We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$202
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$153
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$188
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$180
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$263
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$113
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trinity Mews(Torquay)
$160
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveler rating
464
31
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
464
31
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathtorre abbeysea frontnothing is too much troubleevening meals arehotel is spotlessly cleanperfect hostson arrivalguest househome cookedfirst classcooked to perfectionlots of choicefresh milkplaces to visithigh standardrecommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 499 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed, extremely friendly owners and guests, amazing breakfasts and scrumptious optional evening meals. Didn't want to leave, will definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Thank you for the 'wonderful review', we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, do come and see us again very soon.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband go to Torquay a few times a year and each time I spend ages looking at the reviews for the hotels. I'm pleased that I no longer have to look as we have found the perfect place at Mount Edgecombe. From the minute you arrive you are greeted by wonderful hosts. The room was spotless with the added extra of a fridge. The breakfast was delicious all freshly cooked with a good choice which comes with Claire's friendly chatter. And a lovely email sent by Claire on Dave on your return home - the perfect place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Khardz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Hi there
Firstly sorry for the delay in responding, September has been really busy. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we did enjoy your company over breakfast. What a compliment ' the perfect place to stay' you are very kind. We look forward to seeing you both again soon, hope your grandson is OK.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights overlapping bank holiday and cannot recommend this guest house enough. Claire and Dave were the perfect hosts, fabulous breakfast with choices galore and our 'superior' room was just that.... spotless, great decor and added bonus of a fridge with fresh milk added for a cuppa if required. Ample parking and a pleasant walk into Torquay which wasn't too hilly!!! Real home from home feeling and would definitely visit again.....thank you both for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Hi Chris & Sharon
So sorry for the delay in responding to your lovely review. We really loved having you stay, your comments that we are ' home from home' mean so much to us. Do come and see us again very soon when you need a break from those early, early mornings!
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

The hotel was clean, smelt very nice, Dave and Claire were very hospitable and friendly. The rooms were very clean and staff were approachable over any subject regarding room. Allowed us to leave our luggage so we could go once more around the town centre and beach before going back on train. Breakfast was excellent. Would say there again easily. Looking forward to the next one.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Leisl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Hello both
Thank you so much for the review, sorry it has taken me a while to reply, it has been really busy here.
We do so appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and that you enjoyed your time here, so much so that you have already booked to stay next August - thank you.
We look forward to seeing you then, take care
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. The hosts were very friendly & welcoming. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to perfection & very filling. Only a mile walk to main town centre. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Hi Rachel
Sorry for the delay in this reply, thank you for leaving us a review, Dave was delighted to see your feedback on his 'fantastic breakfasts'.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, you certainly made the most of the surrounding area with all the walking you did.
We do hope to see you again soon, don't forget to call or book direct for the best rates as well as returning guests discounts.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews