We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #86 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We only wanted a cheap weekend away and as long as a hotel is clean we don't expect much more. The place stunk of mould as soon as we walked in. It is grubby and below standard. Food was included in our price and it was the most disgusting thing we have ever eaten. We all went hungry, and ended up paying for food in a pub instead of having our last meal. My bed was broken, the tvs barely worked and had 2 channels. Someone was also smoking in one room all night, and after complaining 3 times they still carried on. This was a non smoking hotel. We had 2 pregnant women in our group so we were absolutely fuming. Only met two staff the entire time. Really disappointed with our stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ghstofyou67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    81
    82
    63
    74
See reviews for
43
141
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My parents, aunty and their elderly friends stayed at this hotel at the end of September 2013 - not through choice because their original hotel had a gas leak so they got shunted off to this excuse for a hotel. The food was inadequate, bland and poorly served. The staff were mostly nice and trying to make the best of a badly managed hotel. My mother who has bad legs was given a room on the top floor and this caused a lot of distress. My father who has COPD did not fare much better. The rooms were grubby and the mattresses on the bed were worn and thin and incredibly uncomfortable. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here whilst on a David Urquhart tour and wasn't looking forward to it having read some of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised and delighted to find that our room was very clean as was the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. Plenty of tea, coffee and milk and the smoke alarm didn't go off once.We found the hotel staff extremely friendly and very helpful with directions etc. Breakfast and dinner were good with different choices and always very hot. The lady that waited on our table was a gem. We had live entertainment every night and the bar prices were the cheapest we had paid for a long time. A pint and a glass of wine for under £5.00. The bus stopped a few yards down the road to get into town and fare was only £1 or if you are able only a ten minute walk. Yes this hotel badly needs updating, decor not the best but the Manager acknowledges this and it is a work in progress. For the amount of money we paid this was indeed a bargain break. If you want a five star hotel pay the price and go to one but if you want a reasonably priced hotel close to the town centre then give the Burlington a try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotlanBramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my other half stayed here for a weekend with 4 other friends we were all happy with the place we were made welcome when we arrived the reception staff was very helpfull. Are room was all fresh and clean the bathroom was nice and clean to only down side is we had a bath instead of a shower! But still we both managed the hotel is located in a brilliant location just 10 mins to the town or there is a bus that runs every 15minutes for just a £1 the hotel had entertainment every night we were there and the entertainment was good! The bar was cheap for drinks which was quite impressive! The swimming pool was good for the morning wake up! All the staff were very friendly me and my partner wanted to stay an extra night so went to reception asked was no problem at all just payed are fee and that was that! For £25 per night per person u can't really beat this u get breakfast each morning which I didn't personally have but all other friends said it was good! Also the 2 other rooms my friends had were also clean and tidyed! I would defo go back to the burlington again me and my partner really enjoyed are stay! I think to many people try to exspect to much for the lack of money they pay yes it's an old place it could do with a few alterations but it is perfectly fine as it is u will defo be seeing us again very soon! Shame the bar only stays open till 1130 24hour bar should be taken into consideration :-) see you all again soon at the burlington. Matt & Stacey

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt_stacey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Honestly the worst hotel experience ever, The room had not been cleaned from the previous guests,we found rubbish on the floor, Dirty used spoons on the tea making facilities tray, using the kettle set off smoke alarms and stained dirty bed linen (you do not want to know what stains) but to make things worse we found that the bed linen was just as dirty on the underside obviously linen is turned and not changed between guests. When we complained we were told that no manager was available, and the only person in the hotel seemed to be a bar man who had to check guests in, do the work of the chambermaids, and serve drinks. to add insult to injury we were then CHARGED £1.20 for a glass of warm soda water at the bar. At breakfast next morning our waitress carried four plates of food to our table with one plate balancing on top of another, when approached about this her excuse was, she did not realize and thought her thumb was separating the plates (yuk) this is an hotel you should avoid like the plague.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trio-sdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Have just stayed here on a weekend break with Travelstyle. but would not reccomend it. the rooms are very outdated. & bathroom was the size of a broom cupboard & had only a bath. which you had to turn on for about 20 mins beforehand as water just trickled out. but water was hot. bathroom could have done with a good clean. very grubby around toilet . our bed linen was clean but had heard that other guests were complaining they had dirty bed linen. & mattress. very regimented with times for breakfast & evening meal. if your late you dont get any. A family who came on the same coach as us. were told in a very unfriendly manner that they were too late for breakfast at 9.am. because it is served at 8.30. This is disgusting way to treat their guests. This hotel should have a new Manager & spend some money on it to bring it into the 21st Century. then maybe it would get better reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was okay. It could do with some money spending on it, like a lot of hotels this age. The food was nice, and the staff friendly and welcoming. Our room was big but the en-suite had no shower, just a bath, loo and sink. This normally wouldn't be a problem for me, but my elderley Mother-in-Law struggled to get in and out. The TV was rather small, but I didn't go on holiday to watch TV. The swimming pool was nice, but the changing facilities seemed a bit tired. They were clean as was all the parts of the hotel we used. The five day break was cheap and for what we paid, it was comfortable, pleasant and adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#79 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#70 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing