We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

They were in the process of painting the building when my son and I stayed for 3 nights at the start of July. Room 2 is excellent as can be observed in the photo's. Other areas are in need of TLC, but are clean and the DBB deal is excellent value for money, with a delicious three course meal in the evening! I had whitebait, fish and chips, then Ice cream in a brandy snap biscuit, delicious. Waiting staff were very attentive and breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very large and recently decorated!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suelondon1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, room 2 is an amazing room, we are currently decorating all the communal areas along with the outside of the hotel. I hope you will return in the near future to see all the improvements we have made.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Snowball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our second time at the Grosvenor and the breakfast gets even better.Just a nice distance from the town centre(10 min) so no need to use our car while in Torquay. Staff were very helpful and our only complaint was the lack of bar staff in the evening. We saw 3 couples come in together and walk out without having a drink as there was nobody serving at that moment.
Our local pub has 2 rooms and at quiet times there is only one server but they have a bell on the counter so you can attract the staff--may be something to think about as nobody can afford too many staff nowadays.
Considering what you pay this is a very good and clean hotel for the money.

See you next year.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BerylandRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I hope you will be back as we have invested more in to the hotel over the last few weeks and we are improving day by day. Thank you for your input with regards to bar staff. We have now recruited another bar staff to help this situation, as we are now picking up. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Snowball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Booked this hotel as a mid way point for our holiday to Cornwall, thought we'd upgrade so booked a premier room as it was my wifes' birthday. On arrival the receptionist told this was not available and they had given us a standard room with no further explanation other than it was double booked and adjusted the price accordingly. A phone call or information when booking would have been appreciated and we'd have gone elsewhere. Room was at the front of the hotel, and had to have the window open as it was a hot day and the room was like a furnace. Bathroom was acceptable but not particularly well cared for and needed redecoration and new fittings. The whole hotel was hot and fairly uncomfortable. The restuarant staff were friendly and helpful enough and it was a decent breakfast. Parking on site was a bonus even though the outside of the building was being painted and a few bays suspended. Pity the cherry picker started up at 8 am. This hotel is old and in some parts very tired it needs a good revamp and air con or at least heating turned off to bring it up to my expectations of a nice hotel. Won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamP1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will be looking in to the error in your booking to find out why this has happened so I can ensure this doesn’t occur again. I am happy to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the cherry picker at 8am, I have addressed this issue and have made sure that they do not start any work outside until after 10am. The hotel is dated but we are moving quickly to resolve this. I do hope you will try the hotel again in the future as we are putting a lot of investment in to become the best family, friendly hotel in Torquay.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Snowball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading some bad reviews some people clearly shouldn't be so fussy as they have great offers on to reflect the dated rooms that they are currently working on so it is excellent value for money. We Stayed here for 2 nights dbb and loved it. Sat by the pool most days which was so warm it was like getting into a bath. Staff were brilliant and very helpful. Dinner meals were very nice but felt sorry for the 2 young lads running around they could of done with a extra pair of hands to help with serving and taking orders. Breakfast was served a lot quicker. We stayed in room 18 yes it was dated but most importantly it was clean!! Clean towels every day and room was cleaned too....there was a iron burn on the carpet but that didn't bother us in the slightest after all we only slept in the room as the weather was so nice we were out all the time. Bar service was brilliant and again staff very helpful. Due to it being so hot when we stayed had to sleep with the windows open and as we were facing the road it was noisy but didn't matter for 2 nights. Will def return to see the improvements the front of the hotel is looking 100% better already as they were doing that when we stayed. Excellent value for money

Room Tip: If you want a nicer room then pay for an upgrade to get one of the newly refurbished rooms although...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review. As you have said we are an honest hotel and we try to base our rates on the standard of room. We are currently renovating all our rooms but this does take some time. We have some beautifully renovated rooms which we do charge a premium for but when guests see them they understand why. We take pride in ensuring the hotel is clean and the food and staff are excellent. We do have some young staff here, but they are so keen and eager they ensure they do their job to the highest standards. I hope you will return to the Grosvenor to see the great improvements we are making on a daily basis.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Snowball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at The Grosvenor Hotel and really enjoyed it. Yes the place is very dated but during our stay they were painting the outside of the building and doing electrical work so they are obviously trying to improve it. We found it to be clean and the staff were lovely.
We will definately return, it is in a good location and it 's a lovely walk into the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niki152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are full steam ahead with improving the hotel, and I hope you will return in the near future to see the great improvements we have made. The team are excellent and they take pride in what they do and how they look after their guests. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Snowball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, staff were very helpful. Our room was number11 on top of the first stairs, room was very dated with old furniture and table lamps everywhere 5 in all. Creaky floor boards and the handle was missing from the one window which could not be shut and the traffic was very noisy. Breakfast was excellent waiting staff were great. Ovarall the hotel was clean with work on the outside being carried out. A bit more attention needed inside which is possibly in the pipeline. We did enjoy our stay and would like to go back in the future and see the improvements.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen_watkins123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I can assure you that work is being completed within the hotel as we speak. I have this week had 5 bedrooms renovated, along with another 5 being completed next week. We have just received the colour schemes for reception, top bar and the Inn so these will be under way shortly. It is a very exciting time for The Grosvenor as it is a beautiful building and just needed some TLC. The food and staff are excellent and with a facelift we cannot go wrong. I do hope you will return to us and you will be able to see these great improvements.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Snowball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here out of curiosity following the channel 4 programe and found it great. The outside is having a facelift and work is going on inside. The young lady on reception was very helpful and pleasant, our room was large and clean, but dated. We ate in the evening at the Inn at the Grosvenor and the food was excellent as was our breakfast, all the staff are young but nothing was too much trouble for them, the only problem was getting a drink at the bar in the evening the lady serving kept disappearing. Hotel in great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deedaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. The hotel is dated but as you have said the workmen are in. They are doing a fantastic job, and ensuring they do not disturb any of our guests on their holiday. We have great facilities along with being in a great location. I have spoken with the bar staff and can assure you that the issue you had has been dealt with. I hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Snowball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $96 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing