We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #14 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Mount Edgcombe is truly a home away from home, Dave and Pam are excellent
hosts and are very helpful. The room was a very nice size and was more then enough
for us. The breakfast is plentiful and was prepared fresh every morning. We can't fault
anything in the Mount Edgcombe, this is the perfect place to stay in Torquay !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaos_Uk666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    30
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
297
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is very nice, clean and tidy. We stayed in a superior room with Jacuzzi and double shower. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and had plenty of storage. The bathroom was as large as the room itself and after a few day trips the Jacuzzi was brilliant to unwind. Breakfast was lovely, with lots of choice and very well cooked. David and Pam were excellent hosts (we only wish we would of come down to the bar every night and not left it until the end of our holiday) Excellent accomodation, would definitely recommend and stay again. Thanks Jamie and Sarah (stayed 6 nights - Aug 19th-25th) .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we would like to say. we stayed at mount edgcombe on the 9th of august.we found it very clean.friendly.and excellent. was good.beakfast 10 out of 10.we will be going back to stay there again. The rooms were pefect.we stayed in the deluxe room there was even a mini fridge coffee and tea and a hairdyer also a shower cap for the ladies. and cotton wool balls, and cotton buds. .what more can i say..and david and pam were very friendly and helpful.we have recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

i can say that anyone that stays at the mount edgcombe is in for a treat the hotel is very clean and the food out of this world nothing is to much for pam and david we had a 1st class half board stay and would go again;many thanks pam and david for a 1st class holiday;Ron &Jane;

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just come back from a four night early 25th Anniversary break. So glad we found Mount Edgecombe after many hours trawling the internet! We would thoroughly recommend the hotel. We stayed in room 7 which was modern spacious and had a very comfortable king sized bed (normally I cant wait to get back to my own bed after a holiday but not this time). Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was more than adequate to keep you going till late afternoon. Pam and David were the perfect hosts always friendly and helpful. We didnt use the car once during our stay which was a real treat. We used the local bus and ferry service to travel. You wont be disappointed if you choose Mount Edgecombe we would definitely stay again. Thank you Pam and David

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of August! The owners were polite and welcoming with them offering their knowledge on the local area. Our room was spotlessly clean and of a good size. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room along with toiletries and a hair dryer. The rooms have TVs with a built in DVD player. There were an abundance of DVDs available for everyone to borrow which came in handy one evening when it was raining. There is also a laptop with Internet in the lounge for guests to use. There is free parking available which is always handy. The breakfasts were amazing, so tasty and very filling! It filled me up until late afternoon! The owners seem to have a great routine in place when running this B&B and it clearly shows. Everything was perfect from start to finish! We will return!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well what can you say about Mount Edgecome.
From the time we arrived to the time we left the welcome we recieved was outstanding.
Pam & David made us feel realy welcome,nothings to much trouble, they are a realy nice couple. The accomodation was exellent the room was huge with a king size bed,and settee plus side tables , a dressing table and even a small mini fridge that we could keep cold drinks in. The en- suite was immaculate and looked brand new. The room was serviced everyday & the place was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are as big as you want and the food is exellent. We have stayed in some Hotels around the world that would be put to shame if they were to be compared to the Mount Edgcombe. It certainly is a great place to stay & is also quite a short walk to the harbour and front. We will defitintely be staying there again and will recomend it to our friends and family if there going to stay in Torquay. Top people and a top place.The reputation they have gained already is well deserved.
R.Robinson. Stafford. UK.

Room Tip: We had room (2) its huge and the bed is about 7ft wide & extreamly comfy and it looks out onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#4 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#41 of 149 in Torquay
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing