We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for anyone under 50.”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2011

The hotel certainly has kern appeal, with stunning views and a beautiful reception area. After that the only thin that was half way decent was the view.

The room, titled as a 'club sea view' lived up to it's promise of having a stunning sea view. Beyond that, the bed and the beddin led a lot to be desired. Tired would be one way of describing it. The shower head was covered in mould and the extractor sounded like a 1980s Bedford van.

We didn't eat in the hotel so are unable to comment on the restaurant food. However, breakfast? Wow (and not in a good way). I asked for a poached egg on wholemeal toast. I got a pickled poached egg on White toast. Nothing ruins a day like a a poached egg tasting like malt vinegar.

I guess the highlight was the taxi driver asking if we were a little young to stay there and he'd have been right.

The hotel clearly caters for a certain age groups... Over 50s.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

I am sorry you felt the bed and bedlinen were tired, because we use expensive beds, matresses and soft furnishings, and upgrade them when appropriate. We have also recently switched to Egyptian Cotton sheets, pillow-cases and duvet covers. If you experienced bathroom problems they would speedily have been remedied, had they only been mentioned to us. Similarly your toast and poached egg would have been cheerfully replaced by our waiting staff, but I apologise if these were not as requested.
As a resort hotel a high proportion of our guests happen to be over 50, but we welcome all ages with our family friendly entertainment and menus, generous children's rates, a state of the art Multigym, Sauna and a Heated Outdoor Pool throughout the summer, not to mention a host of local attractions for all age groups.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 914 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

The Headland hotel high on a cliff has a gracious and elegant style. It has wonderful sea views and was originally built as a home for the Russian Imperial Romanoff family.Being high on a cliff was not a problem as the hotel ran a free taxi service in the morning into Torquay and back in the afternoon.We found the hotel to be very clean,food was good and varied,staff were very friendly and the entertainment was different every night (you could play bingo if you wanted).The entertainments room had a drawback in that it had big pillor like structures, and if you were unlucky enough to sit behind one they blocked your view of the acts performing.Although this was a minor thing to us we found our 5 day stay at the hotel a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LornaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

i am so glad you had a wonderful stay with us, and found our complimentary taxi service useful, I am sorry if your view of our varied entertainment was obstructed by a pillar, and hope you will have a clearer view should you return to us. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I booked a 3 night half board stay on the recommendation of a friend. It was a birthday and wedding anniversary for my wife and I. Having booked, I must admit that we had concerns regarding some of the comments posted on this website and we were not sure what to expect.
On arrival we were greeted by the general manager and his staff and made to feel very much at home. We had an executive room with sea views. This bedroom was excellent with a high standard of fixtures and fittings. It was also very clean and tidy - no complaints whatsoever.
The breakfast menu offered a wide range of choices to suit most persons taste and the evening meals were equally as good.
The hotel is situated at the top of a hill in a very quiet and picturesque location. Took about 15minutes to walk from the hotel down to the harbour area but would not fancy having to walk back up. This problem is resolved by the hotel running a free taxi service down in the morning and back in the afternoon.
We very much enjoyed our short stay and will not hesitate to return in the future - well done The Headland and all its staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djvi_nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2011

It is encouraging to have guests come to us and, despite any apprehension, confirm that all is well. We are grateful for this gentleman's faith in us, and I am delighted he and his wife enjoyed their stay so much. I would be pleased to allay any other prospective guests possible concerns, if they would care to contact me by telephone or e-mail prior to booking. -- Toby Downer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is my third time at the Headland and the standard never varies. The cleanliness,the wonderful food, good entertainment and extremely courteous staff combine to make this one of my favourtite places to stay. The location is breathtaking and the lovely architecture of the hotel itself rightly deserves to be standing proud at the end of Daddyhole Road.

As previously mentioned, this is my third visit and each time I enter the hotel I am impressed by the quality of the furnishings which are always beautifully kept and on this occasion, the tasteful decorations in readiness for the Christmas period. As on previous visits, the food was superb, beautifully presented and impeccably served by Thomas our waiter.

Congratulations to the Manager and all his staff for continuing to maintain a high standard throughout the hotel and ensuring guests are made to feel special.

Lastly, if you can, ask for a room overlooking the sea- it`s worth it for the views alone.

Maggie from Somerset

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Your review is much appreciated and I have relayed your kind comments to our wonderful staff, including Thomas.
I am so pleased you are enjoying the high standards we seek in all departments. Many guests have made special mention of our festive decorations which reflect the style and ambience throughout the hotel.
We eagerly look forward to your fourth visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We have been to this hotel several times and always found it to be friendly and comfortable and good value. It always pays to ask for a club room ( slightly dearer ) as some of the standard rooms are not so well placed around the building. The hotel is out of town overlooking Meadfoot beach with a steep pathway down to the sea, ideal for walkers although a free taxi service in the morning and afternoons ( bookable at the reception ) takes you down to Torquay harbour ( free return around 4.30 pm ). The food is very good with no fancy surprises and the table service is excellent.
We have just come back from a very enjoyable Tinsel and Turkey break and can say that the standards have been maintained. the only criticism is that everything seemed a little low key with not much going on during the day, that aside, there are plenty of places to go in the area. There is evening entertainment throughout the year all of a varying standard.
We are going again in December on a New year break and we will post a report soon afterward.
During Summer months the oustide heated pool is open, it is a decent size and is kept very clean. A sister hotel, THE PALACE in Paignton has marvellous indoor swimming and gym facilities (free ) and are available to guests at the Headland hotel, the reception will book you in anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterunionave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Thank you for your detailed review, and your valuable feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stays and have been to us several times. The Tinsel and Turkey breaks are extremely popular, and we try to balance the programme of events within the hotel during the day, with the many other attractions in the area. The hotel has never looked better, and your kind comments about our swimming pool and the leisure facilities at our sister hotel, The Palace in Paignton, are also much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back for the New Year break, but send you warm seasonal greetings until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

i have found this hotel to be the best i have been to' for the price the service was excellent' lovely sea views' fantastic' the food and service was great the staff was very good' my wife and i will be going back next year. its a great hotel for pensioners' they realy look after you.
thank you headland for a lovely stay.
robert & manderlain.
merseyside

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spartilfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Thank you for taking time to send the above review, and it is really good to hear you consider us best value with your comments on our price, views, service, food and staff. We take great pride in having an attentive, friendly and professional team here, and I will pass on your thanks until your visit to us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with high expectations.

On closer inspection the internal plaster is hanging off the walls in the corridrors upstairs. We had an executive room with a great sea view but also had the benefit of the extractor from the kitchen which was both noisy during the day and a bit smelly. the bed was great-huge and comfortable. The floorboards creaked loudly throughout the room and bathroom. My husband got bitten by 'insects' during the night. The shower screen was broken, leaking water onto the floor.

The meal in the evening was such a let down: what we called 'posh muck'. The starter was a mash of potato and chicken with a sprig of herb on the top-was listed as smoked chicken and potato. No mention of babyfood consistency. The main meals were a bizarre mix. The fish was served smothered in a strange sauce, resembling vomit. There was no suggestion the sauce would be on the fish and we had expected it to come in a sauce boat. The fish was full of bones!! Squirty cream on the puddings. Warm, dry cheese on the cheese board... I could go on. Needless to say we went bed and breakfast for the 2nd night.

I could go on but that wouldnt bring my weekend back. never again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsCC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headlandtorquay, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Sometimes guests do not mention issues during their stay, and it is then impossible to rectify most matters satisfactorily after the event. Similarly communications sent to us after departure may not be entirely factually correct, or may grossly over-exaggerate the problems in a provocative manner. Whilst we take pride in responding to all feedback it is frustrating when we are not given the opportunity to do so, especially when we operate such a hands-on management style. I am confident that our many other regular guests would take issue with the above report, which is so untypical of the high standards which we maintain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $87 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing