We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Headland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$183
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
$351
$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$194
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$127
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
989 results
Traveler rating
609
255
71
29
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
609
255
71
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomfree taxi servicesix coursesedwards coachesgb tourssea viewcourse evening mealsorbeton arrivalcoach partiesfirst classcoastal pathmince piesevening entertainmentstandard roomthe general managerturkey and tinsel break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 989 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just returned home from a 4 night stay at the headland. Myself and my fiance and our 2yr old daughter also stayed in room 167. We agree with the previous review about the creaky floor boards. The people staying above us was so noisy and felt like they was going to come through the ceiling. We was also disappointed with the view of the bins from our room but we both agreed that we wouldn't be staying in our rooms most of the day because torquay has so much to offer. Also our room was right above the entertainment room so at night it is extremely loud in the room. It wouldn't normally be a problem but with a toddler we was in bed by 10 but couldn't get to sleep until after 11, when the entertainment finishes. We didn't feel it was neccessary to complain as this was a reasonable time.
The food in the hotel was absolutely fantastic, both breakfast and dinner and staff are friendly and efficient. We couldn't wait to get up in the morning to look at the evening menu to see what was on offer.
The location of the hotel was beautiful overlooking the sea but was a good 15 minute walk to the harbour, which was great going down hill but horrendous going back up especially pushing a pram.
Overall we all had a very enjoyable holiday and I think we would return to the headland for the exceptional food but next time we would request a sea view on the top floor.

Room Tip: Room 167 has views of the bins, creaky floorboards and is above the entertainment room so can be very noisy if you've got small children going to bed early.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the 9th August to 11th. We had room 167 which was a family room which normally would not be an issue but it was only my wife and I and the main bed was only a three quarter. The hotel has a major issue as all of the plywood on the floors has come away from the floor boards and the noise from above is ridiculous. Also the room was over the delivery and bins area. Extremely noisy!!

The hotel offers free wifi however you can't get it in the room. Also a wedding was on so one of the bars and the better seating area was not available. Also be mindful to ask if there are weddings on as you will not be able to use one of the bars and the main external seating area!

On the plus side the staff are very good and when I complained about the delivery noise the general manager found us in the dining room and although he couldn't give us a new room he assured us there would no more deliveries. Also the breakfast is quite good.

Overall not the best hotel and the average age of the guests is about 60.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Good morning, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very disappointed that your stay wasn’t a more positive one but please allow me to try and explain the points you have raised in your review.
If all of our family rooms are not fully booked then we sometimes offer couples family rooms instead of standard doubles as they are much larger rooms.
As I am sure you are aware this building is steeped in history, dating back to the royal Romanoff family of Russia and so the building itself is very historical. However, the floor boards are not as noisy as you explain.
We are very pleased to offer complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel and it is accessible in all of our bedrooms as well as our communal areas, you just need to ask for a code at reception. If you were having difficulty with access you only had to ask and we would have been more than happy to assist you in connecting.
You are right we did have a wedding on during your stay however this does not affect the guests we have staying in our hotel. The wedding was held in our grand lounge bar which is also the bar we close for the evening everyday. Regardless of whether there is a function in this bar or not, the Hydro bar is our evening entertainment lounge which was unaffected. The wedding party did use the outside patio area after 6pm, but this was not exclusively for their use only. You would have been more than welcome to enjoy this area any time that you wished.
I am delighted that you found the staff to be so pleasant and found the breakfast to be so good. We try to maintain the highest levels of service at all times.
I do hope you will return and experience more of what the hotel has to offer, and I am certain you will change your opinion and have a more positive experience. Should you book again, please contact me personally and we can discuss your requirements for your room and then allocate this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Headlands from the 5th till 8th August. We had a wonderful stay with our parents. The food was absolutely fantastic each day and really cannot believe the value for money this hotel is. We stayed in room 189 which did have a problem with the door as someone reported on here. We informed reception on the first night and it was fixed the next morning so please book the room as it is a beautiful room with beautiful views. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I have stayed in many hotels both in England and abroad and you cannot beat the quality of the food and the staff here. They are dealing with the parking problem by creating a new parking area. The entertainment is aimed at older people which was fine as we don't really use it, we are in our 40's and it wasn't really for us. We would stay here again but we are going to try The Palace next year but I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Try 189 we were really pleased with the room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stopped here mon to fri 5 August 9 August.... Food excellent staff very attentive .....standard room great shower needed updating .... Told them about lamp faulty but no one came .... And the long awaited carpark I have been stopping elsewhere because of lack of car park spaces but hopefully this will be alot better surprised it was being done in the summer not the winter! Anyway will be back highly recommended for food staff pool etc

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel a couple of weeks ago and can honestly say that this is an excellent hotel with stunning views from the Executive Rooms. The hotel is very clean/tidy and the food excellent. Our allocated waiter, Patryk, was very attentive and helped to make the stay, albeit cut short on the 3rd day, very pleasant. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive Room, the views are worth the extra cost!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to leave your heart warming comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass your comments on to Patryk who I know will be absolutely delighted. We are very proud of all of our team and I am glad you experienced good service throughout your stay.
Thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Headland before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews