We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Atlantis(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$101
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$197
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Marstan(Torquay)
$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
468
31
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
468
31
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathtorre abbeysea frontnothing is too much troubleevening meals arehotel is spotlessly cleanperfect hostson arrivalguest househome cookedfirst classcooked to perfectionlots of choicefresh milkplaces to visithigh standardrecommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 503 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2017

First time stay. Spotless comfortable room. Good home cooking breakfasts and evening meals. Fantastic hosts, nothing too much trouble. Good location, car parking a bonus. Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank judy-trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Hi Judy & Trevor
Thank you for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.
We had a lovely week with you both and all of our other guests, and Trevor's 'foil art skills' were a thing' to marvel.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and have reworded us with another week's booking for 2018.
Take care until we see you both again
Best Wishes
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

We stayed for 7 days, and were made to feel very welcome by excellent hosts. Our room was spotlessly clean, as was everywhere else, and also very comfortable. Breakfasts were really good, being freshly prepared with ample choice. The parking facility was very welcome, particularly in Torquay. The location is ideal being a pleasant walk to the sea front and then into town from which buses run in all directions. An added bonus is the rail station being very close. We felt very much 'at home' during the whole of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PeterandCarol2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Super find, Dave & Clare are excellent hosts, very good choice at breakfast all freshly cooked to order, also very good choices for evening meals, something for everyone. Spotlessly clean. Oh and Dave, Billy Sutton was what he said!

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room but it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaParkerDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Claire & Dave were terrific hosts. Breakfast was amazing as expected & rooms were lovely, bright & clean.

Brilliant location with only a 10 minute walk from Torquay town centre.

*Only small issue is the small car park with limited spaces.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lewis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We have just returned from our 4th holiday here-the 3rd with Dave and Claire. Everything was perfect as always. Dave and Claire are wonderful hosts and really do go that extra mile to make sure you have an enjoyable and trouble free stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food is lovely. The breakfasts are cooked to order by Dave (the egg whisperer!) and the evening meals are lovingly cooked by Claire and are delicious. The hotel is in an ideal location behind Torre Abbey and it is a lovely stroll through the grounds to the sea front. Another stroll along the sea front and you come to the centre where there is an excellent bus service, a lovely harbour and a good variety of shops. Thank you Dave and Claire for a lovely week. See you next year!

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others but all are spotlessly clean and well equipped and tastefully decorated.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews