We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from four nights at the Grosvenor. Obviously we were attracted by the the television programme as there is a lot of competition from similar hotels in the area but this one exceeded expectations. All the 'stars' have gone and I think the new owner is trying to draw a veil over the hotel's past. There are holes in the walls where the cameras were fitted. The remaining original staff were pretty unimpressed with the filming crew.
We found the staff delightful to deal with and a real asset to the hotel.
We declined the first room offered as being to much of a climb for our 70 year old frames! We ended with family room 3 on the ground floor which is enormous with a spa bath and four poster bed. The adjacent room 2 had the decorators in and is probably a good one to ask for as well.
We had the d,b&b spring offer which was good value.
Breakfast is good albeit on smaller plates to make it look bigger. Dinner was a revelation being well cooked and presented. One poor presentation was the sausage and mash which should be avoided unless guaranteed improved! The bar/lounge is comfortable and snacks and afternoon tea good value. Downstairs there is a nice L-shaped pool with jacuzzi, sauna and gym that is free to use.
Parking is a bit tight but we found a space and claimed it for the duration using our passes to get around on the plentiful buses.
Adjacent to the hotel is a lovely park including a nice little bistro cafe styled like an aussy beach hut. We had a nice little lunch with wine in there.
All in all a nice experience

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently returned from a stay at the famous Grosvener Hotel!The booking was made for us and our expectations were low,having watched the T.V.series (which we did enjoy watching!) However apart from the obvious need for refurbishing we had a pleasant stay.Our room (31)was large , had a good a nice clean modern bathroom (toileteries supplied) and everything we could have needed was in the room.Staff were professional and helpfull.The breakfast was excellent, we could not fault it,We did have dinner on the first night but did not feel it was worth the £15.99 charged.The only real problem was car parking!!This is very inadequate.We were lucky to drive straight into a space and left the car there the whole of our stay and used the bus. do not know what can be done about this! Overall we enjoyed our stay and would like to visit when work is completed but i expect the price will be increased considerably!!! I might add that work is already in progress!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After watching Channel 4's The Hotel, we decided to book a visit. We have just returned, but the atmosphere have totally changed. Richardson Hotels who the Hotel now belongs to recently purchased the Hotel off Mr Jenkins, We knew that the interior quality was not great and the service could be temporary. The reason for our visit was to see this place and all of the staff who had been on TV. Half of the staff have now left - Richardsons doing the only person we found was Elaine. Just like to say Thank You we did have a nice stay but it wasnt the same without Mark, Christian & Alison who used to make this place. :(

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dell470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Excellent hospitality. Staff extremely friendly pleasant and polite . Room clean and sufficient for our needs. Food was very good. Nightly entertainment provided with reasonably priced alcohol. Gym and pool can be accessed free of charge for all guests. Short walk from the beach . Large variety of shops in the Town which is within walking distance. Definitely one that will be revisited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witchy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

we stayed as we watched the program and went for a laugh the price was amazingly cheap £40 per night inc breakfast.the hotel is a bit tired in places but clean and well run the breakfast was ample and good basic quality. the staff were all verry helpfull and could not do enogh for us and were all friendly.the loation is handy for the coast and the town and the hotels own restaurant was good quality reasonably priced food if you dont want to travel far.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddymawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's a very good hotel for the money. I could not believe how professional was the restaurant staff (breakfast and dinner). Shame the reception staff was just OK-ish. They all seem very... fake. Fake smile, fake friendliness . Just not great experience. All the girls at the reception did not seem to be bothered about individual customers. They kept repeating same formula to all customers (3 of us in the queue). The hotel room was good for the money we paid. Our best experience was with restaurant staff at breakfast and dinners, cleaning staff polite, effective and quick. Shame the first and last experience wasn't good (booking in and out).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent two nights in January here. Lovely location but a terrible stay. It might of been that it had just been sold but there was no structure to the hotel and staff. When we checked in the staff treated us like a inconvenience. On the Saturday evening I asked if they had a hairdryer, the receptionist said there is one in the room. If there was I wouldn't need to ask for one!!! She said she would have one sent to my room. It never did come. Evening food was non existent so guests went into town to eat. Breakfast was good although on the Sunday half the guests had to eat in the bar as the restaurant was full. Still no sign of management, it was left to the waiting staff to apologise and deal with the complaints. It would help to have a welcome pack in the room. Hopefully the new owners will make this a good hotel to match the beautiful location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PerriSBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,431 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,953 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $96 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing