We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed the stay”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #83 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Reading some reviews about this hotel, I was wondering what we would find.
We found it to be a very friendly place, the staff were brilliant, entertainment when we were there was enjoyable.Our room was big enough for us- they only drawback for us is that it had a bath rather than a shower. Ok, it wants some decorating here and there, but you are NOT staying in the Ritz, nor you are NOT paying Ritz prices either.
The food was good, rooms were clean and we would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 372 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great staff, clean bedrooms,good standard evening entertainment, plenty of food - not fancy but well cooked and choices and all 3 course meals. This isn't a fancy hotel but definite value for money. Swimming pool as well.

Room Tip: Some rooms have baths rather than showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What I saw of this hotel was a very tired place in need of some serious TLC. The shower-room was grubby, the sink was minute, there was no bathmat and there was nowhere to hang towels. Some effort had been made with the bedroom furniture, the bedlinen was clean but the duvet and curtains must have come out of the ark.

The staff generally were fantastic and the food was more than acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thurgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

WE booked this hotel because it had an indoor pool and despite some bad reviews hoped for the best, we arrived to friendly helpful staff and found that the reception area and corridors had obviously recently been re-carpeted. Our room had also been renovated in the near past and was very pleasant with patio doors onto a green area. OK, there was not a phone in the room despite being adverstised and no remote for the tv. but what the hell, it was good value for money and clean. The food was good to mediocre depending on what you ordered but the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the only two annoying things were you had to order your dinner at breakfast, the waitress reading out a list of things and a set time for meals. Perhaps having a printed menu on the table to peruse over breakfast would have made the process more acceptable. The entertainment was also acceptable and the pool a nice size, although the changing area and surrounds were in need of an upgrade, hopefully this is on their list to do.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGJCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I know it's just a two star.... But really it was just a slight up grade from a tent!
The beds were clean (luckily) but everything else was quite grubby! In serious need of updating and decorating!
Food was edible just a bit school dinner ish!
The staff were brilliant though, always helpful, and think they were quite fed up too!
Just needs an injection of a load of cash and a bit of love and care and could be a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucindajessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

my girlfriend and i stayed there for 2 nights and for the money we paid, were very happy with our stay. we are a young couple and yes its a little dated but in general was a very comfortable stay with all u required. the pool was immaculate and the food/service we recieved was to of a high standard. superb location also - 5 minute stroll to the centre

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sst017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for four nights on a coach trip and found it clean and comfortable. The food (vegetarian option) was fine and the waitresses very polite and efficient. Would have preferred a shower rather than bath but for four nights what's the big deal? No, its not the Waldorf Astoria but for the money I paid I wasn't expecting it. The pool is nice, my boyfriend said the non vegetarian food was ok and overall it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 897RKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 85 in Torquay
414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 85 in Torquay
903 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $40 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing