We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Room of Doom 32”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Saw the TV show thought it would be cheap and cheerful. First arrived and was allocated Room 14 - as you will notice nearly every guest on the TV show is allocated room 14. Room was fine so we decide to stay an extra night however we could not have this room for both nights.
My girlfriend went to have her hair done in the hotel salon and from here it went rapidly downhill. The hairdresser (a decent guy who returned my phone I left in his salon) informed my girlfriend there was no hot water as the boilers were playing up.
The next room we are given is 'a family suite' - as soon as I opened the door to the suite I felt the coldness - not quite stepping into a fridge but a serious drop in temperature. By now its dark - cursory glance with bags placed in room - we are going out for a meal with friends - reception assure us they will put a heater in room for our return.
Needless to say we get back 11pm or so there is no heater in room - it is freezing. We sleep until about 4am wake up because of loud water dripping on flat roof and so cold can't get back to sleep. Nightporter sorts out some heaters.
At this point I start looking round - notice carpet ripped - shower and bath no hot water still - ivy growing in through the window - cigarette burns on bedroom floor carpet. Bathroom is like a fridge tiles missing off the sink.
In the reception staff - not a lot to say there....
Fortunately the manageress overheard our displeasure and relocated us for our second night to the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for my birthday for one night at The Grosvenor Hotel. The hotel is a great location as it is only 5 mins walk to town centre. There was extra car park behind the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and was able to answer any queries we had.

We were staying in room 12 - family room for two people! Although it was very spacious and comfortable, there were several minor issues that could be looked as such as- the hand towel holder needs fixing as - it was held onto the wall with toilet roll so fell down every time we used it, the smell in the room was not pleasant, and the chairs and table near bunk beds needs replacing as dirty and old fashioned (which we did not use).The little annoying thing we noticed that could be changed was that the kettle and cups were on the table - but the tea bags/coffees etc were on the other side of the room on a random shelf! However, the bath-room and bedding etc was clean and comfortable.

We had dinner at the Grosvenor Inn in the evening, and was very impressed with the food. We ordered the Salmon and Steak and we could not fault it. the service and timing was great.

We had breakfast in the restaurant next morning, we had a quick and pleasant service. The only snag was that breakfast could have been bigger and the dining room was v. cold.

From watching the TV programme on The Grosvenor on channel 4, I am a huge fan, but I was disappointed that Mark was no longer working at The Hotel when we visited. I really wanted to go to one of Mark's entertainment nights!! Think it is a huge shame!

However, overall we were happy with our stay at The Grosvenor Hotel.

Thank you :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights from Friday 22nd Feb,let me first say the staff were amazing, very friendly, really helpful We stayed in room 31 which was huge, with high ceilings, although the decor could do with updating, the room itself was very clean and very comfortable, our room also had a safe and fridge at no extra cost. The hotel is in a very good location close to all the amenities and town centre. Saturday night entertainment was a young lad who sang live, and who i really enjoyed, the bar was well stocked with a good selection of drinks. All in all we had a brilliant weekend and will be definitely returning in the near future!!! So a big thank you to the hardworking staff and management at the Grosvenor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madapple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked cheap hotel on line only to find it was featured in TV programme so a little worried about what we would find. It was excellent value for money, helpful staff, good breakfast and a sea view. Not bad for £70 a room with two sharing. We even had a dip in the pool. As other reviewers state, the decor is a bit outdated but can understand how much a revamp would cost.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife booked a week in the hotel from the 17 of feb 2013 and was to come home on the 24 of feb with our daughter and her friend . But after five nights she came home had to get flights changed and had to pay extra to get flights changed due to the poor condition of the room number 28 andrun down condition of the hotel.They where told the hotel had wifi freeview tv but had neither. The toilet had a broken sink a dated shower that toke forever to get hot . The bed it was noisey the springs nackerd .The toilet seat was broken. The carpet had join in the middle with an inch gap down the centre . The ceiling was bowed in the middle as if it where going to fall in . All for the grand price of £500 when she left this morning the 21 of fed 2013 the receptionist told her to write it all down to get a refund even the locals said good luck when they ask where she was staying not happy.

Room Tip: Do, nt get 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank d12seymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I (we are 32 and 37) stayed for one night on 20th Feb, and i have absolutely nothing to moan about at all! We arrived 3 hours early, and he extremely polite and helpful staff were remarkable. They allowed us to use the bar facilities and check in early. Our room (room 11) was very spacious, extremely clean and had everything we could possibly need, with amazing views. The evening entertainment was fantastic- with bingo and a live singer, and a very busy, lovely friendly atmosphere. Breakfast the following morning was faultless!! extremely polite waiting staff and very fast service, with delicious food and perfect coffee!!! Everywhere in the hotel was clean and tidy and well kept, and with lots of maintenance work being done this place can only get better!! Would definately recommend to all age groups.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited this hotel with friends, for a cheap weekend. We paid £10PPPN B&B. I would not judge anything about hotel for the price we paid, but i am writing review for others that may stay and pay normal rate. The hotel is a good size, and the public areas are comfortable and tidy. Bar a bit pricey. I stayed in room 19. it was ok. Size was average, it was clean with a large bathroom though a bit dated. Only thing i don't get, is with a lick of neutral colour paint on walls, a white duvet cover and a plain burgundy colour throw and curtains to match their half decent carpet, in place of peach walls, yellow and green flowery bed cover and curtains, the room could have been transformed with very little effort or money. Breakfast was good, with a choice, All staff friendly and helpful. short walk through park to train station. Enjoyable stay, would return.

Room Tip: we were facing car park on busy rd, try another side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank evej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,548 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel Torquay)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $65 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Burton-Race, Restaurant with Rooms is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining in our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, we offer creativity, creative menus and service excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing