests .We did indeed make a small mistake in getting you all in at the same time for dinner and i was glad that Karen rectified this quickly. Karen has a wealth of knowledge that we all benefit from at the hotel and she is a valueable asset to us all. Fabio still amazes me with his attitude to service that is recognised regularly and now it seems i must thank him for his dancing prowess. Seriously,many thanks for your company for the three nights and it will be another pleasure to look after you when you return. Darul and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,953 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $98 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing