We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just got back from another brilliant stay at The Headland Hotel. This time we stayed for a week and enjoyed every moment. The Hotel is in a beautiful position overlooking the bay. Both rooms we had were excellent particularly my club single with amazing views! The food is 6 courses and first class, exceptional value. Rooms were cleaned to a very high standard and immaculate each day during our stay. Staff are very helpful and our waitress, Christina, was brilliant. Overall The Headland Hotel is defintly 5 star in our book and we hope to be back again in October

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcroo65510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for another very positive review, and I am delighted you found all aspects to be so good. I am particularly pleased to hear your comments on our staff, and I have passed on your compliments to Christina. We all look forward to your return in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    197
    53
    28
    20
See reviews for
159
380
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pencoed
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently was guest at The Headland Hotel for a long weekend,
Well run hotel,friendly staff. The dining room was full of character,retaining features from the orginal structure.
Excellent food.
Keep it up 'Duchy group'We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillicchilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Lovely to receive your concise feedback, and thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to your return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent position on headland overlooking the sea. Staff went out of their way to please. Club room a good size and was more than adequate. Food exceptional for the cost of the DBB and I have felt value for money on this occasion. Dinner is served in the old ballroom of the Romanov's seaside venue. Outside pool, with well sheltered gardens to sit in. Although not one for evening entertainment hotel style, this was nightly and of a good standard. The elderly relative accompanying us enjoyed the performances and was his style. On the poor side parking is not ideal although plans are in-hand for an extension. 10 min walk down hill to the town centre for me but you need crampons and climbing gear to walk back. For most get a taxi back or you will be talking in syllable's for an hour or two after, unless you are fit. In essence I rarely return to any hotel a second time but on this occasion we came across very many who were returning, often several times a year. We stayed three nights as a group of two couples and a mobile 90 year old. Our room (176) was a twin with a double aspect. Other rooms taken 173 and 174 were larger and equally well provided with doubles, all with sea views. We intend to return in October. The hotel was very accommodating for meals outside the norm when we had to attend the hospital. To conclude. Staff good, food good, location good, value excellent. This is a happy and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Variety of room styles to choose from, see what's available and balance the extra cost that may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much Paul for your valuable feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your first stay, and that you found us to offer excellent value. The parking improvements you mentioned are well underway now, with completion next month, and our complimentary daily taxi service continues to be very popular. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland. UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have enjoyed many short breaks and New Years at the Headland. Always a delight! something not to your liking? tell the management, who we have found will do their utmost to put it right, don't go away and whine about it on Trip Advisor, just be fair to a very hard working and pleasant team.
Our first room was not to our liking so we were immediately offered another, the room, beds, pillows and linen were fabulously comfortable and clean, the bathroom, spotless with a really good shower and fittings. The hand wash and gel were fine, good quality and efficient ,really cant see why anyone would need to complain about them rather the silly little bits of soap, but if you want soap just bring your own. The partlial refurb, outdoor furniture, and lavatories in the ballroom were much needed and very successful. The ballroom/bar/entertainment suite does need updating, too many chairs crammed in make it look messy and village hall like not in keeping with this elegant hotel. The food and service as always were impeccable. We were blessed with great weather too so the swimming pool was a bonus. Love staying at The Headland. our favourite short break hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingqueendorset2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We are very appreciative of your valuable feedback, and are extremely pleased you enjoy your stays with us so much.
Yes, we do strive to rectify any issues reported to us so that our guests can enjoy their stay, depart happy and return to us, which an extremely high percentage do.
The improvements you mention are on-going, with minimal disruption to our guests a priority.
We hope you will fit in another break with us soon, and look forward to seeing you again then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 5 days at this hotel, having booked a Club room with a sea view. The views across Torbay are indeed magnificent and the hotel enjoys an elevated and enviable position above the town. On arrival in our room we were confronted with an apple and orange and an unmarked bottle of water. No further fruit materialised during our stay and the bottle was, we assume, simply refilled from the tap on a daily basis. Having received much more in the way of hospitality from hotels not blessed with 3 star ranking, we were less than impressed.

In place of soap in the bathroom we were confronted by wall-mounted containers of gel with a plunger (rather like the kind you get in motorway toilets) which proved to be very stiff and practically impossible to operate. The sink was tiny but the shower over the bath was easy to use and effective.

The Polish waiters in the dining-room did a sterling job with a constant smile and won deserved plaudits. The coffee served with breakfast was, however, lukewarm at best. I did not appreciate the unannounced photographer however who toured the room one evening taking pictures we neither requested or wanted. We were also surprised to find ourselves surrounded by the patrons of three coach parties (I realise hotels need to tap into this market to make ends meet) but the noise during mealtimes precluded any attempt at conversation between us. We also discovered on Friday that our planned early departure was delayed while a coach blocked our exit until all passengers were safely on board and the coach released us at 9.30 am.

A pleasant 5 day break (with fantastic weather) in an impressive and comfortable hotel but "could do better".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your valuable, mainly positive feedback, and I am glad that you had a pleasant stay. We had in fact given you a free upgrade from a Club to one of our lovely dual-aspect Executive rooms which we trust you enjoyed. The token fruit and bottled filtered water are merely there as part of our welcoming package upon arrival, which also includes complimentary tea and coffee served in the lounge, continually replenished refreshments in the room, and our daily courtesy taxi service to the harbour and back. The range of high-quality Damana toiletries we provide in each of our bathrooms for our guests’ convenience, includes Hand/ Body Lotion, Cleansing Gel and Body/Hair Gel, and their dispensers are wall-mounted to maintain hygiene and avoid clutter. We would have been happy to assist and rectify any difficulty you may have had in operating them, if you had only notified us, and conventional individually wrapped soaps and shampoos are always available upon request as an alternative.

I am pleased you found our waiting staff to do a good job, and as such they would have readily replaced the coffee which you mentioned. I am sorry you did not appreciate the photographer who merely provides a service requested by some of our guests, which should not have impacted upon you at all.

Being full, as we are for much of the time, there may have been a lot of other guests in the Restaurant at the same time as you, and therefore a fair amount of noise, but we would have been happy to arrange for you to dine in our quieter private dining area, and/or you could have dined after the peak period, any time up until 20.30. Any vehicle blocking your exit could have speedily been moved to enable your departure, regardless of whether it was a car or a coach. Just a word to our friendly and approachable team could have easily resolved the issues you only now mention, whilst you were here.

I hope that the above will go some way to providing evidence of our on-going commitment to “do better”, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Headland on some future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend break and found the hotel to be delightful and the staff very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent as were the staff in the restaurant. Will most definitely look forward to staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PESDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
It was great to read your concise and very complimentary review. We look ahead to your next stay, and thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Visited 20th to 24th of May 2013

The hotel is even better than the pages on the web site , you must visit to appreciate the full impact .

There has been a great deal of improvement and attention to detail over recent years , which shows in the pride displayed by the General Manager , the Office Staff and the Maintenance Team .

The area is great for walkers , as its on the coastal path , with so many opportunities to capture pictures of the many diverse subjects ..

This is the most friendly hotel we have ever stayed at , which we believe emulates from the staff , being so welcoming and helpful !!.

We stayed in a Club Room 132 , overlooking the bay , which was comfortable with a breathtaking view .

The only minor point was the the very small shower ,which was on 30 inches wide , meaning that it was easier to leave the door open , when it was being used ( understand upgrades are being planned )

In conclusion ,I hope this review will attract more bookings , if so they are greatly deserved by every one at the Headland Hotel .

.

.

Room Tip: Must book a room overlooking the gardens and the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin1207908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you Martin for your lovely review and kind words. It is very pleasing that you have noticed the steady improvement in the hotel, over recent years. We aim to continue moving forward, with constant re-investment, a fabulous team of committed staff and our beautiful setting, all contributing towards our popularity as a holiday venue.

Some of our shower cubicles are a standard size, but other options may be available, and of course a lot of rooms have bath, all of which have a shower above if there is not a seperate shower cubicle.

We will continue to work hard to keep ahead of "the competition" and we look forward to welcoming you back here before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,758 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing