We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Norwood Guest House
Ranked #45 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a couple of friends. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived. The rooms were very adequate and the beds comfortable. Our shower room was fairly small but was did the job. Mary and Veronica were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was excellent and very plentiful. In fact even as we we trying to leave they were offering more toast and coffee. Ian cooked a lovely English breakfast.
If we are in Torquay again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glad2behome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 175 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

My Partner and I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast last weekend. On arrival we were welcomed by Mary, Veronica and Ian. We were shown to our room which was lovely and very peaceful. The bed was very comfortable and made for us everyday. There was a wide range of Breakfast to choice from, from Fruit to a fully cooked breakfast, which was fantastic.
The hotel is situated about 5 mins walk from the sea front.
The only thing i would say which i would not consider a negative is that there was not allot of parking, only 3 spaces. We did notice that not to far away from the Bed and Breakfast there was a reasonably priced public car park.
We will defiantly stay there again if travelling to Torquay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHolidays27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Sorry for the late review, but my computer has been down. We would just like to say, what a wonderful place this is to stay, nothing was too much trouble, parking should be reserved when booking, but tou can also use a large carpark at a nearby hotel, which is ideal. Breakfast where great and plentiful, thanks for a lovely stay, and for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallymoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Norwood's greatest asset is the warmth of welcome and service provided by the proprietors. They could not have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are perfectly adequate and the breakfast offering was much better than usually found at a hotel of this size. The only aspect to bear in mind is that Belgrave Road can be quite noisy, particularly on a Friday or Saturday night but this really didn't detract from the overall experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel to minimise noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Norwood Guest House is a delightful place to stay, the hospitality and comfort given to guests is wonderful! This was our first visit to Torquay, and it has been made memorable by the kindness, support and advice of the staff at Norwood to make us feel just at home. We will definitely be making more trips there and certainly staying at Norwood! Thank you Tom, Veronica and Mary for making our holiday a pleasure!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so a lot of stairs but definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bijaly2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The big plus is the friendly & helpful people who run the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and their genuine warmth is a real pleasure to experience. The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice of options and perfectly prepared. The rooms are clean and comfortable, if a little small and maybe they could benefit from some redecoration in the near future if our room was anything to go by. Parking may be difficult as room is in short supply but having said that we ware able to park without problems during our stay. The area is nice and the hotel is only a short distance from the sea. All in all a lovely place to stay and we will certainly visit again when in the area

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodders220649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Recently stayed at the Norwood Hotel and were looked after very well. We shared a family room that was clean and ideal for us. It was on the top floor so lots of stairs but we coped.

The staff could not do enough for us. They were very accommodating and reserved a parking space for us during our stay which was much appreciated. The breakfast was great. A wonderful variety available and cooked to perfection. We were always asked if we had enough coffee and toast.

The hotel is a great base for exploring from and ideal to walk into the main town. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The stairs were hard work as we were on the top floor but I am sure if you think you would find that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#27 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#56 of 149 in Torquay
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 149 in Torquay
387 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwood Guest House

Address: 60 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwood is a family run 4 Star rated guest house located in the popular Belgravia area of Torquay Devon close to the town centre, seafront, Torre Abbey, Princess Theatre, Torquay Marina and all local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Norwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norwood Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing