We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$153
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$163
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$185
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astor House Apartments(Torquay)
$262
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$113
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trinity Mews(Torquay)
$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveler rating
465
31
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
465
31
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathtorre abbeysea frontnothing is too much troubleevening meals arehotel is spotlessly cleanperfect hostson arrivalguest househome cookedfirst classcooked to perfectionlots of choicefresh milkplaces to visithigh standardrecommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 500 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017

We get away for quite a few weekends during the year and the accommodation is important for us. I can say that our hosts David and Claire made us very welcome and that the whole ambiance of the guest house is so nice. The breakfast was fantastic and kept me going all day.
Overall it made a great weekend brilliant . Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Good Afternoon David D
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we made your great weekend ' brilliant'. We do hope see you again soon.
Regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, Dave and Claire were fantastic hosts, could not do enough for us. Excellent breakfasts with the option for home cooked evening meals.

Nice rooms and good location for walking into Torquay and exploring the area.

Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important. We wish you every success with your new venture and do hope that you come and see us again soon.
You are right Torquay is a beautiful place and so well located to explore the surrounding area.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

This was our first stay at Mount Edgcombe after having our annual 4 night stay in Torquay at another hotel which we thought was 100%. On recommendation and due to circumstances we booked at Mount Edgcombe with a little trepidation. We need not have worried, it far exceeded our previous hotel so where do you find an excellent + rating! We are not very good with adjectives so if anyone is reading this review for recommendation just book your stay, you will not regret it. We will be back next year. Dave and Claire, thanks again for your superb hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianr192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Adrian & Lynn
What can we say ' Perfect Place to Stay' - 'Excellent plus rating ' what compliments! We are flattered that you left your first TripAdvisor review for us - Thank you.
We loved having you stay and did enjoy your company and were truly delighted that you enjoyed your time with us after being recommended to stay
We look forward to seeing you again next year and in the mean time enjoy your time with the grandchildren
Kindest Regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

From the moment you arrive you can't help but be impressed with the warm welcome from Dave & Claire. They really are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they really go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are exceptionally comfortable.
At breakfast you are greeted with Claire's happy approach while Dave cooks in the kitchen. You will go far to find a better breakfast with the choice and quality. In the evening the roles are reversed with Claire cooking and Dave front of house. Once again the choice and quality are excellent.
This has been our 4th visit and the next are already planned.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DandGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Hello DandGT
Thank you for the great review - It was so lovey to see for the 4th time, we LOVE having you both stay, and have such fun and laughter when you are here. Once again you picked the good weather and made the most of your time here - you guys walked for miles, I think that you went home for a rest!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you for stay 'number 5' in April 18.
Regards to Edd & L Edd
Best Wishes
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We had the best time at this guest house! I recommend the mount edgecombe suite also! The jacuzzi is awesome. Hosts are just like your holiday parents and nothing is too much for them :) i cant wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Hi there
Thank you for the review - you are very kind, we loved the fact that you likened us to your ' holiday parents' we do try to ensure that everyone has a great stay.
Our Edgcombe Suite bathroom is 'awesome' to use your words and we look forward to you coming back for a second visit.
We do hope that you enjoyed your holiday in Cornwall after you left us, and thank you both for the card.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews