We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find!”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #21 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a lovely couple of days, we wanted chill out and that is what we got. The car was not required as there was plenty to do within walking distance, just the job!
We were made very welcome in this splendidly appointed and very friendly hotel. The breakfasts were superb and the entire place extremely comfortable.
We would have no hesitation to recommend it to all. Hope to return soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
264
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My girlfriends and I decided to spend a weekend away in Torquay to celebrate my engagement and we booked two nights at The Mount Edgcombe. What a fantastic find!! It is a beautiful, friendly hotel run by a lovely couple, Pam and Dave, for whom nothing is too much trouble! From the moment we walked in we felt relaxed and at home, which is exactly what you want when taking a break from work.

The rooms are newly refurbished with vibrant and modern furnishings and everything was spotlessly clean. You could really tell that a lot of thought had been put into designing the rooms to make them feel welcoming and comfortable. There is a cozy lounge area with the most enormous sofa I have ever seen, with a big tv and lots of DVD's to choose from. There is also a light and spacious dining room which offers a large selection for breakfast (including a fabulous fry up) and a brand new and modern bar area.
The hotel is within very easy walking distance of the town centre and beaches so it is an ideal place to stay if you want to experience Torquay without being in the frantic bustle of the main town.

My girlfriends and I have stayed and worked in plenty of hotels before and we all have careers within the hospitatlity industry, so we know what we're talking about. There was not one thing that we could critisize about this hotel, everything was spot on. By the end of our stay at The Mount Edgcombe, we had all agreed that the hotel was brilliant value for money and it made for a perfect weekend. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and we will definitely be going back there, hopefully sooner rather than later!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have been a few times to the Mount Edgcombe and absolutely love it. The rooms are all fantastic and very clean. There is lots of choice at breakfast and also a lovely new bar and restaurant for the evening. Nice walk through Torre Abbey gardens to the seafront. Thank you again!

Room Tip: The room with the double jacuzzi is great for a treat! : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompey_girl461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

A lovely little b&b! The picture of the hotel does not give it credit. You can come in what ever time you like as there is a key to the front door. Family run and they are lovely. We stayed in room 1 and it was clean cosy and extremely pretty. Breakfast was delicious and there was a massive living room with comfy sofas and loads of DVD's should you want to stay in. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. A fantastic stay and we will be back. Thank you mount edgecombe for making it a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doryandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The service we received was very welcoming and felt at ease the facilities were very good there is a guests laptop to use, a bar, lounge and dvds. The room we stayed in was very clean with fresh towels and a lovely en-suite athough no toilet roll holder which was a bit annoying. our only really issue with our stay was that our room was Very dated and not to our taste but this is not a bad thing really as others may disagree so overall was a pleasent stay would recommend it to others unless you like modern then maybe not for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouse2191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This the 2nd time in 6 months we have stayed at Pam & David's wonderfull hotel . We love the hotel and location 25 mins walk along the seafront to the harbour and restaurants / shops etc . The welcome we revived was as warm and friendly as last time the room immaculate beakfast brilliant and value for money second to none with special deals for returning guests we will deff be returning later this year. Thankyou for a warm welcome and making our anniversary

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I booked a 3-day break at Mount Edgcombe as a New Year getaway for my partner and I. South Devon is a region that we hold dear, and we are very familiar with the greater area. On searching online to book with a guest house, I chanced across Mount Edgcombe. It's in a favourable location, within a short distance of the sea front and most local amenities. In addition, I found their prices to be very favourable. I made our booking, which was promptly and courteously dealt with.
We were made to feel welcome at all times, whilst our privacy was always respected. Pam and David are very amiable hosts who are always willing to assist, or even just engage in small talk. The room was well appointed for our stay, featuring an en suite shower-W.C., a large wardrobe, mini-fridge, hot drinks servery, t.v., and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept on in quite some time! The inclusive breakfast selection is always generous, and never spartan or excessive.
While our stay in Devon was short, it was nonetheless made more comfortable by having Mount Edgcombe as our home away from home.
My partner and I commend both the hotel and it's landlords and staff. We will be returning at some point in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanTutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#6 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#15 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing