We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT - HEADLANDS!”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT - HEADLANDS!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Headlands (built for the Tzar & his family) is not only classy, it's also great value for money. Just spent ten days there - fab room overlooking the bay SIX course evening meal, great breakfast and so much choice. Excellent value for money - the only downer being the price of drinks....however that's in line with everywhere else. Spoke to many people who had visited time and time again. Found the hotel on the internet so bit dubious - but couldn't rate it highly enough....enjoy! (PS - took us only ten minutes to walk in to middle of Torquay).

Room Tip: Our room lovely and quiet - however it was over the dining room. Although excellent entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel after your recent stay with us, I am glad to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one.

I hope to see you returning to the hotel on your next trip to Torquay.

Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    208
    60
    28
    23
See reviews for
171
399
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Visited in early September for an Autumn break! The hotel is a credit to the UK holiday industry and the overall standards are up there with the best!
The hotels' position on the headland above Torquay is by no means a negative aspect ,as the views from this location are outstanding and the excellent complimentary Taxi service into Torquay if required is both free and well organized and can be arranged by a simple request to the friendly and competent reception team on the morning that you require the service !
The food and the restaurant is also of the highest standard and both the seating and service from the friendly staff is of the same high standard !
Fresh cooked to order and served on hot plates ...no cool "buffet style" breakfast here ! The menu offers a wide variety of beautifully presented food and is some of the best we have experienced anywhere in the UK !
Our only negative aspect was the late evening noise we encountered outside our room ! This was no way any fault of the hotel .....but more due to the lack of consideration by a particular group of rather noisy guests who insisted on congregating close by our room door and holding enthusiastic and noisy conversation after their visits to the bar every evening !
Having said that ...we would not hesitate to visit this excellent hotel again ...we mentioned our problem to reception staff and our issue was dealt with both politely and courteously and due to the hotel being fully booked , we could not change our room location !
The Headland is a credit to the hotel industry and despite the minor niggle with the "inconsiderate guest " issue ....I would not hesitate to highly recommend the Headland hotel to anyone who appreciates the extra care and service that this hotel offers ! .

Room Tip: Our room" No.186 " was located between the restaurant and the lounge bar and has a "g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank microdot44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review of the hotel, I am very happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay, the staff will appreciate your kind comments.

I am sorry that we were not able to offer you an alternative room at this busy time and that the noise disturbed you.

We hope that we will be welcoming you back to the Headland again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is about 15 minutes walk down hill to the beautiful harbour - on the way down the views are breathtaking. On entering the hotel the ambience hits you straight away. Cheerful reception staff and very helpful.

The dining room staff and housekeepers are helpful, cheerful and will even stop to acknowledge you and ask how your day is going.

Various standards of bedrooms but all are adequately furnished.

The view from the hotel bedrooms are breathtaking and you could be anywhere - with the riveria palms swaying in the breeze.

Meadfoot Beach is lovely and about 10 minutes walk away - this has a small cafe for a cuppa and a sandwich - delightful.

Torquay town is busy and vibrant, stopping off at the harbour for a latte or a drink - watch the boats go by - and the people.

Bus routes are good - complimentary taxi from and to hotel once a day.

Thoughtful, organised and efficient - 3 words for this hotel.

The restaurant and food are amazing - 6 courses in the evening! The variety and choice is good too along with the waiter/waitress service!

Will be going back for a wonderful festive Turkey and Tinsel week in December - cant wait!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and thank you for posting your review of the hotel and for your kind words.

It is good to hear that you are going to be returning again for one of the festive Turkey and Tinsels breaks and I do hope that you will enjoy your stay again as you have on your previous two visits.

Kindest Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinant s wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

just had a few days at this hotel. staff excelent evening ent fair dinning room full but concert room half empty ?? .people just vanished, floors creaked but rooms ok might go again although i would like a bigger room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Headland Hotel, I am glad to hear that you generally enjoyed your break with us. There are varying room types that are available and should you be looking at staying again please do not hesitate to mention that you would prefer a larger sized room and we will do our best to meet your requirement.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have not long returned from a long weekend stay at the headland hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday with 3 friends.
what a lovely hotel, I would recommend this hotel, it has lovely coastal views.
the reception staff are pleasant, the maids were very friendly and kept the rooms to a very high standard of cleanliness, our waitress was a lovely polite young lady who went out of her way to help us in any way she could, she even asked the chef if he could get in some goats cheese because I can not have cows cheese, the next day he had got the goats cheese, the chef was extremely talented in his field.
so thanks to my very special friends and the headland hotel and staff I had a lovely birthday I will cherish forever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, and am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Headland for your special birthday. Your kind comments about the staff are appreciated and I will pass these onto them and I am pleased that your special request was seen to by our head chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've just returned from a very enjoyable 5 night stay at this hotel. It's set high up next to Daddyhole Plain where the views are stunning.

The staff here are almost all exceptionally friendly, there were a couple of male staff members who never acknowledged anyone but the rest were extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were lovely and always happy to provide smaller portions for my mum who has a small appetite. The manager, assistant manager and receptionists were always polite, smiling and helpful and always gave a cheery greeting.

I had a lovely double room, the only slight issue was that it was over the kitchen and once the fans came on (around 8am and 6pm) it was impossible to hear the TV without closing the windows, apart from that the room was spacious, clean, well furnished and comfortable with a sea view. Mum's room was a twin on the ground floor, it was not so spacious and didn't have a view, but it was quieter, comfortable and clean and easily accessible for her. Rooms were serviced daily by staff who, once again, were pleasant and happy.

The food was very good, there's a very interesting and varied 6 course evening menu and all items are well cooked and nicely presented. Breakfast offers a great choice and is cooked to order so it arrives piping hot (not like the buffets you get at some hotels where food is only luke warm).

The hotel is set a little outside the town and it is up a very steep lane, but there is a free taxi service into Torquay in the morning and back in the afternoon. There's a pool table, free newspapers in the reception area (with lovely comfy sofas to sit and read them), loads of local information, nightly entertainment, drinks and snacks available all day, an outdoor heated swimming pool and (I think I've said this before!) some lovely friendly, helpful staff - really everything a holiday maker could want.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shropshiretraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, I am very pleased to hear that you had a very pleasant experience at the hotel. I have passed your kind comments about the staff on and apologise if some of the waiting staff were not up to our usual high standard and I can assure you that they have been suitably reprimanded.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very good hotel, very well run and great value for money. All the staff were lovely, especially in the restaurant where the food and service is excellent. My special thanks go to manager Lee Cullen and waiting staff Kate Socha, who both helped make a private party i held, during our stay at the hotel, for my husband's 70 birthday run smoothly and a lovely occasion. They are both lovely people and nothing was too much trouble for them. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and look forward to my next visit. Well done Headland you should all be very proud of yourselves, your hotel and quality of service is second to none!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the trouble to leave your heart warming review of our hotel. I am so very pleased that Kate and I were able to assist in making your husband’s 70th birthday a lovely occasion. It was lovely to hear that he had such an enjoyable day.
Your praise is most kind and I will pass your kind words on to our restaurant team who will also be thrilled that your stay was memorable.
I am elated you feel the service we provide is second to none and the hotel to be very well run. You are quite right about feeling proud, I am extremely proud of all the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Headland before too long.
Kindest Regards,

Lee Cullen
Senior General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,875 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,117 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing