We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“monday to friday”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“monday to friday”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

just back from a great weekend at the headland,what a lovely hotel.
the food is the best we have had in any hotel!
we would certainly go back,service,entertainment,all first class.
the only downside was that our room 128 was directly under the dining room,and we were woken at 7 am by the noise of the staff walking around,dragging tables and chairs etc,it seemed to affect all rooms on this floor!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackson028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed the food and hotel so much. I am so sorry you were disturbed by noise from the restaurant above, and only hope that the beautiful view of our gardens and sea out towards Thatcher Rock may have partly made up for that. We hope to welcome you back to The Headland before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    200
    54
    28
    21
See reviews for
160
387
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have also just returned from a weekend break at the Headlands and although the food and the hotel in general was good the bedroom was the worst we have ever stayed in. We were given room 130 which must be one of the worst rooms in the hotel, if not the worst. This room is situated in the basement below street level with a lovely view of a wall.The room is not only very dark but it is also directly underneath the restuarant and the kitchen. As the previous person has stated there was a wedding party staying in the hotel and the hotel used the normal entertainment room for their reception and the entertainment was transferred into the restuarant directly above our room. This meant we were unable to get to sleep until after 11pm because of the noise.As if that wasn't enough we were woken every morning between 6.30 and 7am by the staff preparing the restuarant for the morning breakfast. A herd of elephants treking over the ceiling would probably have made less noise. Then there was a problem with the taps.The hot tap had to be turned the opposite way to normal. This had obviously confused previous guests into thinking the tap was just stiff so they had forced the tap resulting in the whole tap rotating when turning in the normal direction.Even after you realised the tap operated in the wrong direction it still caught you out when trying to decrease the flow. You still tend to turn the tap in the direction you would normally so that you very often increased the flow instead of decreasing it resulting in the water shooting over the sink and all over you.
When I spoke to the manager about this he said it was E.U regulations which I think is a load of nonsense. We have stayed in hotels all over Europe and never seen taps that didn't work in the same direction as the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed our food and the hotel in general, but sorry you were unhappy with the location of your room. Whilst the window looks out onto a rockery, it is a cosy, well appointed room with a brand new bathroom. We have actually featured it in photographs on our website. Yes it is below the edge of the restaurant and kitchen, and I apologise that you were disturbed by noise from above, with our kitchen and restaurant staff starting at 07.00 and 07.30 respectively. The dinner dance you mention was only on the Saturday night, held there as part of the French weekend until 23.00. I'm sorry too that the hot tap turning the opposite way inconvenienced you so much. We have several of these throughout the hotel, but are looking into our options with this. Despite this I hope you may consider returning to us, just let us know of room preferences when enquiring, and I am sure we can have you leaving as happier guests next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night break at the Headland. This is our second stay there and we booked to celebrate our birthdays as the hotel was advertising a French theme weekend. Yet again the food was superb with attentive staff. We booked a standard room leading onto the gardens, whilst the room was compact, with an excellent bathroom, since our last visit a large new TV had been put in the room, I felt that these should be put on the wall and not take up valuable space on the small dressing table - and no controller for the TV. Whilst the weekend was advertised as a French themed weekend, a wedding was booked for the Saturday afternoon and evening, and one of the guests had said to me, that the hotel should have informed other guests that this was happening - even though this did not affect our enjoyment

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
It is good to know that you had a great weekend and that you particularly enjoyed the food and our attentive staff. We are mounting televisions on the walls where possible, but at the same time we are repositioning sockets throughout the hotel, to maximise space and efficiency, and it will take a little while to complete all rooms.. My apologies again that your remote controller was missing and that we could not source a replacement over the weekend. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Headland last weekend. I spent hours comparing Torquay hotels before opting for the Headland, and we are so pleased I did!
Our room, though small, was lovely, with patio doors onto the garden. It was so quiet (other than an owl hooting outside)!
Our bathroom was fairly new, and it looked as though the soft furnishings were too. For such a small room there was, thankfully, plenty of drawer and cupboard space.
Staff were lovely, and ever helpful.
We only had bed and breakfast, but that was very good, and I think that another time we will also have dinner (very reasonable).
Will we visit again? Definitely! In fact we can't wait!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveourholsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are glad you decided to choose us also, and are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and the services of our staff. The tawny owl you heard is just one of the many visitors from the wildlife world that we get in our beautiful gardens. We look forward to your second visit soon, and yes, do include dinner next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just spent 5days at the headlands hotel with K M Travel chesterfield,we found this hotel a very friendly place to be,I got a ground floor room as asked for,it was a large room and bathroom with walk in shower,meals were some of the best meals I've tasted,would love to go again,well done xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank renemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are so glad that you had such a lovely stay recently, and that we were able to fulfil your room requests, which we always aim to do if at all possible. Thank you for your nice comments, particularly with regard to our catering, and we hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 with 14 friend celebrating a special Birthday. Had a fabulous time, the Hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly, it is very clean and the food is also very good. Did not have dinner at the hotel, but Breakfast was really tasty and they even sat us all together. The hotel has beautiful views and is close to town, and if you don't fancy the walk up the hill a taxi only costs £3 in the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your time and trouble in posting a review, and I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay here with your friends. We hope you will return to sample our delicious dinner menu some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights 25th-26th August 2012 to celebrate a friends special birthday. i have stayed here quite a few times and always have such a lovely time. Its so relaxing,friendly and convenient for all the amenities in Torquay. The views are spectacular and the grounds are so well kept.
The staff are all really smart,professional and helpful but discreet. it seems they all take pride in their hotel which really shows.
I have always found the rooms spotlessly clean on arrival, They are comfortable and have those little extras that make such a difference such as gorgeous bathroom smellies and really comfy pillows.
The food is just perfect and the ambience in the dining room is just right. it's a beautiful room too with fantastic views over meadfoot.
I think it is clear i am a little bit in love with this hotel and looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review and we are delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay so much. Your comments have been passed on to our team, and we hope your next visit will not be too far off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing