We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #22 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bank Holiday Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent three fantastic nights over the May Day bank holiday at Mount Edgcombe with the wonderful hosts, Pam and Dave. From the friendly welcome from Pam to the chats with David whilst serving our excellent breakfasts, nothing could be too much trouble. Easy to find with a short and pleasant walk into Torquay centre, the accommodation was faultless!!
We will definitely be returning and highly recommend Mount Edgcombe to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyFrost1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
258
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

PERFECTION........this establishment is highly recommended, everything about it was just perfect.
Pam and David are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble!
The location is perfect and everything is situated within walking distance.
They offer a vast selection for breakfast and I have to say Pam makes the best poached eggs I have ever had!!
Evening meals are also available, along with packed lunches for the day!
The room was lovely, nice and big, fantastic shower!! (room 2).
Lots of little touches here and there that just made our stay perfect....Thank You!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet-Set-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just returned from another 3 night stay at this hotel and again everything was faultless.We had a different room this time but couldn't fault the room. We booked in for breakfast and evening meal and although we was the only ones having a evening meal we still has plenty of choices from starters to desserts which was all delicious .Pam and Dave can't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome. The choices for breakfast is excellent and all cooked perfectly.We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Torquay and we are going back again in September.Thanks again Pam and Dave for a lovely week-end.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraint p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ideally located for simply abandoning the car in the car-park and easily walking around Torquay. With hosts Pam and Dave seemingly nothing is too much trouble. Great food and plenty of it too - all reasonably priced. Clean rooms and a large range of new and old DVDs on offer. Lovely big bathroom (room 5). Just the perfect place to chill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsedgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

the mount edgcombe offers such a lot nice location easy to find and a friendly welcome and added to that pleasant rooms nicely furnished all facilities a cosy bar after that walk to the bay topped with supperd breakfasts, and run BY PAM AND DAVE. no fuss always ready to help if needed you need no more i have spent several holidays with them and always come away feeling relaxed and ready to go again.

Room Tip: 2 rooms on the ground floor face mostly south as do 2 on the first ive moved from room toroom availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked a 2 nights stay at the Mount Edgcombe as we wanted to visit Torquay and its surroundings.
The hotel is great location for people who cannot walk up and down hills too much as it is a level walk to the sea front and Harbour.
We received a warm welcome from David who took us on a show around the communal room which is lovely if you are going to stay for a few nights and not want to stay in your room. It has a large sofa, a large collection of DVDs and a computer.
Each room is different, it makes it more personal. The room was spotless, there is a tiny fridge with fresh milk in a cute little bottle. It is a lovely touch.
Although the room was on the road side of the hotel it was very quiet.
Hot breakfast needs to be ordered the night before (a very wide selection) to avoid waste which we thought was a great thing to do. There is also a selection of cereals and fresh fruits available.
David and Pam also provide dinner on request and have a bar and serve food there too.
We have a little 18 months old boy who was playing hard to get a smile out off and David was trying ever so hard. On leaving our son gave him a big kiss and cuddle so his effort did pay off.

We normally stay in large hotels when we travel but we will now consider guesthouse more and if we go back to that area we will definitely go back to Mount Edgcombe and will certainly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had room 8. Decorated in a mediterranean style and a good size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just had another 4 night break in this hotel. Everything just the same as our last visit in 2012.
Stayed in room number 2 which was the same room as before. The hotel was still spotlessly clean and breakfasts great. Requested breakfast at 0800 on the last day to enable us to catch our train home. No problem was the reply and they even gave us a lift to the station. Will be going back to Torquay again next year to this wonderful hotel.
Thank you Dave and Pam.

Room Tip: We chose room 2 on the ground floor which was the same room we had stayed in previously. I am prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwalsh747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are en suite on the ground or first floor, having TV / DVD players and a mini fridge. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and totally NON SMOKING. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing