We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveler rating
911
416
106
43
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
911
416
106
43
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room free taxi service six courses gb tours sea view course evening meal spa area coach parties lovely hotel coastal path evening entertainment first class standard room the general manager turkey and tinsel steam room high standard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Late booking so had best room. Complimentary taxi service to Torquay excellent and hotel in lovely position. Plently of places to visit around there. Evening entertainment good for our age group. Just had to sit the initial bingo session out.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pmarkey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliodecarvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear pmarkey39,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your stay with us, we are pleased that your last minute booking with us was great and that most services met your expectations.

We look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,

Julio de Carvalho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow!! What can I say from the minute we entered till we left... staff on reception so welcoming and informative, we arrived about 12 so decided to have a sandwich and a glass of wine on the beautiful sun terrace with stunning views over the bay. We had room 125 which was huge with a king size bed and a single bed with views over the gardens, huge bathroom, tea/coffee, huge tv, clean and comfortable room. We used the spa area which hat 2 huge jacuzzis and hot tub , it was very quiet so had to ourselves, also nice outside area with loungers to relax if sun is out. We paid £144 for fb which consisted of 6 course evening meal.. we didn’t get offered 6 courses but had 3 and food beautiful and service good. Slept amazing in the huge bed and awoke feeling refreshed. Breakfast was exceptional.. buffet for juices, cereals, fruits, breads ect and waiter service for hot drinks, hot breakfast.. all very tasty. There was bingo and entertainment every evening but we missed this as didn’t realise the time bingo started. All in all a lovely stay and have booked for one of the Sunday night October deals.. well worth the price.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank declans-diary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliodecarvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear declans-diary123,

Thank you for taking the time to leave with some wonderful comments regarding your stay with us recently, we are pleased that you had a wonderful time with us. Your feedback has been welcomed by all of us here.

I am pleased that you have taken advantage of our deals and that you are planned to come back in October, so see you very soon.

Kind regards,

Julio de Carvalho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are two local ladies that enjoy the beautiful view the hotel has to offer & therefore choose to use the restaurant on blue sky days. Today was busy, but we eventually got served. We decided on the fish sharing platter between the two of us & a side order of skinny fries with garlic mayo. When it arrived we questioned whether the platter came with any bread & was told that would be chargeable as an extra! The fries arrived without said mayo because apparently they'd run out. No evidence of lemon, black pepper, horse radish-which should naturally be offered with smoked salmon & mackrel. Basically the dish was thrown together without any thought on presentation, content or attention to detail. We asked to see a manager, who was challenging & treated us as if we were unable to read & grasp the fact that the menu doesn't say it comes with bread! Very poor attitude. She did present us with an excuse for a soft, under cooked pappy bread roll as if she was doing us a favour. By which time we'd completely lost our appetite. We refused to pay & will take it up with Julio the General Manager. To be fair a second deputy manager; Katie came on duty & she was far more sympathetic & actually apologised. I'm afraid the whole dish lacked flair & needs to be reassessed by the chef - one cannot eat an oily fish dish without bread to mop up; a nice chunk of crusty sourdough from a local artisan bakery would have done the trick. Put some effort in guys to making it an attractive, rustic dish that might appeal in future, surely that's not too much to ask???

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliodecarvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience you had with us on Saturday Lunch, i am completely disappointed that we did not deliver the level of service your would associate with us. I can only concur with you, that what you experienced is not what we offer and we most definitely can do and should do better.

Katie our Bar Manager did fill me in on your experience and i can only agree with her that the manner in which we dealt with your complaint was not satisfactory.

I was hoping to have a chat with you in person to discuss your experience with us, which Katie informed that i should expect a call from you, which i would still welcome.

So please do feel free to contact me in person.

Our sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

Julio de Carvalho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We experienced a terrible stay at this hotel.
The food was mediocre, the bed was uncomfortable, there were gaps/ light coming in our fire doors, the floorboards above and below us were ridiculously noisy, loud music played until late. Booked a room with a view only for it to be blocked by two coaches (for guests) parking right infront of it.
We booked online to stay 2 nights, payed a deposit, and after not sleeping at all the first night we came down to reception (we did not eat breakfast as we did not want to take advantage as we expected a partial refund and thought it unreasonable to eat breakfast).
Upon complaining to the staff at reception and explaining that we did not wish to stay or lay for your second night the receptionist tried to charge us full price for our stay inc. the second night.
We asked to speak to the manager. We waited in the lobby for the manager who was very abrupt and did not want to hear us out. He just wanted to get his money. We argued our case and explained that we were more than happy to pay full rate for the food we had, bottle of prosecco in our room (it was more of a fizzy rose) and a box pf chocolates. We explained that our deposit (100) covered all of this easily and we were not willing to pay any more than this.
He wanted to charge us another £100.
He was very rude, it’s the worst customer service i have ever received.
We do not normally complain, but we felt we had no option as we were unwilling to stay another night and not sleep.
What should have been a romantic weekend turned out to be a huge disappointment.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank samjeff1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliodecarvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear samjeff1088,

I hope that you have received my message i send via TripAdvisor to you personally, in which i explained that i have taken over the helm here from the 8th of April 2019, and we are all disappointed that your stay with us in March 2019 was not dealt in the manner it should have been dealt with..

We collectively want to apologise for the outcome and if you wish to talk to me personally please do feel free to contact me.

Our most sincerely apologies.

Thanking you,

Julio de Carvalho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Highly recommended. This hotel really should be 4star. Never been disappointed with service or ambience of this hotel. We have a regular booking for each new year when the hotel really pulls out all the stops. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank c0urtneywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliodecarvalho, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear c0urtneywest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with some wonderful comments, especially the recommendation along with the four star comments. The team here try very hard to offer the best we can, and when we receive such feedback the team revel in it.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards,

Julio de Carvalho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews