We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveler rating
473
31
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
473
31
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathtorre abbeysea frontnothing is too much troubleevening meals arehotel is spotlessly cleanperfect hostscooked to perfectionguest houseon arrivalhome cookedfirst classlots of choiceplaces to visitfresh milkhigh standardrecommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 508 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our 5 night stay at Mount Edgcombe, situated in a leafy avenue within a conservation area close to Torre Abbey, our room was beautiful and very comfortable Claire and Dave are the most helpful hosts we have ever had and the room we stayed in has been much admired by all our friends , the food is wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. We look forward to booking next year and maybe trying the gorgeous Edgcombe Suite . Love from andy and chrissie Xxxxx

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Hi Chrissie
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, your feedback and comments are so important to us.
We did enjoy your company during your stay and our chats over breakfast and dinner, your Andy was certainly a pleasure to cook for, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here.
We look forward to seeing you again next year, don't forget to book early as The Edgcombe Suite books up fast.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

My self and my wife stayed here on 29 /30 of September and would highly recommend it . It’s spotlessly clean a warm welcome and food , hospitality are second to none great value for money can’t wait to stay again have recommended it to friends already and will go back and stay with them soon.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank philb0b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Hi both
Thank you for the lovely review, we do try to ensure that all guests have a great stay, when you get lovely guests ( like you ) it is easy.
We enjoyed hearing about your family and what great news on your new granddaughter. We look forward to seeing some picture and the latest news when you come to see us in 2018.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This was our first trip to Torquay and we were made very welcome by Dave and Claire.
The weather was typically English but Claire advised us on places to go and how to get there. The room was spotlessly clean and Claire and Dave were great hosts. I would recommend this hotel, nothing seemed to much trouble. Thank you Dave And Claire hope to see you again soon. Nigel & Carole

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baylisscarole46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Hi Nigel & Carole
Thank you for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Hopefully, you will come to see us and explore more of Torquay soon, we will try to book some better weather for you.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

We get away for quite a few weekends during the year and the accommodation is important for us. I can say that our hosts David and Claire made us very welcome and that the whole ambiance of the guest house is so nice. The breakfast was fantastic and kept me going all day.
Overall it made a great weekend brilliant . Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Good Afternoon David D
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we made your great weekend ' brilliant'. We do hope see you again soon.
Regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, Dave and Claire were fantastic hosts, could not do enough for us. Excellent breakfasts with the option for home cooked evening meals.

Nice rooms and good location for walking into Torquay and exploring the area.

Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important. We wish you every success with your new venture and do hope that you come and see us again soon.
You are right Torquay is a beautiful place and so well located to explore the surrounding area.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews