We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be a 4 star not a 3!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
molevalley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Should be a 4 star not a 3!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Me and my wife booked here for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast to celebrate our anniversary, when we arrived we were greeted by lovely receptionists who were friendly and proffesional, the entrance hall was very grand.
We booked the standard room which had everything you need to have a comfortable stay even flat screen tv and complimentary wifi.

The evening meal was six course and amazing on presentation and taste, the waiters were very proffesional and prompt running like clockwork.
The breakfast was also very nice and plenty on offer, the first day we had waiters deliver breakfast to our room for only a five pound service charge.

The hotel has two bars and has a very good selection of alcoholic drinks available at reasonable prices.

The hotel is a ten minute walk from town centre however the hotel offers complimentary taxi at 10:30am returning at 4:30pm, if you want a private taxi the girls on reception will phone one for you and only costs 3:50 each way.

The hotel manager named Toby made an effort to speak to everybody indevidualy at dinner to ask if the stay was enjoyable.

The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent and the staff are very proffesional in what they do, a very welcoming and grand hotel which me and my wife feels deserves an extre star to bring it up to 4 star.

We will definately return here and stay longer next time as we did not want to leave and during the stay could not find a single fault.

Well done Toby and all your staff, you should be very proud of the above and beyond experiance that you have delivered us"

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
May I thank you for your comprehensive review/advertisement. It is very gratifying for us to receive such a whole-hearted seal of approval, and we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed such a memorable anniversary with us.
Your comments about us deserving an extra star are much appreciated. Coincidentally we have just had our annual inspection by the main quality assessors,Visit England, and they have awarded us our highest ever percentage rating, making us what we believe to be their highest-rated three star hotel in the Torbay area. We intend to continue with our constant endeavours to move further ahead still.
We eagerly look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    185
    51
    27
    18
See reviews for
153
362
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just got back from an excellent four night break. Food good, hotel good, if a tad to warm, staff very helpful and attentive, house wine too moreish. Criticism? Dinner was slightly rushed, no sooner was the plate taken away the next course arrived, could be slowed down a bit. Nevertheless a great relaxing break just what we needed. Pity the hotel is in Torquay which we found drab depressing and English riviera it is not

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We appreciate your honest review and many thanks for that. I am delighted you found your break to be excellent. I apologise you felt the service to be slightly rushed, when a word to your server or our Restaurant Manager could have easily resolved this. We try to achieve a balanced pace of service, but, like the temperature throughout the hotel, it is tricky to always get it just right.
I am sorry you found Torquay to be drab and depressing, and am confident I could change that view radically if you would contact me personally, should you consider returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

just had a fantastic break in a hotel that was so good for me as a wheelchair user the hotel was able to offer me a accessible room (which other hotels cant)and staff could not do enough to help which made are break even better.The food was so good i have got a bigger waist to prove it !!!!!!!!!!Thanks again we will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_m768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay. It is good to hear that you so enjoyed your stay, our staff and the food, and we look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I felt I just had to write a review on this outstanding hotel. My daughter was married on Saturday, 20th October and had the whole event at ths hotel and we have nothing but praise for Toby and all the staff who helped make the day perfect. Their attention to detail without being obtrusive was five star, everything from thequality of the rooms, meals and setting up the function was brilliant. If you are thinking of a wedding venue you couldn't do better. Many thanks to you all. Marilyn Bourne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
It was our pleasure Marilyn to host Sarah and Warren's wedding, and your kind comments are most heart-warming. We do a limited number of weddings, so that we can give each couple the fullest attention and keep everything special, helped of course by our magical setting. All best wishes to you and to the happy couple, as they head off on their cruise. We hope to see you all here each anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is a great location, just across the road from the clifftop, with beautiful sea views. It is quite a quiet area on the outskirts of Torquay. We were there for a friend's wedding - it is a good place for a function, has a nice garden. It is important to get a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the top floor for the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following a stay for your friend's wedding. We are glad you so enjoyed our fabulous location, gardens and the beautiful views. We hope you will return another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

just back from a great weekend at the headland,what a lovely hotel.
the food is the best we have had in any hotel!
we would certainly go back,service,entertainment,all first class.
the only downside was that our room 128 was directly under the dining room,and we were woken at 7 am by the noise of the staff walking around,dragging tables and chairs etc,it seemed to affect all rooms on this floor!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackson028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed the food and hotel so much. I am so sorry you were disturbed by noise from the restaurant above, and only hope that the beautiful view of our gardens and sea out towards Thatcher Rock may have partly made up for that. We hope to welcome you back to The Headland before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have also just returned from a weekend break at the Headlands and although the food and the hotel in general was good the bedroom was the worst we have ever stayed in. We were given room 130 which must be one of the worst rooms in the hotel, if not the worst. This room is situated in the basement below street level with a lovely view of a wall.The room is not only very dark but it is also directly underneath the restuarant and the kitchen. As the previous person has stated there was a wedding party staying in the hotel and the hotel used the normal entertainment room for their reception and the entertainment was transferred into the restuarant directly above our room. This meant we were unable to get to sleep until after 11pm because of the noise.As if that wasn't enough we were woken every morning between 6.30 and 7am by the staff preparing the restuarant for the morning breakfast. A herd of elephants treking over the ceiling would probably have made less noise. Then there was a problem with the taps.The hot tap had to be turned the opposite way to normal. This had obviously confused previous guests into thinking the tap was just stiff so they had forced the tap resulting in the whole tap rotating when turning in the normal direction.Even after you realised the tap operated in the wrong direction it still caught you out when trying to decrease the flow. You still tend to turn the tap in the direction you would normally so that you very often increased the flow instead of decreasing it resulting in the water shooting over the sink and all over you.
When I spoke to the manager about this he said it was E.U regulations which I think is a load of nonsense. We have stayed in hotels all over Europe and never seen taps that didn't work in the same direction as the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed our food and the hotel in general, but sorry you were unhappy with the location of your room. Whilst the window looks out onto a rockery, it is a cosy, well appointed room with a brand new bathroom. We have actually featured it in photographs on our website. Yes it is below the edge of the restaurant and kitchen, and I apologise that you were disturbed by noise from above, with our kitchen and restaurant staff starting at 07.00 and 07.30 respectively. The dinner dance you mention was only on the Saturday night, held there as part of the French weekend until 23.00. I'm sorry too that the hot tap turning the opposite way inconvenienced you so much. We have several of these throughout the hotel, but are looking into our options with this. Despite this I hope you may consider returning to us, just let us know of room preferences when enquiring, and I am sure we can have you leaving as happier guests next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms and Expedia so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing