We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening”
Review of Lavani - CLOSED

Lavani
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Experience the uncomprehendingly mysterious power of culinary India at Lavani.With two prestigious awards in its first year of trading (AAA Award Of Excellence & Taste of the West-Gold Award), Lavani is a speciality Indian restaurant with an accent of regional Indian and Anglo-Indian cuisine for the global palate.Light,modern and sophisticated dishes that pay homage to the power of culinary India,defines Lavani. Situated only a short walk away from Kents Cavern, English Riviera's most beautiful coves (Meadfoot and Ansteys) and the famous South West Coastal Path we pride ourselves on the quality of service and quality of our ingredients.• Mild, subtle and delicate Flavours of India• Cookery Demo and Dinner Evenings• Imaginative Indian cocktail and Indian wines• 20% Discount Senior citizens card• 15% Discount Hospitality Card• Complimentary Birthday Package• Winter Warmer Menu• Live Music Evenings•LAVANI DIY Spice Packs & Marinades. Party Menu. We are delightful in many ways. While for some it is one of the finest speciality Indian restaurants, to others it is an amazing English Riviera retreat. And there are those that love it for its rose water and saffron marinated walls studded with themed art, red chilli flavoured chairs, buttermilk swish linen and its friendly family feel. Imaginative cuisine, undeniably happening ambience, the flavours, the aroma, the live cooking sounds and the artistic display, presented with the Lavani signature of hospitality. All come together in perfect harmony in an exciting new avatar! Our Cuisine: Careful blending of genuine Indian cooking traditions with high quality, high-end British high in protein, low in fat ingredients not often found in Indian cuisine such as scallops,wild boar,goat,lobster,mutton,wood pigeon,venison,caviar,quail, calf's liver,ostrich and more creates unique and distinct dishes.We take away the heaviness usually akin to Indian dishes and we're focusing on minimising the usage of oil and fat.The extremely comprehensive menu of dishes demonstrates how ancient wisdom and regional traditional cooking styles have been blended with British traditions evolving to become what we get on our plates today.Dig in! Be thrilled! Let the spirit of Lavani enliven you!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Superb evening great food wonderful host who explained everything on the menu with great enthusiasm wonderful selection of dish's. presentation of every plate of food was mouth watering looking forward to our next visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Basil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    40
    29
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
llanelli
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister, Mum and a friend and I visited this delightful restaurant last week.
All I can say is wow its the best Indian food I have ever tasted.
I expected the traditional Korma, massala, mushroom rice etc, but was delighted to see a very individual menu with al a carte food on it. For starters I had Pigeon Pate, locally supplied, and it melted in my mouth. For mains i had mutton curry. Something, I have not tried before. Well after the succulant but spicy tastes along with the delicate mutton that was cooked to perfection, I was completely satisfied.
The staff were wonderful and Colin was very passionate to highlight that most of the food, was bought in locally. Fantastic that he supports the local suppliers.
Although the price is more than going to the local Indian houses, I would not hesitate to go again and again. I would rather visit once a month than twice a week at a curry house. I will definately visit again on my return to Torquay in the summer.
Can you open a shop in Swansea, where i live.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hellybelly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb South Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When our local Italian restaurant closed and we heard on the grapevine that it was to be an Indian restaurant our hearts sank. We love Indian food but more of the same wasn't appealing. How wrong we were, for Lavani is not your typical Indian cuisine.
The food is simply stunning, being a fusion of South Indian and European cuisine using traditional South Indian recipes and English traditional supplies. The food not only tastes good but is beautifully presented and would be a hit on Masterchef! The ambience is superb and the owner explains every dish in fine detail and his own natural enthusiasm for the food makes the experience a memorable one.
We have recently returned from a 3 month holiday spending the last month in Kerala and the food at Lavani is truly authentic. Please visit, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch time Easter Monday”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been to Lavani several times now and it just gets better! The food is excellent! By far the best Indian restaurant in Torbay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Easter Monday lunch”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having visited India many times it is pleasure to find a restaurant that uses the best of local ingredients and cooks wonderful authentic dishes on our doorstep. The owner Collin who takes care of every customer is passionate about what he is doing. The lunch menu is limited, but has excellent dishes, price can not be beaten for this quality, which gives an insight into the evening a la carte menu which we now plan to try. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavani also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing