We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of CLIFF LODGE

Cliff Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cliff Lodge
Games Room & garden Garden View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Cliff Lodge
Games Room & garden
Garden View
Kitchen
Dining Room
Master bedroom
Master en-suite
Double bedroom
Swimming Pool
Hot tub
Games Room
Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathy D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This will be our fourth year in a row visiting Cliff Lodge and I can't wait to walk through the door next week. The house is so inviting and the views are breathtaking. We rarely leave the property because it is so well appointed.

June 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Thank you Cathy, I am there this week so will make sure it's all ready & waiting for you on Saturday !!
Have a fabulous week !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjthemupp...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say that hasn't already been said! This house is absolutely stunning with sea views to die for, even on a cloudy day. Seeing the sun rise on at least 2 occasions was something not to be missed from here as it was right in front of you. The house has everything (and more) that you could possibly need for a holiday.. Swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, gym, plus a full size snooker table with an adjacent bar plus so many big rooms that even with a party of 12 adults & 2 small children it never felt crowded.
The only downside (& there was only one) was that the water pipes seem to have an airlock as they continually made a "drumming" sound overnight from different places in the house so I hope this gets fixed very soon.

So if you are looking for a fantastic holiday let - this is it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We have found the culprit pipe with a faulty valve so the banging has now stopped.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoulaBeve...
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cannot fault anything”
Reviewed November 20, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for my 50th birthday. 5 couples all of similar age.
I NEVER rate anything 10/10, ( always room for improvement. )
I've been trying all week to think of something that would have improved our stay. I haven't yet thought of anything.
Thank you Alison for the wine and chocolates on arrival. Doesn't really matter which bed room you choose they all have ample storage space. The social areas are vast and you can easily all be accommodated in the dinning room, kitchen or large sitting room. ( or stick the kids in the second lounge ).
Good to see that left over food items don't get removed like in some places. ( tea bags, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc).
The setting is on a cliff headland with fantastic views. ( especially from the master suit).
The accommodation is well equipped throughout. Comfortable and stylish ( not filled with lots of mismatched stuff).
We spent the weekend in the hot tub, playing snooker, swimming and walking to the beach ( via the thatched tavern pub),.
Can't wait to come back again though looking at availability I think we'll struggle to get in.
Thank you once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The walk back from the pub
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2016
Thank you so much, when I decided to turn our beautiful holiday home into one for others to rent I tried to include everything I would want if I was on holiday with family & friends so I'm so pleased I have created this.
Hope to see you back at Cliff Lodge again soon !
Alison X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, views, facilities. Perfect getaway for a girly weekend”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The moment I stepped into the house, I was blown away by the fantastic view of the sea. I rented it for a long weekend with friends and there was ample space for all of us. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds comfortable, the main suit had more amazing views, a lovely warm swimming pool and hot tub which was very popular, a games room with a bar, juke box and snooker table, dining room, two living rooms, lovely garden and quite frankly I didn't want to leave. Alison communicated very quickly when I contacted her by email. A problem with no hot water very quickly rectified. Lovely walk through the woods, intimate beach not far away and nice pub with a lovely Sunday roast down the road, the thatched tavern. Great location, fantastic property. Can't fault it and would definitely book it again in the future! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Cold water shower
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2015
Thank you Elizabeth for such a lovely review ! I very much welcome you back in the future !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightboat...
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful house with the most stunning of views.”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My parents rented this property for the whole family for a week in August to celebrate Dad's 70th Birthday. What a fantastic house.

The house is set over three floors on the hillside overlooking the bay and you just can't get fed up with waking every morning and looking out over the beautiful gardens down to the sea. We were very fortunate in that we picked a beautiful week weather wise. The scenery around the house and area is stunning.

The kids (both young and old) had great fun in the pool and snooker room. We had plenty of room both in and outside the house to chill either with each other or alone with a good book.

It is situated just a few minutes drive from Babbacombe and Torquay so we could find plenty of places to explore and eat. Highly recommend Hanbury's Fish and Chips for a proper fish & chip supper, and The Orestone Manor for a special treat.

If I could only live here forever....................

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, sorry I am late replying I have only just found this area on my website page ! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cliff Lodge & yes I agree I find it very hard to leave, I'm just glad I can keep coming back..... Please contact me if you would ever like to re-book as returning guests get a extra discount.
Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, INCREDIBLE view and location, great pool and bar!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
6
people found this review helpful

If you want to book a house for a group getaway that will impress your friends out of their socks, and at a price that's more than reasonable, book Cliff Lodge. We went in the last weekend in November for an early Christmas weekend and it was fantastic, tucked away on a country lane and overlooking a mind-blowing view. Lovely pool, great bar and games room, outdoor jacuzzi, bar on the doorstep ... superb!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing