We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Southbourne Villa
Ranked #78 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The dining area, lounge and our room were all very comfortable and kept very clean. Breakfast was excellent. Quiet location at all times. Proprietors extremely helpful and friendly. Would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kovlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is the best B & B we have ever stayed at as the whole experience was "Top Drawer" the owners must be very proud as to what they have done here and how they have got a feeling of a home from home for their visitors. A lovely laid out establishment with a very friendly atmosphere and a great greeting as soon as you walk through the door.
The room was tastefully decorated and we stayed an extra night and though this may have put the proprieters out , they found us another room ( room 8, really nice) without question and were more than obliging. The breakfast WAS THE BEST I have ever had in a B & B, the food being really tasty and very well presented. A nice big car park so no worries there about parking --- will certainly be going back, a big thank you to David and Edna , Chris and Di from Stafford.

Room Tip: "pick room 8 !! "
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Best B & B we've stayed in anywhere. From tea and biscuits on arrival after long car journey to excellent local knowlege of pubs/restaurants/walks etc.etc.

Large rooms, spotlessly clean, as much breakfast as you want. Just the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty15647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The room was neat, clean and and well sized with some nice touches. Its about 15 mins walk to the main seafront area and you can walk to Cockington in about 30 mins. We also made it to over to Paignton in about an hour. Breakfast was a nice choice of branded products and the full English was very tasty. Only minor negative is that I would have preferred a bigger bed, which they didn't appear to have as a room option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lovely short break, very comfortable room with high specification. Good, fresh, well cooked food. Excellent attention to detail throughout the hotel. Both hosts were friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie19656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had 4 great nights at southbourne villa, on arrival we was greeted by David the owner who offered us tea ad biscuits while chatting to us about the area. The lounge area was beautiful very comfy leather sofas and spotless. Our room was room9 a small double but didn't lack character big comfy bed lovely furniture, the added bonus of a fridge with a jug of fresh milk and bottled water, wine glasses and chocs not forgetting the complimentary tray of a selection of hot drinks. Bathroom was again spotless couldn't fault the cleanliness of this villa. Breakfast was superb a selection of fresh fruits, cereals yogurts everything down to peanut butter, followed by a choice of freshly cooked breakfast nothing was to much trouble David even remembered we only drink decaf which was lovely. After a long day of exploring we decided to try the hot tub we was provided with bathrobes and towels the tub was relaxing just what you need after a day out, Edna came to see if we needed anything and offered to make us tea which we drank on the decking area. Location is in a lovely quiet area of torquay within walking distance of the seafront and the town where there are some fab places to eat try the small place by the harbour called below decks a lovely place that serves amazing mussels with good prices. We will most definitely be back and have already recommended you to our friends and family, a big thank you to David and Edna who made our stay perfect.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AdrianJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

we had a lovely weekend there, nothing was too much trouble probably the best place i have ever stayed in. The hot tub was fantastic really relaxing the choice of food at breakfast was amazing rooms spotless and all the staff were very friendly polite and helpfull would definately stay there again and highly recommend to anyone coming to stay in torquay

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianelesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#22 of 149 in Torquay
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
0 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#57 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southbourne Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southbourne Villa

Address: 9 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $73 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southbourne Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbourne Villa, hot tub and garden decking area with sunbeds and bistro tables and chairs. A south-facing sun trap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Southbourne Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southbourne Villa Hotel Torquay
The Southbourne Villa Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing