We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Headland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$133
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$122
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
$105
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
613
255
71
29
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
613
255
71
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomfree taxi servicesix coursesedwards coachesgb tourssea viewcourse evening mealsorbeton arrivalcoach partiesfirst classcoastal pathmince piesevening entertainmentstandard roomthe general managerturkey and tinsel break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 993 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 with 14 friend celebrating a special Birthday. Had a fabulous time, the Hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly, it is very clean and the food is also very good. Did not have dinner at the hotel, but Breakfast was really tasty and they even sat us all together. The hotel has beautiful views and is close to town, and if you don't fancy the walk up the hill a taxi only costs £3 in the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your time and trouble in posting a review, and I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay here with your friends. We hope you will return to sample our delicious dinner menu some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights 25th-26th August 2012 to celebrate a friends special birthday. i have stayed here quite a few times and always have such a lovely time. Its so relaxing,friendly and convenient for all the amenities in Torquay. The views are spectacular and the grounds are so well kept.
The staff are all really smart,professional and helpful but discreet. it seems they all take pride in their hotel which really shows.
I have always found the rooms spotlessly clean on arrival, They are comfortable and have those little extras that make such a difference such as gorgeous bathroom smellies and really comfy pillows.
The food is just perfect and the ambience in the dining room is just right. it's a beautiful room too with fantastic views over meadfoot.
I think it is clear i am a little bit in love with this hotel and looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jo e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your glowing review and we are delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay so much. Your comments have been passed on to our team, and we hope your next visit will not be too far off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from an excellent weekend away this hotel in Torquay. We have been visiting this hotel about twice a year for the last six years and most certainly each time we have noticed continuing improvements especially this time in the hotel restaurant. The menu has been considerably improved in the last year. The restaurant staff are excellent so caring and considerate. All of the staff in the hotel are very good and we have noticed that staff seem to stay wheras some hotels are constantly changing their staff and using seasonal works - At the Headland they do not appear to use seasonal and ever changing staff. Both the hotel manager and the restaurant manager made us very very welcome . Club and premier rooms are very good and extremely well furnished with quality furniture and curtains.

Room Tip: Ask for club or premier room with sea view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

It is great to get such a positive review from you, particularly relating to our continual improvements and super team of staff. Thank you and we hope you will continue to find us excellent value for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Returned on Saturday 25th August from a weeks holiday at The Headland,wonderful as always, this is the sixth year we have stayed at the hotel and, will always reccommend it to friends.The food is excellent, all the staff from the cleaners to the managers always helpful.
My Husband was under the weather for one day, the staff all considerate, nothing too much trouble.
Lovely to see each year more improvements being made,credit due to the Duchy Group.
Booked for next year, will return sooner if we can

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side tend to be quieter, but all rooms seem to pleasant.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DerbyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your kind words Dave and Liz, and we hope you will return to us soon. It is good to hear your appreciation of the continual improvements we are making. All best wishes until we next welcome you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a lovely place, went on a girlie weekend - 4 of us age range from 15 to 64!! Hotel was lovely, beautiful views, staff friendly & good all round entertainment. The food was out of this world!!!!
It was so nice, my sister & her husband went back last week, my husband & I are going back in October & the girls are planning their visit for the turkey & tinsel weekend!!
I think I will become a regular.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Fabulous to hear you enjoyed your stay so much that you are all joining our ever-growing throng of regular guests. I hope your sister and her husband had a great time during their recent visit and please make yourselves known to me when you return in October. I am confident the girls will enjoy a hugely successful Tinsel and Turkey break. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews