We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing break”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful relaxing break”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Returned yesterday from the Headland. We were on a trip from GB Tours. The hotel was very welcoming. We were part of tour and there were at least 50 people arriving at the same time together with another group of around the same amount of people. Firstly it was all very well organised we were greeted with tea/coffee and biscuits. The manager then gave us a welcome speech to tell us all about the hotel. We were checked in speedily and the manager was at the lift to direct us to our room. We had a room in the basement which was a lot better than it sounded as it was on the ground floor with patio doors out onto the hotel's gardens which were immaculately kept and with a sea view, The room was small but cosy and had a large modern flat screen tv. The bathroom was a good size with bath and plenty of room to leave toiletries. All looked very new. Levels of cleaning very high.

Meals at the hotel were a delight. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and 6 course evening meals. Service superb.

The hotel is located on a hill and the hotel provide free of charge a taxi to the town and will pick you up in the afternoon. The manager was always available to speak to if you had any queries. I recommend this hotel highly and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your garden level room and it's own little patio, with a lovely view across our gardens towards Thatcher Rock. Thank you for all your comments and your appreciation of our chef's food. We try to be available at all times to ensure that everything is as is should be, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    200
    54
    28
    21
See reviews for
160
387
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned from having Christmas at The Headland Hotel, Torquay. As usual this is a brilliant hotel and the staff are wonderful. All the staff made us very welcome as usual. The food was excellent. The hotel was decorated wonderfully with Christmas decorations. The room we had was large with a sea view. I would like to thank especially the girls on Reception and Thomas the Restaurant Manager and our waiter Patrick who were very helpful and could not do enough for you. The rooms were cleaned every day including Christmas Day. Toby The General Manager did everything he could to make this a very special time. We have already booked two weeks for the Summer and cannot wait for it to come round. If anyone wants a really good hotel in Torquay I would recommend this hotel very highly.

The Nields

Room Tip: The front rooms with a sea view are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us so much, and I have passed on your compliments to the personnel you mentioned. We look forward to your stay with us at the end of June. Many thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our third stay at The Headland, my wife and I were there for Twixmas. We had a club room, 136 right at the front with a glorious sea view, althougth the weather was not great for seeing.The room was more than big enough, clean, tidy and everything worked as it should as did the bathroom with both bath and shower over. We arrived and were served with a coffee and a slice of Christmas cake, complimentary I may add and went to our room. We used the Sauna which was clean, tidy and acceptably hot. Invited to free drink before dinner and then in to dinner which was well served and presented as well as being well cooked, plenty of choice and six courses if you wanted them. Then a comedy magician and Bingo for entertainment. Up for breakfast after a good nights sleep, I asked for and was served with a portion of Fried bread along with the full english, again well served with attentive service.A day out and then again used the Sauna, and Dinner this time each and every guest was presented with a gift and a box of Party favours. Good quality of food well cooked and promptly served, good choice on the menu, then to the evenings entertainment. The drink prices were competetive and a large choice was on offer. This Hotel tries very hard and I must say in our case succeeded in ensuring that we had a very welcome break which left us wondering how they did it for the money. I would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel to friends and family for a good value, comfortable break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloucestercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review, and it is terrific that you enjoyed another stay with us so much. You seem to have crammed a lot into your short stay, and it is nice to know all our little extras are appreciated, as well as the efforts of our team of staff. It is great that you consider us such excellent value, and thank you again for your endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on 27 & 28 December in Room 163. The food and service was very good - particularly on the first night when we unable to make dinner & arrived back at the hotel around midnight. The duty guy provided us with 2 salads, sweets & fruits to take up to our room.

The room, however, was a different matter. The bedroom had a stained carpet, one of the curtain rods was detached and the room was cold because the radiator was turned off. The tiny bathroom was very dated with a chip in the bath, part of a tile was missing and a piece of the bath tap was broken. The shower head could only be used by hand - this was reported but not fixed.

We had hoped to raise these matters with the manager prior to departure but it was too busy.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 163.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillips99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback, and I am pleased that you found the services of our staff, and the food, to be very good. Whilst our rooms are being continually checked, I regret you had some issues. The bathroom, although of little comfort to you, is admittedly scheduled for imminent refurbishment, as part of our on-going programme of improvements, but was perfectly clean and serviceable. I am unsure what the exact problem you experienced with the shower head was, as it is working fine, but am sorry you did not find this to be the case. We could have readily re-attached the curtain rod to the curtain when we switched the radiator on, but I could not detect any stain on the carpet. However busy we may have been, we would always prefer to make time to resolve matters and have you departing as contented guests. Despite the above, I trust you found us to represent good value, and hope you will return to us for a happier stay. Best wishes for this new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Booked three night stay with GB coach Co, traveled by coach to Headland Hotel, Devon scones when we arrived, six course meals every night, food choices, staff very polite and helpfull, choices of breakfast,excursions by coach on two days, entertainment of an evening. Would recomend the coach company and the hotel . First Class.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Your compact feedback/recommendation is very kind, and it is good to hear of your satisfaction with all areas. We work closely with GB Tours, and will pass on your comments to them, which I know they too will be grateful for. Seasonal greetings until the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at the Headland Hotel for a short three night break beginning of December. Our party, about 15 in number, was a mix of ages - we were actually celebrating an 80th Birthday. The hotel was perfect, the rooms were tastefully decorated and spotlessly cleaned with maid service every day. We stayed on a half board basis and could not fault the food - generous portions every course. Breakfast and evening meals were waiter served with a choice of starters, mains and desserts (to die for!!).

The Hotel is a little distance away from the front, I would say about a ten/fifteen minute walk downhill. The Hotel does however lay on free taxis from about 10.00am for those who wish to venture to the front, with the last free taxi returning to the Hotel at about 4.30pm.

All the staff, from chambermaid to General Manager were very friendly and helpful, particularly Kris, our waiter for the duration of our stay.

One slight criticism - the bar closed at 11.00pm every night after the entertainment (which was mediocre).

All in all, thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to return to the Headland Hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Wonderul to hear that your group enjoyed their stay with us to celebrate the birthday girl's 80th so much. Your appreciation of the cleanliness of the hotel and quality of the food is music to our ears, especially as you found our staff so friendly and helpful. The courtesy taxi service is much-used and welcomed by our guests. The entertainment, which I am sorry you found to be mediocre, does wind down soon after 11pm, with our bar though available until midnight. The Duty Manager is always on hand to ensure this is the case.
We are thrilled you so enjoyed yourselves and we are delighted you will visit us again. Many thanks for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just come back for a 4 day stay at the Headland Hotel and one word is 'brilliant'. The food is amazing - 6 courses and plenty of choice with ample portions. Our waiter Barek (I think was his name) was very very efficient as are all the staff. Our rooms were situated on the 1st and 2nd floor and both were to a high standard and cleaned immaculately every day. We last stayed at this Hotel when it was the Overmead and I have to say it is now even better and should be 4 stars easily.

We was lucky enough to stay during Turkey & Tinsel and the Hotel's decorations were superb.

All in all if you need a hotel to stay in Torquay I would highly recommend The Headland. The hotel is top class, rooms immaculate, food amazing, staff cant do enough and the views outstanding

We hope to come back for a week in the Summer :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcroo65510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful endorsement. It is great that you appreciate the many improvements made over the years you have been coming. I have passed your appreciation to Bartek and am very pleased you enjoyed the food and other aspects of your stay so much. We look forward to your stay with us in the summer, seasonal greetings until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing