We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home from home stay.”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #13 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely five day stay at mount edgecombe in Torquay. On our arrival we were met by Pam the owner of the hotel. Pam showed us to our room and we were told the details of the hotel and what they offered. Our room was very nice, it was spotlessly clean and attention to detail was foremost. Breakfast was included in our stay and the choice was great. There was a great choice on the menu and the food was fresh and tasty. All the family were friendly and our stay was perfect. All other guest were respectful and this allowed for a very relaxed stay. We will be returning to mount edgecombe,and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Torquay.

Room Tip: Double rooms were spacious and well decorated. With lovely wash facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliza214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 460 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent from start to finish, Pam & Dave made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble them. The room was spotless and everything we needed was there.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety. Location was good .
I am sure when we return to Torquay we will look no further than Mount Edgcombe.

Room Tip: We had the Edgecombe Suite with double bath & double walk in shower, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We have written two previous detailed and glowing reviews following our other stays at Mount Edgcombe with Pam and Dave. We will not even consider other accommodation in Torquay. This time we had parents come with us, they also loved this gem of a place. In fact, we love it so much that we have booked all of the rooms for guests coming to our wedding in Torquay next year! If you are thinking about booking, please do so, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently stayed at Mount Edgcombe. What an excellent homley welcome we had. Pam and David were wonderful hosts and the room was so clean and comfortable. The choice of breakfast menu suited all our needs and nothing was too much trouble. The location of this lovely Guest House was only a 10 minute walk from the sea front. It was great to be able to leave the car and enjoy the walk which I may say was all on the flat. Lynda and I can highly recommend this accommodation. For sure we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Give The guest house a call direct - You won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The whole place was spotless, the room were beautiful and plenty big enough, plenty of good quality food and choice at breakfast, we had a perfect couple of nights, nothing was too much for the hosts, we will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A very clean room , very comfortable bed , and very welcoming hosts . With a good quality breakfast , what more do you want ! High quality B & B with the option of evening meal . Otherwise the nearest restaurant is 300 yards away and Sea front is a 10 minute walk . - Best Nights sleep we've had for a long time . The dining area maybe a little too cosy for some.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent three fantastic nights over the May Day bank holiday at Mount Edgcombe with the wonderful hosts, Pam and Dave. From the friendly welcome from Pam to the chats with David whilst serving our excellent breakfasts, nothing could be too much trouble. Easy to find with a short and pleasant walk into Torquay centre, the accommodation was faultless!!
We will definitely be returning and highly recommend Mount Edgcombe to all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyFrost1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
415 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#11 of 149 in Torquay
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $86 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing