We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRUNCH”
Review of The Bay Tree

The Bay Tree
Ranked #115 of 346 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BRUNCH”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

First visit but won't be my last. My daughter & I popped in for lunch & decided to have the Breakfast, superb value for money as it included a hot drink & toast. Beautifully cooked & served by very pleasant staff, what a gem,will certainly visit again when shopping in Torquay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MistygirlDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Made very welcome”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a coffee at this place with a friend. Ended up having a glass of wine .the people are very friendly . It is easy to miss this place as you have to go down some steps but give it a try

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie7955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lancs
1 review
“OUTSTANDING - A HIDDEN TREASURE!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I cant recommend this little café/bistro highly enough. On the main long stretch in heart of Torquay shopping area, but you can easily miss the narrow entrance - look out for black chalk boards on pavement outside with the days special offers on. Very welcoming staff, nice quiet ambiance, spotlessly clean and comfortable....and beautiful well presented food and superb value for money. I wasn't too hungry and settled for a latte coffee and lovely Victoria sponge cake (just like home baked). my wife had a chicken and pine nut salad with a glass of pinot grigio wine. The total cost was a little over £10, unbelievable. There's no catch though, I can assure you. I urge you to try this place and recommend it to others - I don't think current owners have had the place long, and its vital they get lots of business so we can all enjoy this fantastic facility for years to come. We were staying across the bay in Brixham, and if I'd found this place earlier we'd have made the trek over every day just to dine at The Bay Tree. This has to be right up the very top of the list of places to eat and drink in Torquay - top marks Bay Tree! (Tony & Linda, West Lancs)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyMLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent place”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We came across this tiny doorway with its green canopy and descended down to a lovely little haven, there we had a good cup of coffee and had a very pleasant chat with Ian and Tanya, and off we went on another walk. Then decided that it was so nice, spotlessly clean and went back for some food. This is definitely the place to eat as food was excellent and prices were good. Everything about our visit was superb, and ladies the toilet was immaculate. All in all well worth a visit. We will certainly go back before our holiday ends.

Carole & John Tamworth

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely suprize”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I happened to come across this little restaurant this Easter. the food excellent and good prices it has not been open long,Tanya and Ian who run it cant do enough for you

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyface080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Tree also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Bay Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing