We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for kids”
Review of Living Coasts

Living Coasts
Ranked #9 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Living Coasts, an all weather attraction, located on Torquay seafront in South Devon, where there’s plenty to see and do: mingle with the playful penguins, get up close to the otters, octopus and seals, and much more. Visit Penguin Beach to walk with the African and macaroni penguins and catch our entertaining feeding time talks.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent for kids”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had often been to torquay and noticed the nets, but decided to venture in one dreary day.

We did not know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised by the varied animals inside. The aquarium was a pleasure to visit and the varied sections kept you wondering when it would come to an end. A pleasant walk around following the staff feeding the animals, they explained about them etc. It does need to be a dry day but the place does have a good shop and cafe.
The cafe has some stunning views across the bay.

ALL the staff were very pleasant and helpful during our visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rhproper-job
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    561
    293
    84
    57
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun location and centre”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice place to meander around for the day - range of penguins and otters and little talks and feeds at certain times. Not a huge attraction so a couple hours here is probably plenty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank saz1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Iviing coast”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is one of the best places I have been to they let the penguins wander around but do tell you not go touch as can bite the cafe iis very good vaur

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prazegirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRURO
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“LIVING COASTS.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, especially feeding time for the penguins. The keepers knew them all by name!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LIZ151247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A grand day out”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a bit of a tardis - it appears like a small concrete building, however a clever use of space means hours soon pass by.

My wife and I went to Living Coasts to see the wildlife. We were both impressed by the size of the exhibits and the freedom of many of the species.

The information is not overwhelming but factual. The pathways are well planned so you can not see what is coming next. We went early on a Saturday in early December when in was quiet. The pathways are narrow in places so on very peak times it could get crowded.

There are several child friendly exhibits, places to pick up food and snacks as well as a shop. This is a very worthwhile visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Coasts also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Living Coasts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing