We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Fast Food”
Review of Bull & Bush

Bull & Bush
Ranked #30 of 338 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Fast Food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ate there 2 nights. Monday was steak night and it was 2 for the price of one. Called in again on the Thursday and though it was full price for the steaks we were given a free bottle of wine with our meals. Good value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Tables cleaned after eating.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwalsh747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    154
    39
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Was in a hotel nearby and thought we would have a meal there as they had a deal on. Had the steak and it was awful the steak was grizzly and when you told someone about this no one seemed bothered never again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Racheleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Manager at Bull & Bush, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your bad experience in my establishment, I apolagise that no one sorted it out for you on the night! If you are ever in the area again please come and see me so i can show my grattitude for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Long weekend away...with the dog”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Bull and Bush Torquay has to be the best pub we have ever eaten at which you can also take your dog into. The food was fantastic.
We were only away for 3 nights, but the welcome was so warm & friendly, the food filling, delicious and extremely low priced, so we went back on all 3 nights.
Well done to the Landlord/Lady. You should win awards.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MustardDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Manager at Bull & Bush, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for the review I am glad that you had a great experience and that your dog enjoyed it too!! We look forward to serving you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Port in a storm!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arrived very late, after a long drive on the M4 at Easter weekend. Hurrah, something hot to eat and good tipple too! Mine hosts were very cordial, and we were made to feel very welcome.
Suggest you drop in sometime soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boomerang70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,140 reviews
797 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“out of the cold.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

bull and bush a heaven when needed had 3 hours to kill befor my train left for paddington, stayed at local hotel near by so walked up to this pub it was bitter out a cutting wind ,the warm air hit me when i walked in to the pub a a nice smell of hot food the staff were friendly the food very good and the beer great,i sat there eating drinking and watched a football match after that a nice stroll to the station warm, fed and happy will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull & Bush also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bull & Bush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing