We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners Needed”
Review of Inglewood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inglewood Hotel
Ranked #80 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“New Owners Needed”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is awaiting new owners and it is therefore very difficult to really review. We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is very much in need of renovation and upgrade. It sems that very little has been spent on the upkeep of this property.
The prices reflect this lack of upkeep but the staff and food are excellent. If the new owners can retain the present staff then this could be an outstanding hotel.
A large amount of investment is required and obviously the prices will increase but with its position, staff and culinary standards it could become an oustanding hotel.
For the present the rating has to be poor.

Room Tip: Wait for the renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas44_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    30
    14
    21
See reviews for
24
55
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I decided to take an end of the summer holidays break with my wife and 2 daughters aged 5 and 3, being last minute and wanting a family room the choice was sparse to say the least, never the less I found the Inglenook online and the white painted hotel with inviting outdoor pool and gardens looked just the ticket, I rang up and booked the last remaining family room for 3 nights bed & breakfast and gave a 50% deposit over the phone with the balance due on arrival. When we arrived at the shocking pink hotel there was a film crew filming furniture being loaded into a removal van. Fortunately we were unable to pay the remainder of our booking due to this. We went to our room and were very disappointed, there were stains all over the bathroom, the bedroom hadn't had a lick of paint since the 70's, 2 holes in the bathroom walls, as there were 4 of us staying you would expect 4 tea cups, there were 3 but 4 saucers, I didn't measure the tv but I would guess it was probably about a 12inch screen, As we were only planning to be sleeping there we decided to just make the best of things. We went out for the afternoon and arrived back early in the evening. I tried to close the bedroom window as we were near to the main road and didn't want the noise to disturb the children, the handle of the window wouldn't turn as it was locked. I went to reception to ask for a window key only to be told that I should be able to close it without a key, I eventually got a key, the window still wouldn't close properly. Reception sent up the housekeeper, she told me they were always having problems with the window, she then stood on the windowsill and proceeded to battle with the window (Mrs Doyle from Father Ted style) all to no avail, I pointed out that this and all of the other issues were unacceptable and I would like to be moved, she went down to reception and came back to inform us there were no other rooms available but were willing to compensate us with free meals for the remainder of our stay which we duely accepted. The meals were nice and the waiting staff were very efficient and very good with the children, the 45 minute window to eat a course meal was however to short. It is very clear that the owner of this hotel is more than willing to let out substandard rooms and compensate any guests who complain, all of the profits are then used to keep the famous Grovesner Hotel well maintained. Despite all of our complaints we did have a good break as the location of the hotel is excellent and the events and attractions which are nearby are very good indeed. This hotel has the potential to be very good but the owners need to invest in the rooms and the facilities and bring it up to date, FOR GODS SAKE SPEND SOME MONEY ON IT!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Myself and 6 other family members (my partner, 7month son, mother, father, brother, brother's partner and aunty) stayed at this hotel in July for 3nights, i would say this hotel is ideal for oap's and needs to be updated. The good thing about this hotel was that the hotel staff was great to us, room's was cleaned everyday, the food was ok but could of had more on our plates, the entertainment was poorly due to no one staying in the hotel to listen to the artist's sing. They closed the swimming pool in the inglewood because they opened the one in the grosvenor (the indoor swimming pool in the grosvenor was geat!) We are returning back next year in March but staying in paignton staying in the Queens Hotel we cannot wait :D

Room Tip: Ground floor room by the dining room was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyndsey0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed in the inglewood and found gray hairs in my bed and all over the floor myself and my partner are dark so it was very unlikely to be our hair also there where tea stains all on the walls and dust and a boggie on the headboard

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank couple2rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

where do i start. coach trips so much value. work out what it would cost you to do the whole package yourself then criticise over what i see as good value for money. if you want 5* then pay accordingly.

Room Tip: think what you paid
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 900jeff1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Went on coach holiday with GB Tours. Do not rely on photos, hotel badly needs refurbishment. Stayed in room 23, bed was sooooo hard, the room was small but for 3 nights it was OK, just that bed. I complained next day & mattress was then padded out with blankets etc. Bed was then OK not comfortable but OK.
Now for the pluses. Food was very good, not top restaurant quality but hot, well cooked & efficiently served.
All the staff were pleasant & efficient.
Entertainment each night was very enjoyable. We were pleased there was no bingo, I hate it.

Room Tip: If disabled ensure lift takes you to your room, no access to room 23 by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aylkea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I went on a coach holiday with GBtours ,I didnot like the room I was given and decided to move to their sister hotel the Grosvenor as the Inglewood was fully booked, Sue on the desk sorted this out for me and she was excellent deserves 11 out of 10 for her assistance, the food in the Inglewood was excellent could not fault it and would return to a better room

Room Tip: would not advise number 10 because of location and size even for a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#71 of 87 in Torquay
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 87 in Torquay
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Hotel

Property: Inglewood Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing