We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 'Cozy Weekend Break' at the Headland through GB Tours.
The Manager and his staff were really welcoming, our room was beautiful with a lovely view over the garden and sea and kept clean and tidy to a very high standard. The bathroom was large, warm and inviting. The food was lovely, plenty of choice - even a menu for vegetarians! The weather was quite cold and it was really nice to walk into the reception after a day's excursion and see the fire burning and to know we had tea and biscuits waiting for us as well. We will return.
Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: We had 143 which was a high floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review of the hotel, and we are delighted that you had such a positive experience with us. Please don't leave it too long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    200
    54
    28
    21
See reviews for
160
387
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went to the hotel for to celebrate New Year with my husband, sister and brother-in law and what a great time we had.The staff were welcoming as soon as we walked in. The room was perfect,food was brilliant and we were lucky to have one day of sunshine. The evening entertainment was both funny and entertaining and they even put food on in the evening of new years eve. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyashcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am so glad your family had such a great time with us whilst celebrating New Year, and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our staff's welcome, the accommodation and the food so much. We hope you will join us again next New Year, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just had a weekend break at this hotel and cannot praise it enough. We had a lovely time, the staff were lovely and very helpful, the bedrooms and all communal rooms including restaurant were of a high standard and well maintained. The food was delicious with plenty of choice and waiting staff would always oblige if you needed anything. The evening entertainment was of a high standard with something for everyone. Would thoroughly recommend and would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseknitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your high praise, and we are thrilled you had such a positive experience with us. We look forward to extending a warm welcome to you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great Hotel , Staff wonderful most helpful, Food amazing great price will go again.
Many thanks, wonderful views , entertainment was very good fun nights.
Love Torquay and surrounding areas.
An enjoyable and relaxing stay will recommend to my friends and family.
Anita and Bruce

Room Tip: Brilliant View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Your compact review is much appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay despite the long journey from Dumfriesshire. Haste ye back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Headland, as I was billeted there from an other hotel nearby. I am a coach driver used to staying in all sorts of pensions. The Headland has the feel of a four-star hotel in every respect. The evening meal was truly first class cuisine, and not the normal food associated with 'coaching-hotels'.It comprised six courses, all of which were served by a very courteous and professional attendant. I could not speak more highly of the restaurant and its staff. People on a coach tour staying there were paying only £40 pound a day for bed, breakfast and dinner: it is one of the most amazing deals I have come across. In my opinion, and this is what this site is all about ,the Headland equals quality with a capital Q!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roland r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your expert professional opinion. Your extremely positive comments, about your experience with us, and the value that we offer, are wonderful to hear. We hope you will return to us by choice, rather than pot-luck,. next time you are in Torbay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had a lovely 5 days at the Headland, we didn't have a sea view (thats the luck of the draw) but our room had every facillity you could wish for. The meals were varied and plentyfull and the staff very efficient. Travelled with Parrys International and once again there service is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Your valuable feedback is music to our ears. We are delighted you had a lovely stay, and that Parrys' International looked after you so well too. Best wishes until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night break here with my partner and parents. We went on a break with GB Tours, and, on the whole, cannot fault it.
When we arrived on Friday afternoon we were taken to the lounge for hot drinks and biscuits. By the time we had finished this, we were quickly checked into our rooms, and our cases were waiting outside the door (apart from my mothers who went to find her own). We were in room 183 which had a couple of flights of stairs to go up which wouldnt be suitable for some but was absolutely fine for us. My mothers room was accessible by a lift as she had said she cannot manage stairs, however she had an older type room that had a fairly high bath to step into for a shower (we had a shower cubicle). The only disappointment about our room was the view - we had the rubbish bins out of 1 window, and a sort of generator out the other.
The room itself was very clean with plenty of storage space, TV, hairdryer, toiletries and alarm clock.
The food was very good - the only flaw being very over cooked venison one evening and an odd starter of curried prawns with chefs homemade bread as a starter which turned out to be prawns in "chip shop" curry sauce and a slice of sunblest! We never went hungry though! The waiting staff, in in particular our waiter, Kris, were incredibly helpful and polite.
The evening entertainment was very dated, but seemed to be aimed at the pensioners who were there (we were probably the youngest by over 20 years.) There was not much else to do in the evening though. Drinks were reasonably priced - not as cheap as in Town, but certainly not too extortionate.
In terms of location - my partner and I found it lovely. Some of the scenery is breath taking - even at this time of year. My Mother however wasn't able to take advantage of it as any walk from the hotel involves very steep inclines. The hotel did operate a free taxi service to Torbay though each day if you wished to go in.
In summary, it is a lovely hotel, but I think aimed more at the older generation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirtyDiana67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay here via GB Tours, and I am pleased that you felt it was great value with the hotel and our location both lovely. You also say that you found the room to be very clean, and the food to be very good - we would have readily exchanged any dish not entirely to your liking, if you had only said, although we do not use chip-shop curry sauce or sunblest as you have mistakenly claimed. I am somewhat puzzled and dissapointed that you find it necessary to focus on and post pictures of our cardboard and bins awaiting collection, and from your other window, rather than the nice view across our gardens and the valley, you have zeroed-in on a barely visible, silent, Electricity Board transformer within a walled area on neighbouring property. From your comments, I don't believe this reflects your generally positive impression of the hotel, but nevertheless I hope you will all return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing