We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach tour”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #83 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel needs a good refurbisment through out The shower room was so small and no water coming through the shower ,it was smelly and dirty. The draws in the room had not been cleaned out there were dirty cotton buds and rubbish left in them.The glasses in the bar were dirty and the staff had to be told to replace them.

The food was poor. The bed and towels were very clean. Its a hotel that I would stay way from.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank irsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 372 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Like most things, there are good things and bad things about the Burlington Hotel in Torquay. The bad first. The food was a poor quality. One was asked at breakfast for your choice of dinner that night. I think most of the food was frozen and therefore the staff had to know how much to take out of the freezer for each meal. If you didn't like your choice, that was tough because there was nothing else. I had the risotto one evening and I love that anywhere else. But DON'T even attempt to eat it here. It was a portion of frozen mixed veg with some cooked rice in some very yellow sauce. It was vile. The breakfast was OK but if you had cereals you couldn't have fruit juice. The poached eggs were the best and they were cooked very well, nice runny yolks and firm whites. The bread was the plastic variety. The bedroom was not dusted and the valance on the bed hadn't seen a washing machine in some time. There were clean sheets but NO mattress cover. Now, come on, we all know what goes on in beds but we don't want to wallow in it. They did have clean and lovely and white sheets and towels. If you are over 10 stone, don't bother with room 23's shower. It is SO tiny that neither of us could get in. We are not monstrously overweight but I agree we are not lightweight either. The other part of the bathroom was fine,nice loo and clean and a nice big wash hand basin. The bathroom would have been better as a wet room. Rubbish toilet paper, the type that is a false economy, once in contact with water it disintegrates not having being used for the purpose it was intended for.
A good point of room 23 was the patio doors leading to a private garden. That was lovely as we had the most wonderful weather. The odd thing was the curtains. Although they fitted properly, and were the same background colour, one was plain and the other patterned, very odd. The tv was of the old type, not flat screen. I know one is not on holiday to watch tv, but the entertainment wasn't for us although others said there was a good variety and of course the ubiquitous bingo. I know this was a budget trip, but we have had many budget trips but this was the worst as far as food and cleanliness were concerned. As I said, good and bad points. If it wasn't for the weather being so good, it would have been awful having to stay in for most of the day.
One really good thing was Cafe 26 in Teignmouth. Wow. I asked a local where to go for a light lunch and he suggested Cafe 26. We had the crab sandwich with dressing and crisps and the home made scones and cream tea. To die for. Well worth the money. Again in Dartmouth I asked a local where to go for a snack and they said Saveurs a French cafe where they make everything, bread, cakes, chocolate. It was also sublime. Also across the road from Saveurs, there is a market and as you walk in, turn right and at the bottom on the right is a wonderful cafe that again everything is home made and their scones are superb. Plenty of choice and same sort of prices. The local told me to avoid the Station restaurant, he said it was minging! I always trust a local.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, room 23 has its own private garden so you could open the patio door and go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labrador16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Went to this hotel as part of a coach tour and was a little uneasy after reading the reviews on here, but we have to say we can't see what people are moaning about - yes the place does need a bit of modernisation but hey its just somewhere to eat and sleep at the end of the day, yes you could pick fault with this and that at The Burlington but we have stayed in far worse and paid a lot more for the pleasure - the room was basic but clean and the sheets and towels were pristine white, there was ample tea and coffee available and the staff were some of the best we have come across, nothing was too much trouble for them they really went the extra mile and it was so nice not to have a language barrier as you do in so many other hotels -the food was fantastic from the more than ample breakfast on offer to the choice of evening meals which were very tasty and hot and once again the staff were fantastic during service.
All in all you get what you pay for and The Burlington is excellent value for money and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is deep on history and has many artefacts, such as the furniture and Televisions that together could gain much financial aid to help refurbishment. What more can I say- the rooms have splendid views of Torbay - or should say its brambles and broken pavings - staff are lovely food us excellent . Overall you get what you pay for , we had a good time and can't complain ....it us what you make of it ...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6,742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Went on 17th February for four nights. This hotel needs lots of refurbishment. Although it boasts a pool it was never available. Although the heating was on it felt damp in the room possibly alright in the summer. The bathroom was mouldy in the shower. You can have juice or cereal for breakfast but not both.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank woodies767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Plus points Food was nice, hot and waitress service. Beds comfy. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Negative points bathroom small desperately needs modernisation, no room in their to put a toilet bag, our room didn't even have a loo roll holder. Furniture in bedroom outdated and full of previously drilled holes. Leisure suit looks nice in photos but smells, paint is peeling and ceiling was leaking, sauna and steam room out of order floor tiles cracked. Changing area didn't look enticing. They closed leisure suit soon after we looked at it as the lights fused. No lifts there are a few flights of small stairs. There is entertainment but I didn't partake.

Room Tip: Might be useful to state at booking if you prefer a bath or shower in your room. Hotel is 2 star so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

our friends & myself & hubby had a coach holiday with Sunrise, we stay at this hotel the staff were Brilliant but the hotel does need some tender loving care. Lots of repairs need doing and the rooms we were in the lights went out in the evening and the rest of the rooms near us were the same only the bedside little lights work this was reported one of the staff put a small lamp on the landing where our rooms were but it was a worry for all of us as it was on the floor and was a fire rise. One of our group put the lamp on a shelf which was better. The food in the restaurant was OK I think they are on a tight budget but it could do better. It was nice to have indoor pool but the heat of the pool was over 85 which is to hot for the pool & the lights in the changing rooms were out?. The Entertainment was very good and the rooms were clean & beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 85 in Torquay
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 85 in Torquay
903 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $54 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing