We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
southampton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“cheap getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited this hotel with friends, for a cheap weekend. We paid £10PPPN B&B. I would not judge anything about hotel for the price we paid, but i am writing review for others that may stay and pay normal rate. The hotel is a good size, and the public areas are comfortable and tidy. Bar a bit pricey. I stayed in room 19. it was ok. Size was average, it was clean with a large bathroom though a bit dated. Only thing i don't get, is with a lick of neutral colour paint on walls, a white duvet cover and a plain burgundy colour throw and curtains to match their half decent carpet, in place of peach walls, yellow and green flowery bed cover and curtains, the room could have been transformed with very little effort or money. Breakfast was good, with a choice, All staff friendly and helpful. short walk through park to train station. Enjoyable stay, would return.

Room Tip: we were facing car park on busy rd, try another side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank evej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    375
    142
    70
    63
See reviews for
196
518
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

great food,very friendly and helpful staff,rooms a little dated and in need of a little tlc but would go there again.took my elderly parents and they were also very pleased and got the downstairs room asked for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world. Never have I come across staff as friendly and as helpful as the staff at the Grosvenor.

They are a credit to their profession.

Nothing was too much trouble for them..................not even the pesky guests asking for their photographs.

Rooms are tired but spotless. Sheets were crisp and immaculate.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sparklysparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

To be honest, having seen the programme, I wasn't expecting much. Sadly, I was disappointed. The parking arrangements are atrocious and the reception area has a temporary look about it. The layout of the hotel is awful and, even in the middle of the afternoon, the landing leading to our room was pitch black! (To be fair this problem was solved later on.) The room was small and very much felt like you were staying in an elderly Great Aunts spare room. The bathroom was bigger than the bedroom! There was no extractor fan in the bathroom, but fortunately the lack of hot water in the shower meant this wasn't a massive problem. I wasn't really in the mood for playing 'Hunt the receptionist' when getting back after a night out, but had to in order to retrieve my key.
On the plus side, the bar was reasonable and the breakfast was very nice. The staff were all friendly enough too.
To be honest, if it hadn't been so cheap I would've checked out. The fact is, if I'd gone back home to Plymouth and gone out to a restaurant in town then the taxi fare would've been more than the room. And even then it was barely worth it.
I certainly won't be going again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised after watching The Hotel on TV. Yes the decor is out dated and the hotel needs work but it was warm, clean and comfortable. The food (Im veggie and my husband isnt!) was excellent. Good sized portions and a good variety of choice. The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. Location is only a few minutes walk from the seafront. We would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank RubyRoo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night recently and for the price I paid I thought it was a good choice.Its fair to say that the hotel is a little tired and dated,but I wasn't going there expecting 5 star!The breakfast had a few choices and again for the price I paid it was good.If you want to stay comfortably with good service in Torquay at a good price choose here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Preecely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and i attended a christmas party at the hotel in early Janaury. The function was held in the ballroom, which is beautiful. The food was fantastic, and the staff were really friendly. I would recommend this hotel for functions. It is nothing like what you see on the TV, but then it has been taken over since the programme was made.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Jacksdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing